We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Interesting Old Hotel W/Great View!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nacional de Cuba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
486 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Interesting Old Hotel W/Great View!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed six nights in the Hotel Nacional, after staying four nights in Cienfuegos at the Hotel Jagua, as part of a ten day tour of Cuba. It has a very interesting history, from its glamour days before the Cuban Missile Crisis, and its survival of the years to now. As far as being a comfortable hotel, and a first rate world class hotel, it is not. It is comfortable but is no longer world class. The bathroom fixtures are old and tired, the bed was old and tired, and I got a couple of bites from something during the stay. It was centrally located for our tour group and a wonderful place to watch the sunrise come up over the Malecon! I used it as a spectacular backdrop for photos of old cars as they passed on the street below along the Malecon. The peacocks that strutted around the property were interesting.

I enjoyed the view from the veranda and the entertainment each afternoon before dinner. I had breakfast each morning in the lobby level breakfast area rather than the "upscale" restaurant downstairs. There was never a crowd and the food was sufficient and similar to what one would find in an American mid-level hotel. Every time I ate there I would hear the voice of the tour guide saying that for ever tourist meal that the hotel served, that was one meal not available to the average Cuban.

Staff were generally attentive and polite except for the breakfast service. When food ran out, there were no replacements brought out.

When ranked against hotels in Europe or the US, and even South America, the hotel falls short as a good hotel. However, I rank it high for its historic past and its spectacular location above the Malecon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    1,953
    896
    332
    177
See reviews for
676
2,219
300
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Having arrived after a long journey we had to queue for about an hour to check although when we got to be front it only took a couple of minutes! Our room did smell a bit musty at first but once you open the window it's fine! The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom, yes it's dated but it's full of nostalgia! No need for air con as no humidity. The hotel is very busy a bit like a train station! The garden areas are lovely and great for a few drinks, they have peacocks around the grounds which is nice . I must tell you the breakfast is mental! Total chaos and nothing edible but quite entertaining!!! Be prepared! Also the food in the hotel is pretty bad so would eat elsewhere if you can, I had read reviews but thought people were being picky but it's pretty awfull! Overall I liked the hotel and the atmosphere is nice just a shame about the food! It's not 5 star but it's Cuba and its still fab!!! :)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JILL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Room was not 5* quality as advertised; curtains showed real wear and tear; when airco was not on damp smell was noticed! carpets wear and tear; bathroom had recently been done up as paint spots on the tiles and bath tub showed; there was something with the water pressure as shower gave a drizzle.
Now the positive; travel into the 1920-1950! and you will love it.
Breakfast buffet was extensive but no fresh pressed juice! or at least I did not spot it.
Outside restaurant Baraccada was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloggie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My third time in the Hotel Nacional. I have stayed this time 9 days. Arrived late at night and was told in the reception that they were going to give a "nice" room, but I needed to move the following day to another one (in the category I paid), since they didn't have a room for me: i refused and after a short argument, I was given a room without needing to move.
The room, in the 7th floor, view to the city (not to the sea), was clean, with a very well furnished minibar.
The hotel was terribly crowded and sometimes there were big lines to get into the cafeteria for breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floors with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoMiHevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was the first destination of my Cuban trip, so I had no idea about the hotels in Cuba. So I thought it was average, but after a week in Cuba, I understand that the Nacional is a high end for this country.

Generally the hotel has a nice entrance, old but nostalgic lobby, very attractive garden. The rooms are comperatively comfortable. We even had a 32" Samsung plasma TV which is not common in Cuba.

The location of the hotel is decent but a bit far away from the center. On the other hand you can enjoy couple of nice night clubs in 5-10 min walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days. Service was not very good for us(they said someone would be sent up to open the safe, and it took about 30 mins and extra phone calls. ) Food in the buffet, and the pool are the only good things about this place.
Overall, not worth the stay, only a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was in Havana for 6 days and stayed at this beautiful historic hotel. The curving driveway entrance and beautiful lobby entrance is filled with charm and historical architecture. The rooms were ok- I was on the 4th floor which felt a bit damp but once you put your key card in the indoor slot (inside the room to activate electricity and AC) it was fine. The room was a good size for one person- two would be ok as well. It was clean, though the carpet could use a good shampoo. Front desk staff was helpful, as well as doormen. Changing money in the lobby is easy, was able to get some last minute gift items on the lobby level gift shop; also a liquor store on this level. In basement two more shops, great breakfast buffet; great pool side- enjoyed many a Mojitos and Cuba Libres at on site bar. Good distance from Old Havana and tourist attractions - you need a taxi. Neighborhood not dangerous but be a smart traveler. Evening entertainment from 6pm to about 11pm on the large back "veranda".

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool or the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diaspora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 km away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Property: Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Address: Calle 21 y O | Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Business Hotel in Havana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nacional de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Also Known As:
Nacional De Cuba Hotel
Nacional De Cuba Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing