We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$306
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$173
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Village Beach Club(Kralendijk)
US$328
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Dollar Condominiums(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Club Bonaire(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
US$269
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Beach Resort(Kralendijk)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$156
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
410
312
116
57
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
312
116
57
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuddy divedrive thruthe pool bar restaurantphoto centerthe friday night bbqcamera shopthe reefsair stationtank pickupfree nitroxgreat divingrental truckmanual transmissiongrand caymanone bedroom apartmentlion fishbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 919 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed at Buddy Dive last fall with a group of guys. The resort is exactly what you would expect from an island dive resort. It is not the Ritz, but is very nice for the price. Other reviews are correct, the diving is excellent on Bonaire. I look forward to going back.

The resort is undergoing renovations. The property is kept very well. It is built for diving and relaxing. The staff, especially the bar staff are great.

Complaining about the type of beer they serve? Come on people. Complaining that the property is dated? Is the island. You get good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The room had not been refurbished since it was built in 1980. The sliding door to the deck was harder to move than a truck. The housekeeping staff was very nice if you spoke to them. The bar staff is great, but the only beer choices are Amstel and Heineken (well, it is part of the Netherlands). The diving from Buddy's is excellent and the boat dives were very good, too. Great staff on the boat dives, also. Overall, I would give the diving a 9 out of 10 and the facilities 2 out of 10. If you go to Buddy's, be prepared for just the very basics with probably some glitches, but enjoy the diving.

Room Tip: Insist on one of the newly renovated rooms and get it in writing.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our forth trip to Buddy Dive and still my favorite place to dive. We purchased the package that includes six boat dives, a rental truck to dive all the shore dives on the island, air/Nitrox, breakfast, a condo and 50 percent off food in the restaurant. This is one of the best dive packages we have taken advantage of. They are currently redoing all the rooms and they are very nice, but I don't go there for the food or the accommodations.

The diving is wonderful. On our first dive around Klein Bonaire we encountered 8 dolphins. While they didn't stay around very long, it was amazing. We saw turtles, lobsters, crabs, squid, scorpion fish but only one sea horse. The water has been a little murky the last two years but we have been coming the last of August instead of the middle of September, like we did the first two times.

I'll be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathyinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I departed Buddy Dive Resort yesterday, after a very pleasant week. We, too, had to deal with several large groups that had the dive boats heavily booked, but we quickly learned the trick to getting ourselves onto "tomorrow's boat." Our arrival briefing was a bit of a cluster grope, as we were sent from one place to another and then back again, but we finally had our briefing -- including a walking tour of the most important facilities on the resort. Our one BR ocean view apartment was just that. It was not spacious or glamorous; it was a one bedroom ocean view apartment w/ a kitchenette (everything worked) and a very nice balcony. Our principal complaint is that the living room and balcony furniture was uncomfortable -- to the point that we were using multiple chair cushions to try to deal with the fanny fatigue that set in rather quickly with the hard furniture. Complaint #2 would be the lack of free internet access. It was available for a hefty fee, but we just went to Lilly's ice cream shop downtown and connected for free while having a little treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Capt_Nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hotel front desk was great. No problems. Cleaning staff was wonderful, again no problems.

But when it comes to the diving aspect, Buddy was extremely frustrating. From a 9am orientation that didn't happen, to a 6pm orientation that didn't cover the basics of the dive operation (i.e. locker room, keys, times, signing up for dives, where/how to get weights, where/how to get tanks after hours, etc.). Luckily we had stayed the week before at the Sand Dollar next door, so the day wasn't a total bust for us, but there were many others that had the same issue, but had come in that day. Guess they were just out of luck. To top it off, their boats are old and apparently failing as they hire boats off of other resorts and don't take you too far from "home." While you get to go to Klein (island), you don't go too far away from the resort for your boat dives. We rented a truck and dove at a lot of the sites, but oddly enough, the boat then took us back to those sites. On one trip, we actually dove right NEXT to the resort. Like a glorified shore dive. Really? Why not just have a truck tour and drive us all over in a reliable pickup?

Now overall, going to Bonaire is a GREAT diving adventure and even the dive admin at Buddy can't make it anything less. But when you think you are paying for a "Cadillac" and get a "Moped," it is disappointing. The accommodations are fine, the food was good, the resort service was nice, but the diving admin has a lot of customer service classes to attend. The hotel and services get a GREAT 4.5 (only issues were ran out of food on the buffet, ran out of coffee cups at breakfast)...the dive operation a 1.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Relax_its_a_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews