We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Buddy Dive Restaurants”
Review of Buddy Dive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddy Dive
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Definitely don't eat at their on site restaurant; the food might arrive in 25 minutes, it might be what you ordered or you may never get it. The restaurant is not worth it, avoid. Also my phone was stolen from our dining table while there.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Janel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This was my fifth year at Buddy Dive, and I am more impressed every year. It is a diver-focused resort. When I started, amenities were okay but nothing to crow about. That's been changing. My rooms were very comfortable, well appointed, and daily cleaning excellent. I always had extra towels and even when my dive gear was dripping on my balcony, the maid insisted on mopping that floor! AC worked too well...had to cut it back despite high heat and humidity outside.

Food at Blennies, the tiki bar/restaurant, is quite nice and reasonably priced. Nathania...one of the bartenders, gets to know customers quickly and takes care of their needs. First night I discovered that the bar's popcorn machine was broken...they make absolutely wonderful popcorn for happy hour. I said something and next night Nathania had gotten the main kitchen to make a big bowl. I was late but she had reserved a portion for me. What nice service.

Breakfast...really huge and delicious, is part of the resort package. Ingridients [sic] is their fine dining restaurant. I was there for the Monday night lionfish. Absolutely great.

But for a traveler on a week's dive trip, it was small things like a much accelerated check-in process, great staff at the dive shop, WiFi that worked well in the room, etc. that made this stay a great one.

Can't stop without mentioning one of the dive masters. I had three boat dives under the leadership of Danny. She is terrific underwater. Our group did not ask for any specific dive site, but instead told her we'd like to see seahorses and frog fish! First dive, she found five seahorses and our requested frog fish. Slow, easy dives with Danny being sure every one of the group got in to see and/or photograph the specimens she was finding.

Room Tip: There are several, but these are luck of draw...many arrive in pre-arranged groups to dive; the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The place is clean and relatively modern. Nice kitchen and utensils. Vehicles that come with the rooms are nice and useful. As for the diving it was like being in the dentist office aquarium. Nothing big in one week no sharks 3 turtles a few tarpons. The rest was little stuff. Not my cup of tea.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This was our second time to Bonaire and staying at this Resort. This year we were in room 103 and it is a one bedroom with a kitchenette. This Resort is similar to most dive resorts and the rooms are very clean (thanks to Elsy) and have shampoo, shower gel, and soap located in each bathroom. It comes with air conditioning and a place outside for your gear. This particular room is centrally located to both Blennies bar, the dive shop, and Ingridients. Breakfast was included for us each morning and Dennis did a phenomenal job making sure we were taken care of. Most evenings were spent sitting at Blennies watching the sunset and enjoying their many food options. Prices are very reasonable and the amount of food you get is plentiful. The entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Leann and Irene at the front desk were more than happy to assist us each time we had a question. The dive operation is very well organized and they make it easy for you to pick up and drop off tanks (although you can only do it at this location not any of their other locations on the island) and they have multiple rinse tanks for your gear as well as multiple boat dive options each day. Jimmy was extremely helpful for us in deciding which Shore Dives would be best for this trip. One thing I would definitely recommend everyone do is take advantage of Susan at the Photoshop to custom make a sign for you to take back home. She does a phenomenal job painting on the Driftwood and can do just about anything. John is super helpful when it comes to making sure your photos turn out exactly the way you expect.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

After years of saying we would go to Bonaire we finally made it. We chose Buddy Dive on the recommendation of friends and reviews, we were not disappointed.

The booking process is pretty straight forward and the overall cost is reasonable. The dive package options allow you to taylor your diving to meet all members of a large groups wants or needs.

The resort is well maintained and the accommodations while not plus are comfortable and safe. The dive operation is laid out in a manner that allows for ease of use from boat to shore diving. Buddy Dive has a variety of dive boats to work with keeping your group together. The drive and dive shore diving is efficient and easy to use. As many have stated, free nitrox is a great bonus.

The staff are very friendly and do all they can to be helpful. There are two restaurants on site: Ingredients and Blennies. Ingredients is a bit more upscale but reasonably priced and very good. Blennies is very casual but can be hit and miss with pace of service and overall quality. Another nice feature is the included breakfast; hot, fresh with omelette station.

Now as to diving, do yourself and or your group a favor and add a boat package to your trip. The sites on Bonaire and Klein Bonaire only accessible by boat are well worth the small added expense. These locations are as healthy as they come.

Shore diving in most areas is easy to moderate. The site named Oil Slick looks a bit intimidating but turned out to be easy in, easy out and one of our favorite locations.

Night dives on the house reef are pretty good with large Tarpon often escorting your dive. If you choose to night dive off the resort make sure to leave nothing of value in your vehicle or bring along a guard. Given the chance thieves will rummage through and take any valuables, we learned this the hard way.

Overall we had a great week of diving. Even our non-divers were able to keep themselves busy. If you are diving Bonaire, Buddy Dive is the place to start.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank sbear1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Came here with a group and I have to say, Buddy Dive Resort had everything figured out for us. To the rental trucks to the drive through air station to the boat diving. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We can't wait to come back for another visit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Room was very basic but clean. Lots of space in the living area not so much in sleeping area, but it really didn't matter. On site facilities were good and lockers were in good shape. Restaurant was average, but local places were varied and good.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Casmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
4.7 km away
Bellafonte Luxury Oceanfront Hotel
4.2 km away
Courtyard Bonaire
Courtyard Bonaire
#9 of 22 in Kralendijk
94 reviews
3.3 km away
Divi Flamingo Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Harbour Village Beach Club
Harbour Village Beach Club
#2 of 22 in Kralendijk
624 reviews
0.3 km away
Coral Paradise Resort
Coral Paradise Resort
#1 of 22 in Kralendijk
523 reviews
0.2 km away
Captain Don's Habitat
Captain Don's Habitat
#11 of 22 in Kralendijk
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Dive

Address: Kaya Gob. N. Debrot 85, Kralendijk, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kralendijk
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kralendijk
Price Range: $208 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buddy Dive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. An unhurried, unspoiled natural paradise offering spectacular sunsets, gentle breezes and crystal clear, turquoise waters. Buddy's is a resort where you can DIVE DIVE DIVE, take part in a multitude of activities or just sit back, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. At Buddy Dive, we're known for our casual atmosphere, personable staff, spacious accommodations and a dive operation that has something for every diver: comfortable boats, complete rental and retail center, exceptional staff, and a unique "Drive Thru" with a two-lane air/nitrox fill station. No matter which apartment you are staying in, you're never further than a giant stride away from our popular and lively house reef which is perfect for diving and snorkeling, day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Buddy Dive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Dive Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Hotel Kralendijk
Buddy Dive Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing