We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nasty night porter and the phantom nightclub”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The nasty night porter and the phantom nightclub”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here for a week at the begining of January. We travelled with our 4 year old son. We arrived quite late at night and while the check in itself was uneventful what followed was probably the most unpleasant thing we have encountered on holiday in a long time. The night porter literally wrenched our bags out of our hands and took them off to our room. Room 1 (important for later). He more or less threw the bags into the room and then stuck out his hand and said "tip". At this point we had no cuban money at all. My husband explained, in Spanish that we had no local currency. He then said "Sterling or Euro". I was trying to put our son to bed at this time. My husband said no please leave. He just stared at my husband very agressively and said "No". If we had not been so jet lagged I'm sure I could have come and diffused the situation but just to make the man leave (who was a big and fit guy) my husband dug around in my purse to find some english change (which is completely useless in cuba). The porter put it in his pocket, sneered at my husband and left. We really felt quite shaken as this was our welcome to Cuba. Other than that the hotel was reasonable unremarkable except 2 things. The phantom night club! Anywhere (completly unpredictable) between 9.30 pm and 4am nightclub music would suddenly start up from what sounded like the wardrobe. It was so loud literally the bed would shake and our son would wake up screaming. Bizarre. Secondly the breakfast. While there is plenty of food you never quite know what is going to come out of the kitchen as it is largely made up from what wasnt eaten by the large tour groups that visit the day before. Its perfectly edible but just a little strange in choice. The room was not clean by european standards (the same piece of dental floss left by a previous resident was there all week and if you lifted the rug you found where they had swept the rubbish)! but it was OK. The sheets were clean and there was a matress protector on the bed. The public areas are very pleasant and you are in a great spot. Would I stay here again - possibly but I would not stay in room 1 and I would be ready for the night porter!

Room Tip: Avoid room one if you like to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    250
    201
    72
    72
See reviews for
94
384
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for several days in late December and early January, the extremely high season.
The hotel location was perfect; although a short walk to Parque Central and more expensive hotels, the hustlers were not at our hotel. There was major hustling near the central hotels.
Breakfast was good, service excellent and the room was perfect!
Reading some reviews makes me wonder whether we were at the same place. Rude receptionist? Not a one. On the contrary, they were courteous and helpful.
Requests were promptly responded to. They do overbook as does every hotel in Cuba; it is the system and one needs to adjust to it and even find it part of learning about a different culture.
We plan on returning to Cuba in June and will stay here when in Havana. Our major time will be a beach outside of Trinidad.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Srbellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Florida in November. We traveled with a 9 month old baby. The hotel is beautiful, romantic and has a great location. We upgraded to a gorgeous suite (#107). Good service and friendly, helpful staff. Good atmosphere and live music during lunch hours.

When you go to Cuba, don´t expect new, modern facilities. Accept the standard for what it is, and enjoy the magical atmosphere of the beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Don't believe the hype - this is no boutique hotel… It is a tired shadow of some former glory and not worth the money!

From the moment we attempted to check in, the fiasco started. We were told there were no rooms by a rude and disinterested receptionist (despite booking the hotel weeks previously) and sent to another hotel in the group on the edge of the docks. We were told that there would be a room the next day and after a night in a windowless, dirty room with no hot water (steer clear of the Santander hotel) and a breakfast that you wouldn't feed a dog, we walked back with our bags (no offer of a cab) to hopefully secure what we paid for - a beautiful room in a historic, restored hotel…

When we returned the next day - the same routine - a rude receptionist who made us feel like we were an annoyance. Eventually we were led to another room in an adjoining but different hotel once again with no window (and low ceiling despite a claim of high ceilings and charming original features) and single beds (we requested a double for what it's worth). We spent the next two nights here, avoided an equally awful breakfast and checked out regretting the money we'd spent on this disaster of a hotel.

And to top it all off, the bell-boy (having already been told how disappointed we were) demanded a tip for seeing us to our room even though we insisted carrying our one backpack.

So, where did they go so wrong? Maybe a smile or some useful and accurate information would be good. The hotel couldn't even provide us with a basic map of the historic area. Internet was impossible. Forget a wake up call (a fellow guest tried requesting one of these mysterious events to a completely blank expression on the face of the staff). I really can't think of anything to recommend about this hotel.

As for the location - yes, it's ok but so is the location of a plethora of other much more worthy establishments. Steer clear, save your money and enjoy Cuba - it's amazing!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Largs
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is strategically a spectacularly well located hotel. The architecture is a pleasing colonial style and the communal areas are well kept.

Then why only three stars? The reason being one thing, room 101. Firstly a plate of food was still left in our room when we checked in, half eaten by the previous guests.

Some might say we were conveniently located on the ground floor, especially for night owls, right next to the niteclub and the hotel toilets. I could hear people heading home around 1.30am. In addition there is access from two streets so there was a lot of coming and going all night.

Then there was the most bizarre incident that woke me up at 4.30am. Now I swear it sounded like a horse outside my room so I leapt up openend the door and half expected it to see it clip clopping by but was too late. Either that or guy in some big Cuban heels happened to be strutting by just at that moment! (I had abstained from the Mojitos all day so couldn't blame the drink).

The breakfast was ok but I was not at my freshest and most alert to appreciate it following the events of the previous night. When we commented on our room the receptionist agreed that sir did indeed not have the best room. At least she's honest and this being Cuba hope you're not in a hurry to catch a flight as checking in and out is a bit of a drawn out process.
Great hotel, terrible room.

Room Tip: any special requests ask for them on the day, do not email as inevitably this information will not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Good rooms and location. Breakfast rather poor. Excellent location and very handy for the Old city.

Room Tip: Get a front room on the main street. May be noisy but it has an atmosphere that you will appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

As it was our first trip to Cuba I wasnt quite sure what to expect of anything, so we decided to stay in a hotel instead of a Casa Particulare (sp?). As it turns out, our reservation at the Hotel Raquel wasnt the best way to go so we left after only one night. Hotel Florida was full, but they really wanted to help us so they gave us a suite at the price of a regular room!! The hotel is amazingly beautiful, air conditioned, spotlessly clean, and the staff was incredibly helpful in every way without being pushy! Comfortable beds, hot water, the perfect location, and great food all added to what was a perfect experience in Havana!
The down side is the price of the rooms, which can be as high as many hotels here in Los Angeles.... but given the last minute accomodations, and the certainty of having a clean, close and nice place to sleep it was well worth it! We might be more adventurous when returning to Cuba, but will never not consider Hotel Florida!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
3.1 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#34 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#39 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
9.4 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Havana
Hotel Florida Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing