We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buddy Dive
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Beach Resort(Kralendijk)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$237
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Dollar Condominiums(Kralendijk)(Great Value!)
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Paradise Resort(Kralendijk)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Village Beach Club(Kralendijk)
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
409
310
116
57
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
310
116
57
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrive thruthe pool bar restaurantphoto centerthe friday night bbqcamera shopthe reefsair stationtank pickupfree nitroxgreat divingrental truckfishgrand caymanmanual transmissionone bedroom apartmentbreakfast buffet isliving area
Filter
Updating list...
653 - 658 of 915 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2010

First trip on a recommendation from 2 friends. Our room was ok,BUT in the room next to us they were remodeling. Jack hammers and tile saws all day long, you could not even hold a conversation. Buddy's gave us no notice that we would be next to construction. I am very dissatisfied with our room situation. Another couple joined us and their room was much better than ours, luckily we are all divers and did not spend much time in our room.
Except for breakfast, the food was aweful. I would not recommend either resteraunt.
Buddy's is awesome for all your diving needs. The dive staff is excellent. This would be the only reason I would even consider staying again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was our 5th trip to Buddy Dive - our first was in 2000. So we have fond memories of what Buddy Dive use to be. Must admit we were very disappointed. Our room location was OK; no water upon arrival; bathrooms had septic odor most of the week; Most of the staff were indifferent - we remember when Buddy's staff provided the utmost attention and service. Both restaurants were mediocre - lunch at the pool bar was ok but service was not. We love Bonaire for the ease of diving. Love the restaurant choices. But would not stay at Buddy's again. Would try another resort. It's ashame after all these years and visits but BUDDY DIVE - we were very disappointed in you!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdoneganfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We traveled to Bonaire the week of May 2nd, 2010 and stayed at Buddy Dive Resort. This was our 2nd trip to Bonaire and 2nd time to stay at Buddys. The first time, I admit, I was a little disappointed. The rooms were run down and in need of many repairs. I am glad to say, the resort has undergone (and still continues to undergo) a huge renovation. We chose again to stay in a one bedroom apartment. The resort gave us a room (#409) on the 2nd floor, with a spectacular view of the ocean. The bathroom and kitchen areas received a complete overhaul and everything appeared to be brand new. The shower, with its sliding glass door and modern design were a delight for those after dive cool downs. The kitchen contained all new appliances, and provided all of the necessary ammenities for preparing meals in our room. We chose to eat out mainly, I mean...we are on vacation and who wants to cook? The restaurants on the premises are adequate for lunch after a morning of diving, but we ventured off the resort for dinner. Although the food was a little pricey it was definitely worth it. We did not have a bad meal the entire time we were there. And what a surprise to find an awesome American style pizza restaurant called Pasa Bon Pizza. Definitely better than any pizza I've had back in the states! Also be sure to check out the Patagonia Steak House for some amazing steak creations and the best Pina Colada's on the island!
We made 11 dives total while we were there, and several right at Buddy's house reef.

The ease of the drive thru air station for those off the resort trips is unbeatable. A rental vehicle is provided with each reservation package, so finding a car or taxi to take you places is no problem. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful as were the dive staff, and housekeeping.

If you are looking for a carefree diving destination, I highly recommend Bonaire and Buddy Dive Resort. Only one word of caution, be sure to bring your mosquito repellent. You will want to be spending as many nights as you can enjoy the warm tropical breezes from your balcony, and the mosquitos can be downright vicious at night.

Bon Bini!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iluvdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed for a week. The diving on the reef right in front of the hotel is fantastic. The home reef here may be the most diverse on the island. Access is great. Tanks always available. Drive through for tanks for other shore dives is fantastic.
The staff from the front desk to the dive shop to the other service staff were all great. Only two negatives would be that the restaurant is not open every night and that the guy in the photo shop can be a little on the edgy side.
Overall it was a great place to stay. Will come back one day -- I hope.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AncientMariner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Buddy Dive is a fun place to stay when scuba diving Bonaire. Apartments are reasonably spacious, clean and air conditioned. The ground floor ones ("first floor" in the USA, but "ground floor" for European hotels) are perfect for scuba folks who don't want to schlepp their gear upstairs each evening. We stayed in 103, just 100 feet from the dive shop and dock. Package included 6 boat dives (one tank per trip) plus unlimited "shore diving" with both air and Nitrox. A Toyota pickup truck with a dive tank rack in the back was included in "the deal." So we drove around the island and did "shores" dives, where we just walked into the ocean from the coral rocks or beach. And we just jumped into the ocean at Buddy's, swam 30 feet to Buddy's Reef (naturally) and went north or south two or three times. Wonderful for that 5 pm dive!

You get 50% per person off food eaten at the Pool Bar and Restaurant (NOT at the Lions Den Restaurant located on the premises), subject to a limitation of $75 credit, i.e., spend $150 on food during the week and you get a $75 reduction in your bill when checking out. We went to the local supermarket (Caltimara, about 1 mile away downtown) and bought lunch fixings, as well as dinner ingredients for several evenings. And the Heiniken beer was great! The whole operation is quite well run; the boats are in good shape (one is a catamaran hulled dive boat that holds 16 comfortably and is nearly new). Dive crews and divemasters were experienced and did a good job shepherding 8 - 12 divers around who were quite varied in their experience levels. Divers will like Buddy's, we believe. Activities for non-divers were available (kayaking the mangrove areas, wind sailing, biking, and on and on). But Bonaire is a divers island so don't expect super night life, great shows, etc. In fact, at Buddy's it was REALLY quiet after 9 or 9:30 pm each night except Friday night! Anyone flying out on Saturday can't dive after about noon to 3pm Friday (safety issues) so naturally Buddy's throws its free rum punch party Friday evening! The place was jumping! Food at the Pool Bar was above average but not five of five stars. But it did not disappoint--we had tarpon one night and it was quite good. Temps were in the 82 - 85 days, but hotter in the direct sun. Most of the dive boats had shade for the rides, and most rides were 15 minutes or less out to Klein Bonaire Island. Buddy's has fast I'net service at the front desk--$8 or so for an hour of connect time, so if all you need to do is check eMails, no need to take your laptop. But they do have wireless service available for a higher rate. They provide two large beach towels per person; just return the wet ones and pick up new dry ones. The American and European breakfast (included in our package) is quite good--cereal, eggs, bacon, ham, sausages, lots of fresh fruits, and a "cook station" where she will cook your eggs to order, or make omlets or waffles (yummy waffles, too!).

Summary: fun place to stay. This is our third time at Buddy's and we've not been disappointed any time. Back again in 2011!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hautevue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews