We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base of operations for diving on Bonaire, Get a good truck!!”
Review of Buddy Dive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddy Dive
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was my second trip to Buddy Dive with our local dive club. Most diving on Bonaire is shore diving so the inclusion of a small pickup truck with each room is a real benefit. Just be prepared for sticker shock at any of the local stations when you fill up your gas-tank at the end of the week. There is also a drive thru air-station with unlimited air and Nitrox up near the parking lot so you can pick up and drop off tanks without having to lug them up from the dive shop. The dive shop itself is very efficient and professional with plenty of storage space for your gear.

We also had a free breakfast buffet added into our package which was a nice touch. The house reef is very nice and perfect for night dives. There is a great ocean view from all of the terraces. The rooms are a little rustic and the water pressure a bit low but come on.. we are talking about Bonaire and you are here for great diving, not for a 5 star resort. There is a nice basic kitchen in each room and the grounds themselves are lovely.

One caveat, if your significant other is not a diver...they should stay at home, unless they are a sun-worshiper with a fully loaded Kindle. There really isn't much else to do on Bonaire. Another warning, my first visit was in June 2009. June is a miserable month on Bonaire from 10am to 5pm if you're out in the sun. Melting into a pool of slime hot. The wind seemed to be absent for most of the week that we were there. March was a much nicer month and the viz, IMHO, seemed to be better as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evac93rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Buddy Dive has fantastic facilities for divers, weather you are a beginner, budding photographer or veteran diver. As a young single lady traveling alone, security was an important factor and I felt absolutely safe and welcomed. I was concerned that with so many shore diving opportunities on Bonaire that I might miss out b/c I was traveling alone - not so! The best part of Buddy Dive is that it is the friendliest place a diver could hope to stay. Many of the visitors come year after year and were excited to take me along on their shore diving excursions. In fact, I barely spend any time above water the entire time I was in Bonaire. However, when I did need to come up for air, I was happy to have a comfortable, luxurious room to rest in and a very convenient all-inclusive package that allowed me to focus on diving rather than taking care of mundane travel details. I rarely dive the same place twice but I already can't wait to go back and stay again with Buddy Dive :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at a neighboring resort that offered a package deal that included unlimited air fills at Buddy Dive Resort. Both the dive staff and the ladies at the shop were all very nice and helpful. We loved the way the operation was set up. They have a drive-through for tank fills if you dive elsewhere on the island and also have tanks available at the dock for diving on the house reef. We also rented equipment from them, all of which was in perfect shape. We also did a fluorescent night dive, which was cool and different. Unfortunately, some health issues emerged midway through our stay that forced us to stop diving. The folks at Buddy Dive were very accommodating - even though they don't issue refunds on unlimited air fill packages they gave us a break on our equipment rental to even things out, and we ended up paying only for the days we actually dived. That tells you something about their service-mindedness! We loved our stay on Bonaire and hope to be back. When we do, Buddy Dive will once again be our dive operation of choice.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Juud1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This resort caters to divers & is in a grand location. The staff are helpful & resort offers many cool excursions. Some of the rooms are showing some age but all the necessities are provided. The breakfast buffet is worth it & for the price it's a good deal. True, there's no beach but still a great on the ocean location w/ decent snorkeling just off the dock!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h-hartstarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I chose this hotel because of its price, and also because it is directly at the ocean and has direct ocean access. The location is very nice, especially the pool bar which is directly at the ocean. (There is no real beach though.) The breakfast buffet was great- they have anything you would want for breakfast and it tastes really good. We had dinner once (for Christmas Eve) at the pool bar restaurant. This was a buffet and the food was... let's say edible. The only delicious part was the dessert (some kind of pie). Everybody there is very helpful and very friendly. From the dive shop to the waiters and the front desk. The room was small, very simple and fairly cleen. The tiles and walls could use some scrubbing as they have dead mosquito stains all over. The beds were kind of uncomfortable. We really liked our balcony though which had a view of the island. At night, however, they kept running either the compressor of the air filling station, or some kind of generator. This caused a lot of noise. The nights could have been very peaceful at this location as it is about 2 miles from the main town of the island, but the noise was really annoying. With that being said, if you do not mind simple rooms, bring your earplugs, not have dinner at the hotel, and not expect a real beach, you will have a OK hotel at a good price to stay at.

Room Tip: Far away from the air refill station and/ or generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our stay at Buddy Dive Resort was from Dec. 17-24, 2011. It was great! The group of 10 divers were given their own boat, and when we arrived our boat trips were scheduled and posted, so there was no need to try to get 10 people signed up for the same boat. The staff was helpful and the dive guides did an excellent job finding sea horses, frogfish, and the usual array of cool things at the variety of sites we dove on. The resort has been updated with some new landscaping, vehicles, a volleyball court, and new menu offerings at the pool bar for lunch and dinner. It is also nice to see familiar faces among the front desk, wait staff, dive guides, and of course in the dive shop. You are always greeted with a "Welcome back, or Welcome home", which is so nice to hear. We had a great time at the managers Rum Punch Party, given on Friday, where there was live music by Moogi. We are already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonDiver_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We did not stay at Buddy Dive but did six boat dives through here and rented dive gear. Friends stayed here and their room was very nice and they had a good experience. The dive staff is very friendly and helpful. Well organized boat diving. The drive through for picking up tanks for shore diving is super convenient. Only complaint is that there were times we had to wait a few minutes to get Nitrox because they were behind on having tanks ready. Probably a factor of Nitrox becoming more and more popular (not a big deal). Buddy's Reef is convenient and full of life. Also a great place to do a night dive. We'll definately dive through Buddy Dive on our next trip to Bonaire.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
4.7 km away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
4.2 km away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#10 of 22 in Kralendijk
95 reviews
3.3 km away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
625 reviews
0.3 km away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
524 reviews
0.2 km away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Dive

Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $206 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buddy Dive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. An unhurried, unspoiled natural paradise offering spectacular sunsets, gentle breezes and crystal clear, turquoise waters. Buddy's is a resort where you can DIVE DIVE DIVE, take part in a multitude of activities or just sit back, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. At Buddy Dive, we're known for our casual atmosphere, personable staff, spacious accommodations and a dive operation that has something for every diver: comfortable boats, complete rental and retail center, exceptional staff, and a unique "Drive Thru" with a two-lane air/nitrox fill station. No matter which apartment you are staying in, you're never further than a giant stride away from our popular and lively house reef which is perfect for diving and snorkeling, day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Buddy Dive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Dive Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Hotel Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing