We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around at the Royal Westmoreland”
Review of Royal Westmoreland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint James Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Westmoreland
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We visited Royal Westmoreland 3 years ago staying in a royal villa which is a three bedroomed villa. This time we stayed on forest hills in a two bedroomed spacious villa. Some things have changed which I think reflects the fact that when we came before the RW was in the top five places to stay and now it's struggling to get in the top ten. Three years ago the housekeeper who looked after the villa washed and ironed your clothes so you had no washing to take back. Not that I need this service but if you have experienced this before and then it is no longer included then you feel somewhat disappointed. The sanctuary swimming pool and bar area was a little disappointing. Last time we visited the staff were very motivated. But they came across as apathetic this time. One guy sat in a small office making sure you were a member as you walked in but felt it was ok to just point at sun bed cushions and towels and leave you to it to sort out your umbrella etc. To put this in to context there were no more than 16 people around the pool so he was hardly rushed off his feet. If this resort is to continue marketing Itself as a five star holiday destination it has to address these issues . On a more positive note the RW is still a fabulous place to stay. Accommodation is first class. The grounds of the resort are impeccable. The plants and trees are perfectly manicured. The guest services and clubhouse staff are fantastic. Special mentions are Chris, Natalie, Karen and Pat. There is a shuttle bus to mullins beach where RW own a part of the beach bar. The sunbed service there is fabulous. There is also a spa at the beach with a fabulous small pool with a waterfall. If you come here to stay you have to remember it is not a hotel. Lots of people live here permanently. It's a world class golfing destination. It lacks atmosphere because of this. But if you want a quiet peaceful holiday with great views and good amenities I would have no hesitation in
recommending a stay here. You will however need a car.

Room Tip: royal villas are large approximate 2500 square feet. The 2 bed forest hills and cassia heights villa...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank patentattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan462, Chief Executive Officer at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your views about Royal Westmoreland. We will look into your comments and feed them back to the team here regarding the Sanctuary, but we are delighted that your experiences with Guest Services and at the Clubhouse were so good. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Greg Schofield , CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Royal Westmoreland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I can't find the words to describe Royal Westmoreland. The views from the Condo we stayed in were simply breathtaking, we could see almost the entire West Coast of Barbados. The trees and plants on the compund created an surreal nature setting which my husband and I both needed --- a great getaway from the busy city life.
The beach was just less than 5 mins away, we jumped into our Coastal Rental car and skipped to beach every day. The agent from the car rental gave us several hot spots to visit and she was so very helpful. I had to thank her for the tips when we departed, we had so much fun.
I would reccommend Mullins Beach which is not to far , it's just fabulous. Barbados has so many beaches, you can choose one on any given day and check it out. It was fun trying a different beach each time. Staying on the West Coast was well worth the trip.

Room Tip: West Coast views are better than south coast
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

From the moment you enter Royal Westmorelands you just know that its going to be one of those special places , we stayed in one of the Celebrity Villa number 8 Mahogany Drive its was a large detached with its own sweeping Drive and came equipped with a golf buggy for getting around the resort .
The Villa was very impressive with plush furnishings, amazing bedrooms and kitchen and your very own swimming pool, proper Rock star stuff!!!
There was a regular shuttle to Mullins Beach at 9.30am be warned the driver is a little grumpy!!! at Mullins Beach you will find your Royal Westmorlands padded sun lounger and umbrella and a guy called Hollywood to sort out your water sports, and be sure to ask him to take you on this speed boat with his friend Malibu to swim with the Turtles and have an amazing lunch at the Fish Pot HEAVEN so much we did it twice and would do it again.
Also don’t forget to eat at the restaurant a Mullins as it’s got to be the best Beach lunch around.
In the evenings do all the restaurants that are recommended the loinstar, The Cliff etc and pay a visit to Holetown in the evening and mix with the local all must be done!!! If you are looking for that extra special holiday Royal Westmorelands is for you ……….

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike_tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This is unique place in Barbados, the beauty of the beaut... The house was luxurious,
the view superb, and the services just perfect. You feel at home at the first place,
it's brilliant place to meet famous people. The swimming was gorgeous, you just wake up the morning, saying good morning to the small and funny monkey on the road, and if you do not have you own car, the shuttle bus is already waiting for you to drive you to the most beautiful beach. The team was great, friendly and paying attention to every details.
The only thing with this place, is that it is just so hard to leave it...!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leadbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

the first visit to royal westmoreland in nearly ten years was to celebrate a special occasion.
Everything about the place looks good at a first glance but the veneer is rather thin and it hides a clear lack of investment both in people and assets.
The golf course is the classic that it always was but needs a real renovation it is scruffy in every way and the beach club is no more than a lounger on a busy, noisy beach.
The royal villa was very tired and that is how many of the staff appeared, though the clubhouse bar staff were the exception.
Sandy Lane for us next time

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed at no.28 Cassia Heights in Royal Westmoreland for the 1st week of November, 3 couples in total.
What a wonderful villa! Amazing views, spacious and felt like home from home. I have previously stayed in hotels in St James but the freedom of self catering and being able to have BBQs on the decking with the wonderful views has changed our minds from now on!
Leann, our cleaner did all our washing so we came home with clean clothes - yet another luxury!

We ate in the wonderful Lonestar (next to Alan Shearer!) which has to be the best restaurant on the Island!! Our friends at in the Cliff and Tides.

Royal Westmoreland is truly aspirational.........very slick yet unpretentious.......we need to get saving for a place there now!!

The only negative was that the Beach at Mullins Bay gets quite busy and can be noisy by the road.......but this is a tiny tiny negative!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lau_Jonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Royal Westmoreland is an absolutely first rate place to stay, we have been each year for the last 5 years and wouldn't keep returning if we didn't get it! From the day you arrive nothing is too much trouble for the Conceirge Team (special mention to Chris the manager) and they looked after us well once again on our most recent visit.

You see the thing about Royal Westmoreland is the complete privacy you enjoy when you stay on the estate but you still have access to all the facilities of the Island Bit like an exclusive members club without the formality.

Great selection of restaurants in nearby Holetown, both for formal dining or just relaxing, so you really are spoilt for choice. Neither my wife nor I play golf but we really enjoyed the early evening atmosphere in the Clubhouse watching the fabulous Caribbean sunsets. So there is a dress code, but then there is a most golf clubs here in the UK.

Fabulous Villa with it's own pool which would have slept up to 6 guests, friendliest housekeeper you could ever meet, serenaded by the singing frogs each evening and no more bugs than you would find on your family pet.

Will we be back - yes for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank trevorandlinda_bls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
15.7 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,082 reviews
4.1 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
624 reviews
1.9 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,078 reviews
3.9 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.1 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Westmoreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $210 - $709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing