We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very kind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daphne's Barbados

Daphne's Barbados
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

was very jet lagged with a young toddler and they tried really hard to make it work. need to go back when awake and kid free but seems very good

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank EmilyVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    388
    202
    100
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We paid a lot for pasta here, which was poorly presented. Staff are willing but amateur - the bar area was being used to dry and sort tableware.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benenden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We went here at short notice and although had heard positive comments our expectations were not at the highest level. The place was busy with a pleasant hubbub. The staff were friendly, chatty and attentive although the service dropped a little. We didn't get a sea view - but this was OK as we had booked late.

One couple who also didn't get a sea view did a loud "don't you know who I am routine" and stormed off - much to everyone's amusement. The staff handled it in a very respectful, polite and professional manner.

We chose quickly - my tuna tartare duly arrived and was fantastic - really fresh. Quite different, being more rustic, than the Tides version but as equally good. This was followed by grilled squid - delicate and so unlike a lot of vulancanised rubber that some places call squid. My wife had fettuccine bolognese which was full of flavour but also light - not heavy weight pasta at all. They made a real effort to accommodate a couple of small changes to this dish too. We followed this with cheese - and a glass of full red. The waiter allowed us to try some wine recommendations before choosing the right one. We moved to the bar before going home - it was rather empty and lacked atmosphere but not unpleasant.

We had a fantastic evening and say to people do not overlook this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapitanwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evening meal with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at The House (next door to Daphnes) and met our friends on our first night. Highly recommended - setting lovely and food excellent. Will be back next year.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank soowestmalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“More was expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Even teh reseravtion did not help and had to wait another
45 minutes to get our table, along with a lot of other people
Even at the table the service was very slow.
The restaurant is Italian managed and the menue is also
Italian with the wine list featuring also Italian wines.
The restaurant has a good atmosphere directly on the beach.
The food and drinks are very good, but the service speed
yesterday night was a little disappointing to us.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annebrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daphne's Barbados also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Daphne's Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing