We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
11
35
77
57
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
35
77
57
47
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Location was great! Close to everything. The staff didn´t speak much english but was friendly and helpful. Our room was on the top floor so nice views to the city. Room was clean, there was hot water and a working AC. It´s dated. It was the only hotel we stayed in our 2 week Cuba holiday. We booked the first night there because if anybody in the border wanted an adress we had one to give. All the casas we stayed later were much cheaper, nicer, newer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kaire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We booked this hotel last minute based upon it's location and the fact there was not a 3 or 4 star hotel available in Old Havana! It is within 5 minutes of Old Havana, including sights such as the Capitol building and the Museum of the Revolution.
The city itself is stunning, great people, wonderful things to see.
Sercotel Lido is on a residential street one block behind the main street. It's sixties frontage does not improve inside. Staff were friendly on arrival and check in was easy. The reception area was a smoke filled room with a bar that could be straight out of a seventies cheesy movie; neon lights, tv blaring and plastic palm trees. We were led down a concrete corridor to our adjoining rooms on the first floor as they don't have family rooms. Utterly depressing.
The rooms are small and very basic. The smell was musty and the air conditioning unit was loud and noisy. We had wooden shutters on the windows, our view was a brick wall directly outside. No glass. The bathroom/shower room was clean which was a relief, just don't use the shower curtain!
The only saving grace was breakfast; it is on a roof terrace with a clear view of the Capitol building which is lovely in the early morning. Fresh omelette is the best option otherwise it's meat, cheese and pastries.
It served our purpose but having two children i would not stay again. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: higher floor may have a view over the neighboring brick wall or choose a room at the front if there are any.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

We were trapped here for four nights and it was less than average. What was probably a magnificent hotel back in the 1950's is now a shadow of its former self. Small pokey rooms. Filthy dirty floors. No hot water. Noisy elevator that echoes throughout the building. The towels were disgraceful. The first night my towel had skid marks on it. The second night my towel was covered in grease marks. Really yucky. Breakfast was the only saving grace for this place !!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelsDaGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017

We were put in a small room with two twin beds although we paid for three of us. The room had a broken window in the bathroom leading resulting in mosquitoes entering room. The room had a terrible smell of mold. The street level noise continued throughout the night, including women walking in pairs (prostitution ?) dressed scantily. Surrounding buildings dilapidated. Walk in the middle of the street or risk debris falling on your head. Breakfast was meager. Only positive feature is that they repaired the AC on the spot and it was within walking distance to Parque Central. We left after one night and got a room near the Malecon.

Room Tip: Balcony with a view to dilapidated buildings and street noise all night long.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnecticutGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2017

After we had reached Lido Hotel it turned out that there was no room available for us. Security didn't even let the taxi driver unload our luggage. They handed us a sheet of paper redirecting us to another hotel that was located 8 km away from the city centre. We chose Lido Hotel for a reason - we wanted to stay in the city centre. We didn't even hear any kind apology from the hotel employees. After we had got to the offered hotel, we were told that they have a room for us only for two nights ( our booking was for 6 nights) and that we need to sort out the rest of our stay with Lido Hotel. We got a taxi and returned to Lido. They were surprised because they had thought that they got read of us for good. We started demanding from the management to sort the problem. The manager ( Hosier - ?) wasn't very interested in talking to us. After an argument he promised to us that if we stay two nights in that other hotel, he will have a room for us ready in Lido Hotel and that he would send a car for us at a set time. We agreed. Of course, the car never arrived. After checking out and waiting for nearly two hours we took a taxi and got to Lido Hotel taking our luggage with us. It turned out that still they had no room available for us. Again, they redirected us to another hotel and the manager of Lido Hotel didn't even spare us a minute of his time. We ended up in Caribbean Hotel where we weren't able to check in for another 4 hours. All of that is absolutely unacceptable and outrageous. We booked a hotel through Travel Republic well ahead of our trip and didn't get what we paid for. We had planned every minute of our 6 day long stay in Havana and we ended up with a wasted time, ruined holiday and a lot of stress. We will never use Lido Hotel again nor the Travel Republic. There will be no recommendation to anybody- on the contrary - we will discourage people of using both. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank annarafal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews