We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,034)
Filter reviews
2,034 results
Traveller rating
1,266
521
138
60
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,266
521
138
60
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cave bar ice lollies reflections restaurant drifters bar water sports banana boat a la carte rum punch water taxi colony club kids club jet ski beach restaurant yellow fin water skiing sister hotel cold drinks
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 2,034 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Crystal Cove is a bit special. Understated, but very well situated and a real delight.
When you stay in a place like this you have to see beyond the cosmetics as the real beauty of Crystal Cove lies deeper. It's real beauty is in the people who run it. Like a family the staff at Crystal Cove have been together a long time and all are proud to be working there and couldn't be nicer.
It's a small all-inclusive resort that is but a stones throw away from some of the best resorts and restaurants on the island and the capital of Bridgetown is itself only a short cab ride away.
The clientele at this resort are predominently British and of a certain type, let's just say at the right end of the "Cultural Spectrum". It was such a joy to be in an environment where good manners and politeness seem to be the order of the day. The turquoise blue Caribbean Sea through the palm trees was the view we had from our room and the soothing motion of the waves could be heard at night as though to remind us we were in our little bit of paradise. The occasional cloudy sky proved a welcome respite from the relentless sun as the temperature was a constant 29 degrees for the whole week of our stay. Plenty of sun-beds on the beach was another pleasing aspect especially as each had it's own adjustable sunshade and a particularly comfortable padded mattress. Then there was Stephen who would tirelessly carry a tray of delightfully refreshing drinks (as many as 70 at one time) to ensure that even on the beach you were not neglected as these were brought to your sun-bed, along with the occasional container of fresh fruit or ice creams. This was a lovely touch. Other than the rental jet skis all the water sports were free for the guests to use and we took a short catamaran ride along the coast which was delightful. This resort has two restaurants and we found the food on offer was of a good standard with a reasonable choice between local Bajan fare and the more familiar traditional options with occasional themed evenings just to add a bit of variety throughout the week. Invariably some form of entertainment was on offer in the evenings which finished at a sensible hour. Our room was clean and had all the required amenities (including wifi). A flat screen TV, a radio alarm clock, a very good hairdryer, an iron and ironing board, a safe and three full length mirrors with sockets near enough to plug in your hair straighteners etc. A small fridge for storing drinks and those all important bottles of water, although the tap water in Barbados is perfectly drinkable. Bath robes and slippers are provided and the air-conditioning unit worked a treat. We realise it is impossible to please everybody as we all prefer different types of mattress but ours was one of the most comfortable we have experienced anywhere and we are very well travelled. The staff hosted a cocktail reception on the Wednesday evening of our stay so we had a chance to proffer any thoughts or register complaints and suffice it to say this was more an opportunity for the guests to pay them compliments and to congratulate them for looking after us all so well.So all in all this was a very pleasant resort we are delighted to have discovered, a veritable oasis which made for a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and a wonderful break from the cut and thrust of city life back home. I have to mention Lisa on the front desk who went way beyond her normal duties to let us know there was a problem with a restaurant booking we had made at the neighbouring "Cliff". She literally came and found us on the resort to inform us of this. We did go to the Cliff albeit the following evening and it was tremendous. "Tides" was another restaurant we can highly recommend. To all at Crystal Cove we thank you and like so many other of your guests, we will return.

Room tip: Fro families with young children you may want to think about requesting a room near to the children play room and play area.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wicksie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Wicksie143,

We wish to extend our gratitude for writing such an honest and warm comment regrading your recent stay in paradise with us. As our ultimate goal is to exceed our guest's expectations, we are delighted to note your satisfaction with our location, food and facilities! We love to see our team went out of their way to make sure you made the most out of your vacation and that you took great memories home. From being spoiled by the beach ambassadors to the culinary team that cooked delightful Bajan and traditional dishes, we are glad that your every wish was taken care of. Additionally, it is wonderful that you fell in love with our accommodations and the many amenities that come with them.

We cannot thank you enough for your recommendations and becoming apart of our family, it was our absolute pleasure to host you at our beautiful home. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest of futures.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Just home from a fabulous week at Crystal Cove. My husband’s third visit and my daughter’s second...not quite sure what took me so long! On arrival the wonderful reception (feet up, rum punch in hand, whilst angels attend to all the boring stuff like paperwork and getting your cases delivered) set the scene for a week of relaxation and fun. On reception our request to book lunch at a local restaurant one day was dealt with almost before we’d finished speaking, the staff at Crystal Cove are truly outstanding, and make this hotel extra special. Our one bedroom suite had a fabulous view of gardens and sea, plenty of room and a proper bed made up in the lounge area for our adult daughter. Beds were super comfy, we slept like kings, waking to the sight and sound of palm trees, blue skies and sea was wonderful. I could go on and on....suffice to say the sea and beach here are postcard pretty, the drinks cold, and the food excellent. Oh, and whilst you’re lounging by the sea and pool, other angels bring you fruit, drinks, cookies and lollies! Just go, you deserve it, I know we’ll be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank anniegee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear anniegee50,

Thank you for your review and our team is thrilled to learn that your family enjoyed another stay with us and that you had a perfect first time! Providing our guests with a convenient mean of checking in is of top priority to us, so we're pleased to learn that you were able to sit back and relax with your rum punch while our team took care of your requests. We thank you for your kind words of our staff, and will absolutely relay the message to them. They truly are apart of what makes Crystal Cove so special and we are glad that you can agree.

Additionally, we are so glad to note your satisfaction with your accommodations and the beautiful sounds and sights that accompany them. Hopefully you had the opportunity to witness some of the amazing sunsets that our West Coast location provides. It seems like you had the opportunity to lounge beachside, while being pampered by the beach and pool ambassadors. Perhaps you even had the chance to test out our complimentary paddle boards or kayaks, too.

We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again very soon to this beautiful island paradise of ours.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

My wife and I just spent a very enjoying and restful vacation in Barbados. This vacation involved two locations finishing at the Crystal Cove. First I must clarify that the following remarks are not directed at the restaurant or bar employees … they are some of the best we’ve encountered over our travels. On the other hand, we did find some areas of improvement at the reception desk. Indeed we found that being properly informed on how to maneuver offsite dining at the other properties was somewhat lacking.

Crystal Cove is an all-inclusive resort. Breakfast is your basic buffet with a constant theme. Lunch is refined to either outdoor BBQ style buffet or a la carte dining at the main dining room. Evening meals are very well done and presented. The grounds are very well groomed. Daily room cleaning is good and timely, but it cannot fix some very serious issues noted in the bathroom.

Yep the Crystal cove dates back to the early 1990’s and she is showing her age. The bathtub in our room (#117) was likely never changed. By all appearances some “new” tile work was done a few years ago but the bathtub remained so there is grout protruding all around (basically a botched job). Also the bathtub has a number of paint stains, and basically there is no enamel left. The white tiles on the bathroom floor are very nice, but the dirt between them is rather disgusting. Bottom line this is a bathroom you would expect in a 100$ / night hotel room … not in something you pay upwards of 875$ / night.

In addition, whether by the pools or the ocean, we could not find one lounge chair cushion that was clean … I mean they were very dirty (stained and so on).

Overall the buildings are in dire need of a major overhaul… considering price quality ratio, unfortunately we cannot recommend the Crystal Cove.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sophie and Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Sophie and Paul V,

Thank you for granting us the opportunity to host you during part of your trip down to Barbados. We are delighted to know that you found our staff to be some of the best that you have encountered throughout your travels. This is especially important to us because our team is dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a memorable holiday from ensuring their drinks are never empty, a smile is never off their face, and that they are being spoiled while lounging along our beautiful beach. We are so happy that we succeeded with you in this aspect of your trip.

However, it is very disappointing to read that your time with us was not worthy of five stars. We are so sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay but we appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve our product. Particularly, with the accommodations as this is a space that most guests wish to truly relax in. Please note that there are renovations in the pipeline and we do hope that you will be able to see them in person. It would be our honor to welcome you back once again so that we may serve you at our best and demonstrate our commitment to continually improve the guest experience.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We chose to get married at this particular hotel for 2 reasons, the reviews and the size of the hotel, I can honestly say this was the best decision we made.

We were treated like family throughout our stay, being a smaller hotel it is easy to quickly become acquainted with staff. This hotel is excellent for families and children of all ages.

The hotel is phenomenal, offering 3 different pools of different sizes and depths right on the beach front. There of plenty of sun loungers on offer and lots of shade if you want to escape the heat.

There is plenty of seating by the pool and also up on the terrace if you fancy a stroll away from the lounger.

The pool bar is by far the best you’ll ever see, you swim under the waterfall (yes you will get wet) and get to escape the heat and sun for a bit whilst sipping on a cocktail (or mocktail)

Although there are only 2 restaurants (my initial worry is I’ll become bored of the food) they do change there menus daily, the evening meals are amazing. Breakfast is changed slightly daily too, you can have eggs cooked to order, waffles, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, a healthy shake or that all important cooked breakfast. Lunch is offered either as a buffet or ordering from a menu dependant on the restaurant you visit. You can order burgers from the buffet.

The beach and pool ambassadors do come round and offer drinks regularly to ensure you stay hydrated, they also come round with cookies, fruit and ice lollies so lots to keep you going throughout the day.

The rooms are so comfortable, plenty of space, a few toiletries, cleaned daily and all have a great view of either the lush gardens or the Caribbean Sea!

The hotel is family friendly, they are so accommodating, you can pre order your kids meals for the evening so they aren’t waiting for there meal or you can preorder for them to eat earlier.

If you are travelling with a baby the hotel does over a cot with bed sheets, steriliser and if your weaning your baby the chef will even make your baby a special meal.

Another great thing about the hotel is the activities on offer, banana boat rides, waterskiing, kayaking and snorkelling are all included within the price.

You can also hop on the water taxi and spend the day at another elegant hotel.

The staff are wonderful, amazing, another part of the reason we will be returning to this particular hotel. Rhea is fabulous, she arranged our wedding on our behalf and we had the most amazing time. We also had lots of help from Devon around the pool who always made sure we had enough to drink and the baby had enough shade.

I had the most fabulous wedding and holiday, thank you Crystal Cove.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank MissSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear MissSCP,

First and foremost, congratulations on your recent nuptials! We could not be more honored that you chose to spend your big day at our resort, and we wish you the happiest of unions in the future.

From the comfortable accommodations to the award-winning cave bar and everything in between, it does sound like you were able to utilize all of our amenities. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our culinary options and that you were able to have custom meals for your baby. It is wonderful that you had the opportunity to be spoiled by our beach and pool ambassadors with their sweet treats in between relaxing by the pool and being adventurous with our complimentary water sports.

As you have noted, the staff at Crystal Cove is extremely dedicated to providing the most attentive service to each and every guest and we are so glad that they succeeded with you and your family. Please note that from the second you stepped foot on property you became apart of our family. We can only hope that we will be able to welcome you 'home' in the nearest of futures!

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

first time on Barbados and Crystal Cove made the experience really special.
All staff friendly and helpful and and the hotel was in a lovely setting,recommend a stay there to anybody who wants a relaxing holiday.

Room tip: room with a sea view are the best
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JanineL237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Janine L,

Thank you for your five-star feedback! It was an absolute pleasure to host you at Crystal Cove recently and we are delighted to learn that your first time on our beautiful island was a great one. It is great that you found all of our staff to be friendly and helpful, as they do their best to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. Hopefully you had ample opportunity to relax and unwind on our fabulous stretch of white sand beach whilst being pampered by the beach and pool ambassadors.

We can only hope that we will see you again in paradise in the nearest of futures!

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews