We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay! We got so much more than we paid for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BonaireFUN Appartments
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! We got so much more than we paid for!”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is one of the less expensive places we found online and it was above and beyond what we were expecting. The owners were extremely easy to contact and ask questions and to and work with. The place was on a quiet street and very secure. Very cute and clean and comfortable. It had a wash bin for scuba gear, places to hang gear and clothes to dry, a cool roof patio type thing, etc etc. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Search Bonaire Fun apartments online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Excellent value, friendly and welcoming service... with a flair of island charm. Roland and Irene are wonderful people and will make your stay one that you will never forget. Location is central-ish and within walking distance to the ocean, dive shops, downtown, and pretty much all that you need. I will definately go back to bonaire fun when I return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garverak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed in the BonaireFUN apartments for 10 days during Jan/Feb 2011 and had an absolutely fabulous experience from start to finish. Our email inquiries before booking were answered right away and Roland and Irene were very helpful creating a dive&drive package tailored to our stay and needs. We arrived late in the evening, and not only was our vehicle still available afterhours but also Roland was at the apartments to greet us. The studio apartment was clean and nicely arranged, with attention to small details such as a few snacks and beverages waiting in the fridge and colorful local art on the wall which really made it welcoming. The apartment complex itself was quiet, safe, nicely set-up, convenient to town and the dive sites, and Roland and Irene were present daily for questions and advice or just to chat - Roland even gave us tips for our continuing trip to the other ABC-islands! All-in-all great hosts, great stay, great experience :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetlagjournals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Nice place to stay with friendly and responsive owners.
The apartments are quite basic but it is for the very reasonable price even in high season. The rooms are clean and you do not have to pay extra for the hot water or a/c at night, what is advertised is all functional. The only one service that was unstable is internet wi-fi but you are getting it as a bonus. For the person like me who comes to a hotel only for a sleep it is what is needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The folks: Roland and Irene (manage & own the place) are great. They are at the location multiple times a day. So should you need anything at all they are there for you. Both are perfect in customer service, help you rent a car, boat or diving trip. Somehow I felt I had my privacey all the time but as soon as I had a question they were on my poarch without ever needing to call or look for them.

The place: The appartments are very clean. The simple but excellent practical design with most furniture built in helps to keep it clean and nice and relatively cold during hot nights. Charming and carefully selected few items of artwork make each appartment individual. All windows are mosquito-screened and can be opened, even in the bathrooms - having a shower and looking at the blue sky or stars. Warm showers, by the way! Sounds silly but not yet a standard at an affordable caribean island resort. The kitchen is fully equippet with a 4-flame gaz stove, microwave and fullsize fridge/freezer unit. The location is perfect, about 3 minutes walking to the closest snorkeling/diving place, couple of minutes more to beach and boat rental. About 15 minutes walking distance to the city center shopping and so on. Restaurants, bars, cafes all along the walk to the city or even closer. The appartments with multiple rooms have all aircon in the bedrooms. The studios have aircon into the living/sleeping room area. As it is off the main road it is quiet at night. It is also very safe, all guest keep the main gate locked all the time, high walls around the complex further help the safety aspects. Each apartments has its nicely by palmtrees hiden patio which gives you a sweet level of privacey. There is a free car park right in front of the buildings for your rental cars, bicycles or scooters can be taken into the complex and parked in front of your appartement. There is a fantastic roof terrasse of the size of the entire complex, you can overlook the interesting tropical weather during the day, sunrise in the morning or beautiful stary nights. Free WiFi.

Summary: Roland and Irene excel in attention to details, where else at this price level do you get free welcome beers in your appartments upon your arrival. Wonderful. You can also see that they are constantely improving the location for their guests. A new plant here, new energy efficient light-fixures there, painting this and that. When I go back to Bonaire I will not look anywhere else. I know where to go.

Bonaire: Great place, the mixture of dutch/european perfectness & the caribean easy way are resulting in a very appealing "melange". While you have a lot of individual freedom and can pretty much do what you like you can at the same time enjoy a very functional infrastructure. It is safe to walk everywhere day and night, I have heard of break-ins at other resorts but not of violance or people being robbed or pick-pocketed. No power failures, perfectly fine drinking water from the tap. Great to see envirnomental engagement too. The last couple of years Bonaire has switched from Diesel-power-stations to, I believe, 16 windmill generators that now deliver the majority of the islands power. The island has a reputation for scuba diving, which for sure is great but it also offers beautiful beaches, plenty of wind for wind or kite surfing, sailing. There is a national park with hills to climb and beautiful bird watching opportunities. I rented a Kayak and paddled to the small bonaire, sensational snorkeling place, turtules, the reef, aquarium alike beautiful colored fishes all around you. You can also take a guided kayak trip through the mangroves (will do next time). The sea salt production is an interesting thing that goes way back in the history of the island and is still active. There are a lot of things to do with your kids, visit the donkey resort or go to one of the very children friendly beaches.

I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebluetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Tropicana BonaireFun Apartments for a dive vacation in Bonaire. It was everything we hoped for. It is a very cute little place ... kind of a southwest courtyard bungalow style design. We had a studio. When we go back, we'll probably get a one bedroom. The place is very clean and has all of the basics that one needs on a dive vacation. It is just a block in from the water and a dive shop (Yellow Submarine). So, that was convenient. The neighborhood was quiet and it was a short walk to the center of town. The owners weren't there on our trip, but they were very helpful nonetheless. They did an excellent job making sure our visit was pleasant and we had resources available should anything come up. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKKKKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Simple, artsy, charming accommodations. Everything one needs in a clean, well-designed studio apartment. Gardens are beautiful. Rooftop views are wonderful. Safe neighborhood. Super host and hostess. I will stay there again for sure and recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boyd_robin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kralendijk hotels
0.0 km away
Caribbean Club Bonaire
Caribbean Club Bonaire
#11 of 21 in Kralendijk
251 reviews
0.0 km away
The DiveHut
The DiveHut
#5 of 21 in Kralendijk
134 reviews
0.0 km away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#4 of 21 in Kralendijk
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hamlet Oasis Resort
Hamlet Oasis Resort
#13 of 47 in Kralendijk
99 reviews
0.0 km away
Eden Beach Resort
Eden Beach Resort
#14 of 21 in Kralendijk
394 reviews
0.0 km away
Den Laman Condominium
Den Laman Condominium
#2 of 47 in Kralendijk
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BonaireFUN Appartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BonaireFUN Appartments

Property: BonaireFUN Appartments
Address: Kaya Dialma 12, Kralendijk 1111, Bonaire
Region: Caribbean > Bonaire > Kralendijk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Kralendijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BonaireFUN Appartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BonaireFUN Appartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BonaireFUN Appartments Bonaire/Kralendijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing