We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good improvements”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My second time at Hotel Nacional. The Hotel has positively evolved in my view, justifying its 5-stars. Breakfast was good, although it is difficult some times to get a good coffee. The rooms were very nicely equipped, with a full minibar, very clean, plenty of towels (my first time there towels were a big issue).
Staff is very friendly and professional.
However, you have to pay for the gym (even if you stay at the hotel) and incredibly the best parking lots are reserved for the hotel staff, so guests have to look deep inside for a parking space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Malecon side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,703
    2,110
    983
    356
    193
See reviews for
750
2,399
323
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

good location in vedado,
nice rooms, but could do with room freshener,
the shower recess fell of the wall every time i used it
cheap drinks
unpleasant breakfast buffet

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
211 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hotel in itself is an institution with a long and colorful history. The executive floor is woth the price, but do not stress about an 'ocean view'. Does not mean anything as the hotel is situated in a huge park and all rooms have decent views. The hotel has everything, bars, restaurants, shows, concerts, pools etc. etc. In Europe the standard would have been 4 stars, and there are other hotels on Cuba really being 5 stars (f ex the Melia hotels), but the atmosphere compensate for a lot of the other elements; a bit tired and in need for repairs and refurbishments. The service were efficient and professional, cleaning excellent and price levels for chows and concerts average (35 C for show and 25 for concert including a mohito, of course!)
One drawback is the distance from the old, historic part of Havanna. You need to take a taxi (2011, on average 5 c) to get to the more interesting places.
In essence, a great experience, but if I should visit Havanna again, I would select a hotel in the downtown area where you have walking distance to attractions, restaurants and bars

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here in August 2011. The lobby area was lovely and I had high hopes as it is definitely the most famous hotel in Havana. I should not have got my hopes up! The room was pretty bland and not very comfortable. On the plus point, there were lots of towels and decent little toiletries. However, the hairdryer was dangerous and kept sparking. We were in a rush as we had plans so I rang reception who sent a non-English speaking made up. She said someting about electricity and left. So I rang reception again and they said an electrician would come, when I asked when I got told that they didn't know and then they hung up!!! ..... I went out with wet hair. It still wasn't fixed the next morning - how hard would it be to supply a spare hairdryer?!! The plus all looked pretty old, losse and unsafe in the room too.

The bar was good, lovely strawberry dacquiris but the bar staff took the mickey on cigar prices, lying amount the cost and then charging double once they were lit!! I didn't argue this, I just became wary.

The dinner and breakfast in the buffet restaurant were ok - the usual buffet standard.

Our phone rang several times throughout the night, 3am, 4am etc - Very odd - apparently this happened to a few people!?!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixster722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My stay at the Hotel Nacional was very nice. The rooms are not fancy, however they are clean, cool & cozy. My only complaint about the rooms is that the water in the shower can become incredibly hot! about 100 celsius and the water temperature is quite irregular. My head was badly burned during my first shower there. The food from room service is not very good...expect your order to be incorrect & hot food will most likely be cold. The pools are lovely and clean. The courtyard is very nice & at night they have free live performances outside. Cuban dancers & singers will entertain you while you enjoy a cocktail & a nice cigar. The Cabaret Parisian is in the Hotel and it is a wonderful show. Colorful, vibrant & intriguing (also about half the price of the Cabaret Tropicana) The hotel offers access to computers with internet for a low cost & international calls.(TIME YOUR PHONE CALL YOURSELF and do the math on a calculator!!!! The people working there will try to steal from you! always look at the call log receipt!)
EXTRA Info:
Also, stop off on the second floor. You will find the rooms where famous actors and professionals stayed from the 1920's to the 1950's. The original tile is still intact & it is lovely to see.
The Hotel charges a daily rate to use the in-room safe.
There is a Rum & Cigar lounge /shop and few clothing boutiques a travel agency
You can change currency in two locations in the Hotel.
The breakfast buffet looked ok but I did not try anything.
Have a look at the salons around the corner from the lobby. They are beautifully frozen in time.

Room Tip: Try to request a room on the courtyard side...you will have a beautiful view of the courtyard and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWorldExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at the Nacional at the start of our honeymoon in Cuba.

First impressions
Well the hotel is certainly very grand from the outside. It has a large, palm tree-lined driveway with uniformed doormen waiting outside. The reception area is delightful - a real piece of 1930s history. The receptionists were efficient, helpful and kind.

The room
A good size, although oddly had to large single beds rather than one double. The room has a large fitted wardrobe, chest of drawers, dressing table, two mini rocking chairs and a television (16 channels, two in English). The en suite was basic with quite an old shower.

Food and drink
The hotel has a number of bars and I would thoroughly recommend going to the Nacional's 'Parisien Cabaret'. Cocktails were well-made and the measures generous. The food in the restaurant was good but the provided breakfast was very basic and, to be honest, not especially nice.

Location
The hotel is located in New Havana and so is a five minute taxi ride (at a cost of 5CUC - about £3.00) to the historic Old Havana. There isn't a great deal around the hotel but the gardens do offer great views over the sea.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Nacional and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Lifts can be dodgy - don't get the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNACIONAL, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Customer of the Tripadvisor,
First of all, I want you to say thank you due to your opinions about our services, what we let know to the rest of the employees. We thank you for chose The National Hotel during your stay in Havana.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a happy stay between us. These opinions help the hotel management to keep the service standards, which are the ones which make you, chose us for your next visité
Respectfully
Belkis bero
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Loved staying here, purely for the fact it is right opposite the iconic Havana sea wall.
Only stayed one night as part of a two day organised excursion from our All Inclusive resort. Hotel is a fairly short cab ride into the main tourist/historic areas, but its worth walking along the sea wall which should only take you about 20 minutes.
Rooms are OK if not a little dated but kept clean. The public areas are impressive and you get a real sense of history. The food is good and the drinks are reasonably priced(compared to european standards).
Havana is a colouful but poor city. People are generally friendly and keen to talk to visitors and give you their point of view of the world and their country. There is a minor level of harrasment from people deparate for US dollars or tourist pesos. The city is generally safe, although I would use the normal street smarts when moving round the city at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of sea wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popeyeNqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
7.3 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
0.1 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
2.2 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
7.0 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Property: Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exceptional location in the very center of the city of Havana, facing the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the entrance to the Bay of the capital; with a rich and surprising history, combining: milestones; the validity of our history and national culture, have done that since its inauguration in 1930 has welcomed countless personalities of world history, culture, science, sport and politics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nacional de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing