We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
390
105
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
105
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian restaurant water taxi frozen grapes seascape restaurant ice cream water sports adult only pool cold towels ocean front the main hotel wraps adults only section duplex room beach ambassadors zebra crossing colony club other hotels
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 519 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

One of the best things about Waves is the people: the staff make the resort. I loved their personalities, their genuine warmth, and the little comedy we would have with each other as the days would pass. It felt like family being happy to see you when you came down for breakfast in the morning. The other thing that stands out about Waves is the attention to detail in the construction and aesthetics: it is perfectly comfortable, beautiful, and perfect for what it is: a small-scale luxury hotel great for couples seeking downtime and relaxation. The secondary pool, which is "across the street", was our favorite: a veritable tropical paradise with a gorgeous garden tub. (Don't let the 'street crossing' dissuade you, it was hardly a big deal). The rooms were air conditioned within an inch of the North Pole, which is breathtakingly refreshing when you get out of the heat. The only other place that is air conditioned is the spa and the cafe. However, many of the seating areas are remarkably cool, especially with the fans. Our favorite restaurant was Shiso (pro-tip, it's cooler there than the 'regular' restaurant, which does not get much of a breeze at night. If you're traveling in the summer? Don't bother packing your long sleeves, unless you never sweat.) One other thing to keep in mind is that all of the beaches in Barbados are public... we did not know this... People will wander up to you at your spot if you are on the beach (yes even at Waves) and solicit wares or jet ski trips, sometimes even a bit pushily. Usually it's not a bad scene, but it can get a bit annoying. You just need to be firm. The good news is, you'll never lack for activities. We had a blast with the hobie catamaran (we took that out several times) and I loved to snorkel (found moray eels, pufferfish, lizardfish, and dozens of parrotfish just in the area around the hotel alone). The rooms are extraordinarily comfortable and the beds are divine. I would absolutely recommend Waves above all other Elegant Hotels. Can I be there right now?

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

A very good choice if you want to stay on the west side of the island. Travelled with BA and think they are losing the plot! Travelled in club class and the food has gone downhill and less choice than before. The hotel is excellent price for value for money. Stayed in a junior suite with ocean front. Room was clean and bigger than most. Food was very good overall. As I am gluten free, it was nice they had bread for me every day. Staff were very cheerful and did their job well. A small selection of alcoholic drinks, most were local and tasted ok. Beach is good with plenty of sun beds. Spa was good. Trip round the island with Williams tour was enjoyable. 'Rooster' was our driver and his knowledge of the island was excellent. Yellow buses to Bridgetown was an experience but reliable and cheap! Overall an excellent choice of hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Recently refurbished to a very high standard and ocean front rooms with a view to die for. Food was really good and the staff were exceptionately accommodating and friendly. All inclusive extends to water sports (jet skis etc) and there is a 'coffee shop' just off the main lobby which is open all day and serves light bites so no stress if you miss/want to miss the breakfast or lunch buffet in the main restaurant.

Only criticism is that the beach is very small. There are always enough loungers but absolutely no personal space. It is however immaculately kept and the sea is picture postcard perfect.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Cricklestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017

I have stayed I this hotel 11 times now, first time with new owners and just love it, the beach, sea and the food is amazing.
The only complaint I have with the hotel it can be very noisy with the music entertainment every night, it is very loud so if you like an early evening ask for a quiet room.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank lanacrevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear lanacrevin

A warm thank you for sharing this glowing review of Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels. It is great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the newly redesigned Waves.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay as it relates to the entertainment. We are always eager to gain feedback from our guests on how we can improve their stay and we thank you for sharing these comments with us.

Overall it appears as though you had a truly wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home for many happy returns.

Kind regards

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful location.
Gorgeous beach.
Spotless hotel.
Buffet breakfast and lunch with omelettes, toasties, etc and fresh grilled fish from the chef station.
You book for dinner at 1 of 2 restaurants, which is more formal.
Live entertainment each night, my faverout was the brass drum!
Staff are lovely and can't do enough for you.
It's like paradise! When can I go back?

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
8  Thank jog916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews