We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Atlantico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Ranked #55 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel Atlantico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We researched this hotel on tripadvisor.ca. It more than filled our need for a holiday trip to Havana for the following reasons:
*We specifically wanted to avoid the "resort" type, cloistered experience and have closer interaction with the local culture.
*We wanted to spend the bulk of our time in the city of Havana but did not want to be trapped in a downtown hotel. Hotel Atlantico offers daily free shuttle service to old Havana. The trip is under 1/2 hour each way.
*This hotel offers an "all inclusive" package in conjunction with Sunwing, So, travel, accommodation, meals and drinks were taken care of for a very reasonable package price.
*We also wanted to spend down time on the beach. The hotel is situated on beautiful ocean front with a well kept & safe beach.
Food was healthy with fruit and deserts always plentiful. However, do not expect the variety found in the five star resorts. The hotel is showing it's age a bit, but was spotlessly clean at all times. the rooms and beds were spacious and comfortable. Above all, the AC worked flawlessly and there was always plenty of hot water available. This is something I did not consistently find in some of the four & five star resorts we've stayed at in recent years. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and always willing to assist. The live music provided by local musicians was another pleasant surprise, when compared to the pre-packaged and staged entertainment we found on the big resorts.
Hotel Atlantico filled our needs and then some. I would gladly return when irresistible Havana calls again. So, if you are looking to explore rather than stay behind the walls of a remote resort, this hotel is indeed a viable alternative.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so depending on your physical capabilities, choose a room on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sharkster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    148
    148
    76
    71
See reviews for
88
184
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Before booking our first trip to Cuba we did some research on Trip Advisor of the Hotel with close proximity of Havana. After reading a review that Oluf of Coquitlam, BC had written we decided that the Atlantico Hotel was the place for us. He was also very helpful in answering questions that we had regarding the Hotel.

Upon arrival we had requested a room on the third floor in the adjacent building with the convenient store. We were given Rom 323 the last room at the end of the building with a view from our balcony of the ocean, tennis court and a quiet street. Our room was very quiet at all times and quite spacious and decorated nicely with twin beds which suited us nicely. The bathroom was also quite adequate with lots of hot water. After entering our room with the Bellhop, we were greeted warmly by our chambermaid Marta. She looked after us well and kept our room very clean. A couple from Brazil that we met at the hotel had mentioned to Marta that is was my birthday without our knowledge. That afternoon after arriving back from Havana with the shuttle on entering our room we found a beautiful bouquet waiting for me. This was very thoughtful of her and found her to be a lovely person.

The beach in front of the Hotel is amazing and stretched on for many miles. We are not beach people, don't enjoy lying in the hot sun but loved the long walks, and on a few occasions walked all the way to the next town Guanabo. A nice little town to explore with Restaurants and Bars, and always music around us. Along the way there were many parts of the beach where the locals enjoy swimming and family picnics. They were very friendly and would often invite us to join them. There was also a gay friendly beach which was quite popular with mostly young men.

The food at the Coralino Buffet Restsurant at the Hotel we liked quite well. At Breakfast we were usually the first ones and immediately an omelette was prepared for my husband and I had the perfect fried eggs. After that we never had to order again since the eggs were prepared from then automatically. The cook was very friendly and excellent service! There was always a variety of exotic fruit at all meals, delicious bread, buns and pastry which were plentiful. At lunch and dinner they usually grilled fish, chicken or pork which was excellent. A few times they cooked chicken with potatoes in a slow cooker which was the best I've had. There was also fresh vegetable as well as delicious cooked vegetables such as sweet potatoes, squash and other root vegetable. There was also pasta with sauce which was ok as well. Excellent Spanish red wine was served at all meals upon request and our glass filled up often if desired. Graciela and Jose, our servers were fantastic, always watching for us to arrive at 1:30pm when the shuttle was due to arrive to have our favorite table available.

We ate quite often at the El Caribeno, the specialty restaurant where we ordered the fish dinner and seafood soup each time. My husband is not excited about eating fish but this he loved and hoping that I could make it at home to taste the same. The fish dinner is excellent and highly recommend it to others.

After spending two weeks here we got to know most of the staff and entertainers personally which was great.
The musicians and dancers were very good and we enjoyed the shows each evening. Dancing with the staff, guests and some of the entertainers in the Buffet Restaurant on a couple of occasions was pretty awesome. This would only happen in a small intimate hotel like the Atlantico. A German couple we met could not get over the warmth and outgoing friendly manner of the musician which I'm sure is only displayed in Cuba.

The only staff member we were not happy with was the woman bartender ( bar manageress?) at the pool bar. It made no difference in her attitude whether you paid her 100CUC for two half filled plastic cups of beer or not. She demonstrated absolutely no warmth at all. If you requested ice for a drink most times she would rudely say that there is none. After a couple of trips to her bar with poor service we did not return. I would hate to request a snack in the afternoon from her which we never did. From then on we went to the Lobby Bar where the cuppuccinos and drinks were served with a smile and the bartenders there were always friendly and happy to serve us.

We had a wonderful vacation in Cuba, loved the country, the people where amazing and especially liked the Atlantico Hotel. It was a great way to celebrate my 70th Birthday which was a memorable one.

We recommed this Hotel for anyone wanting to be in close proximity to Havana with a free Shuttle leaving the Hotel twice a day. The shuttle driver was pleasant and very punctual so you must be on time. We booked reservations for the shuttle every day for a week at a time to ensure that there was room for us every day. A good idea to book ahead if planning to go often. Good tipping to everyone in the Hotel was reciprocated with excellent service and greatly appreciated.

Thank you to all the staff at the Atlantico for making our stay a special one. We will be sure to return in the future.

Room Tip: The adjacent building with the convenient store. 3rd floor, liked 323 which has view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you want 5 star stay away. This property is a very clean 3 to 3 1/2 star inside. and a very clean 3 star out side. Pool area is a little dated but enjoyed the swim every day. Great beach 10 steps from the pool. Buffet looked like all Cuba Buffets but tasted very good. Took the 9:30 shuttle into Havana every day. home by 1:30 in time for lunch and a swim in the ocean. Hotel was built in the 50s and shows its age but it is kept very clean and is the best beach front Hotel with in 20 kilometers of Havana. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miltyj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our check-in at 5:30 a.m. was not pleasant. It took three tries to get a room we could tolerate. The clerk and the fellow who took us to the rooms were pleasant enough but the process of finding a room at that time of the morning was disappointing. Some of the rooms smelled very strong of old grey-water as did various locations in the resort. The plumbing fixtures were very corroded and stained and the floors and furniture in the rooms were dirty, although bed linens were fresh and changed daily. The air-conditioning was smelly and noisy and there's a vent that goes up through all the bathrooms so you can hear everything in all the bathrooms from floor to floor. If you are used to North American food, you won't be able to eat here - my husband lost 5 lbs. (on vacation!). They say there are 3 restaurants but the snack bar at the pool has only a bread roll and maybe some ham and cheese. The dining room (reserve a day ahead!) has a choice of three meats (chicken is thigh and leg only) and comes with rice and a vegetable. The buffet is not very clean and all food is cold unless you have an omlette which is made right there. None of the food is identified so, if it's not obvious, it's a guess as to what it is. The beach is very beautiful (can be windy though) and, apparently, people from various areas come specifically to the two public beaches on either side of the resort. The free shuttle to Havana requires a reservation at least one day ahead (sometimes two) and is a very nice ride into the city. We could see that there were efforts being made to up-date and clean and we are glad we went but would try different accomodation next time!

Room Tip: The rooms with views of the beach do not get afternoon sun on the balconies. Also, the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedRambler220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We took a 7 day package from Sunwing and it was pretty good. Flights departed and arrived ontime and SunWing service was excellent. As we were the only ones going to the Atlantico we were picked up and delivered by taxi.

As others have said, the Atlantico is the best of both worlds. Great sand and location - Havana is accesible by the several/day free shuttle which made exploring Havana great.

The food is simple fare, plentiful and while somewhat limited, the bar grill restaurant and the restaurant in the hotel (both require reservations) are very good. Fresh fish is great. The red wine from Spain was surprisingly good and we must apologize to the hotel for drinking more than our share.

The rooms are clean, not overly well equipped but then this is a resort 3 star. Efforts to repaint were evident and appreciated.

The staff are the high point especially if one tips for service. Toiletries, and other items as gifts are very much appreciated. Check in and out was seemless.

We had a great time and we will return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

It's my first time in Cuba. The weather was wonderful with averqge 25 C everyday for this time ---Cuba's winter. We spent our most time in La Havana. This hotel has a nice beach with clean water and white sand. It has shuttle bus to Havana with only about 30 minutes away. It's not a fancy hotel with large group of people but it's fairly good for people who like to have a quiet and relaxing place.

Room Tip: Does not really matter. Pretty much same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear customer:

We are pleased that your stay at our facility led him to express a good experience with the hotel and its collective bargaining agreement. We thank our readers to share their experiences. Your opinion is always respected by management and validated to improve our services. We wish you a happy new year and hope to see again in our country.

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Complejo Atlántico Villa los Pinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Review - Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Package booked with Sunwing, travelled end of January, out of Ottawa.

Flight there: The plane left Ottawa a little late. The usual Sunwing services were provided, choice of Chicken & Rice or Veg Pasta. We both had the chicken; its airplane food, it was edible. The pilot announced we were going to be landing earlier than anticipated, thus depriving our pallets the taste of coffee.

Landed and disembarked at the Varadero airport, without incident. Queuing through Immigration and Security was speedy and also easy. Collecting our luguage took some time. Despite our 22:00 arrival time, the airport was fully staffed, as were the beer cart guys and the Tour Reps directing people to their buses. It all made for a very simple and quiet arrival to Cuba.

The transfer to the hotel was quick, with only one stop before ours.

The staff at the front desk wore friendly smiles and were pleasant and helpful. The bell-hop helped our tired selves get our suitcases to our first floor room.

The room was clean and smelled aired. The magnetic lock on the door needed to be treated just right to open the door for you, but always did let us in. The room, its balcony, air-conditioner and bathroom were all sufficient. Nothing fancy, but more than adequate, and everything in good repair. Our room, as mentioned, was on the first floor. We were in the part of the resort that jutted out from the lobby towards the road. We were located above the resort store, with a view of the front gate guard hut. Despite being near the roadway and within line of sight of the front doors, it was never noisy. There was always something to see from the comfort of our balcony, a.k.a. front porch.

We were greeted by the over-night bartender with an offer of ham and cheese sandwiches. Something it seems they do for guests arriving very late at night. Having changed into shorts, sandals and unpacked our travel mugs, we settled in to the breeze-way off the lobby, the smoking area, for the first of many nights of people watching. The bartenders in the 24 hour bar are great. They are pleasant, polite, helpful and accommodating spanish teachers. The ladies in the pool bar, and the guy who manned the piano bar (Look for the room with a large big screen tv... it sits on the covered, namesake, piano) are also great people. The addition of diet soda and ice to their selection of offerings would probably be appreciated, but add more rum, you’ll get over it. The coffee was always great, and both our travel mugs and reusable water bottles were always happily filled.

The food was simple, bordering on ick some days. I can survive on anything, but a fussy eater might be hard pressed to satiate their hunger. Breakfast had the expected omelette station with all the trimmings, and a smile. Most expected breakfast fare was available, pancake, toast, scrambled eggs, fruit, etc. The menu did not include bacon for the duration of our stay.

Between breakfast and lunch, and again between lunch and dinner, there were cheese sandwiches or hotdog and cheese sandwiches, both made on a grill (though not quite long enough to melt the cheese... Have more rum). The odd day we had ham or beef patties to accompany cheese as well.

Lunch for us, consisted of tomato and cucumber salad (some days with choice of lettuce, most days not), fresh bread, cheese and boiled eggs. There was a few hot dishes to choose from, most refreshed leftovers from breakfast and the previous day’s dinner, some more inviting than others. Dinner offerings in the buffet were similar but included freshly made fish or chicken from the grill station and a pasta station. There were a few dinner components that were just wonderful, though these rarely appeared more than once, with the exception of the grilled white fish fillets. A must have that was available most nights. Late diners would find themselves with less selection, if at all, in the case of the aforementioned ‘good’ dishes. But there could usually be bread and desserts to be found. We didn’t starve, nor did we lose weight. The ‘a la carte’ in the main building, if available, has a very nice chicken salad appetizer and an excellent fish main course. Staff in all the venues were courteous and helpful without exception.

The shuttle to Havana was punctual, reliable, and convenient. It was also fast and air-conditioned. You need to book your seat on the bus the day before, there were a few occasions when all the seats were spoken for. Taxis are available and will run you $15 CUC (or less, if you haggle) for a one way trip, in either direction, between the resort and the City.

The pool was clean but rather cold. There did not seem to have been a shortage of loungers, though shaded ones were at a premium. The beach area was well kept and large enough to suit. There were also plenty of loungers there, and more shaded area to be had.

If you want a beach side resort from which to explore Havana, this would be your best, all-inclusive, low cost, choice.

We will likely return, the proximity to Havana, its reasonable cost, and reliable shuttle, can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shnoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear customer:
It is a pleasure to receive your assessment of the facility and stay that way with the entire staff. We welcome your comments and we know that magnifies your holidays in this simple but cozy place meet your expectations. We work on the continuous improvement of our staff, we seek comfort for our customers either in the maintenance, cleanliness, good service in our bars and restaurant and the quality of our product and others to ensure our customers deserved instance by choosing us.

It is true that reading a positive view of our facility enhances our staff was able to perceive and articulate each of the services provided describing pleasantly and providing certain information to our future that are reported by travelers to choose their holiday TRIPADVISOR do that we remain eternally grateful to his sincerity, naturalness and confidence for the Hotel Atlantico.

We welcome your comments and we would be very happy to receive again. At your disposal are left.

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Complejo Atlántico Villa los Pinos
Gran Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
27.5 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
27.9 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
27.4 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
21.0 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
24.6 km away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#40 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Club Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Property: Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Address: Ave de las Terrazas | Santa Maria del Mar. Habana del este, Havana 10900, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Caribe Club Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Caribe Club Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico Hotel Havana
Gran Caribe Hotel Atlantico
Gran Caribe Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing