We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
268
41
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
41
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral reef club sorbet garden room one bedroom suite tennis coach beach bar repeat guests sister hotel hotel restaurant my wife and i have just water sports tennis courts small hotel sandy lane luxury hotel the entire staff total relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 332 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed hear on our first visit to barbados overall we had a pleasant relaxing stay rooms were nice but needing repair bathrooms needed updating. First impressions of the beach was not great when we were walking there was empty bear bottles and someone had walked there dog on the beach and did not pick up after him. The resort is very close to the road I would make sure you do not stay on that side. Gym was not great a little depressing to work out in. Overall food was okay. We have been to barbados many times and although expensive we think for the extra money Sandylane is the most amazing hotel on the island.

Room Tip: Do not book a room close to the road.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoSpagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was my first visit to the Sandpiper since 2000. During that time the hotel has doubled in size with a new number of rooms built on newly acquired land. In 2000 I stayed then because of the low key intimate appeal of the Sandpiper. I am pleased to advise that in 2012 the enlarged hotel retains the low-key, luxury appeal.

There is no doubt in my mind that the long term family ownership lus excellent long term manager have ensured that high standard have been maintained and indeed improved upon. I would recommend the Sandpiper to travellers who can afford Sandy Lane and appreciate the Barbadian definition of luxury, but dont want the celebrity culture of Sandy Lane.

My highlights of my stay with my partner in a one bedroom suite:

- although I stayed in one of the older suites, this had been modernised nicely with brand new bathroom.

- restaurant was excellent - breakfast buffet superb and thanks to the chef for tolerating my porridge request every day. Dinner was par with the best west coast restuarants. Great wine list

- beach was small and very relaxing, but with plenty of water sports available (note beaches in Barbados are public but the Sandpiper staff ensure you are not bothered by vendors)

- Harolds beach bar was excellent. Cant recommend his Sue Slinger cocktail enough for a non-alcoholic drink.

- Reception staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble.

- Gym fairly basic but adequate for my needs and better than having to walk to sister hotel Coral Reef. Peak time was four people using the gym.

- No TV in room policy is fantastic. This is Barbados - switch off...

- .. saying that free wi-fi most appreciated.

No real negatives. Minor misunderstanding when I was refused a drink in the beach bar of the sister hotel was quickly and swiftly dealt with by Sandpiper management, who are rightly proud of the hotel they run.

I firmly believe you get what you pay for in life and the Sandpiper is no exception. I look forward to my return.

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom suites if you can afford them
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonnyCrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Sandpiper is clearly an extremely well managed property, the staff and service in general really impress. The facility itself is nice enough, but can feel a bit cramped when full due to the number of guests milling around. Our room was modern and very nice. Not sure about the 'no TV' policy when there's quite loud panpipe or easy listening music playing adeles greatest hits every night. Our room was right by the live music meaning it wasn't easy to get a quiet night, but to the hotels credit they moved and even upgraded us when we complained.

The beach strip is extremely narrow and consequently can be quite busy, but I think this is quite common in Barbados. I really liked the gym though, it was done up sparsely but had exactly what was needed.

We did book directly and I dont think we got the best rate accordingly, as relative to other places we stayed the price seemed quite high given the facilities. Clearly this is a hotel with a number of repeat customers, and you can see the staff do invest a lot of time in building a genuine relationship with the guests.

Stayed: March 2012
5  Thank Richkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

if you are looking to go to the carribean and visit a hotel that truly understands amazing customer service, decor, amazing food and how to truly create an environment for relaxation, then Sandpiper is your choice!!

Room Tip: the one bedroom suite is truly amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marysusanslobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I couldn't imagine going back to Barbados and not staying at the Sandpiper. We had an amazing time. From the beginning to the end this hotel did not let us down. The staff and the service provided was exceptional - Lee-Jay on reception and Harold at the beach bar were only too happy to help. Sunday night's BBQ had an enjoyable relaxing atmosphere, although gentlemen are required to wear long trousers which we thought was a bit formal. Our room was a one-bed suite with balcony - giving us the space to enjoy drinks outside whilst the sun went down; and enjoy breakfast (delivered to the room at no extra charge) whilst the sun came up. We didn't use the pool - the beach is right there and with complimentary water sports. Yes a lot of people seemed to know each other, or, perhaps everyone was just being friendly - which is refreshing. If you want to enjoy the Sandpiper experience even more get a suite - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RickyRattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews