We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Private rooms Mylena y Otto
Ranked #61 of 711 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Mylena and Otto were wonderful hosts on our trip to Cuba this past winter.They made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of local information. The room with the balcony was wonderful and the breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. I recommend staying with Mylena and Otto. They were the best and very helpful with our travel plans.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luisa921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our stay with Mylena and Otto was perfect. They are friendly hosts and go out of their way to help you. They are respectful of privacy but also happy to have a chat about most things especially good places to go/see. They also booked our accommodation in Trinidad for us (another lovely casa particular). Their apartment has amazing views and there are shops nearby. The coffee we had at their house was amazing too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Located in a large airy apartment on the 3rd floor so be prepared for a hike up the stairs. The hosts have excellent English, and are very welcoming, including talking you through the finer points of Havana, life transport and sightseeing. Breakfast as always in Cuba was large and well served in the balcony.

It is worth saying that Mylena and Otto really went the extra mile. They gave us free tea and toast on the morning of the day we left even though we had run out of money, they allowed us to leave out bags in the room after we had checked out so we could go and enjoy our last day of holiday. Then on our return we were given more tea and allowed to use the shower before going to the airport. Then as a parting gift we were given a Che 3peso coin as a memento.

Lovely people, good location and worth every penny

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed with Mylena and Otto for 3 nights. After making the booking in the internet we received an email from Otto providing information on the way to their place, together some tips on Havana, which was very kind and helpful because we knew that somebody is expecting us (in contrary to some bookings that we could hardly hear from the host).

We arrived after dark and could not find the place, Otto was so kind to go down to meet us. When we left at 4am, Otto got up to check if we were ok and made us some tea. Mylena could even remember our choices on egg and got us some tea for the breakfast!

Re the room, we had the room connects to the balcony, the room was clean and spacious. For the bathroom, it was spotless! I am not used to a share bathroom but I have to say it was so clean that made me feel very ok.

I would recommend the casa without hesitation. And I definitely would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hofami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Mylena and Otto are great hosts. Their local knowledge is useful and they will tell you the best and cheapest ways to get to central Havana. For a small charge, Mylena will prepare breakfast (plenty of fruit, coffee and bread) to set you up for the day. You can have breakfast on the balcony. The apartment is located in the quieter suburbs, but is easily reached by foot (40min stroll) or taxi from the centre. The bedroom was clean and secure with fan and air-con.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Helpful and welcoming even with our 3 AM arrival; very good English and patient with our limited Spanish. Smallish but adequate room. Good location. Fantastic breakfast on the patio. Hard to ask for much more!

We stayed here at the start of our trip, and when we called to reserve for our last night, they were booked. Otto helped us arrange to stay with his neighbor (see Casa Petronila) who is Spanish-only, but who we also liked very much.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Staying in Havana with hosts Mylena and Otto was an amazing experience. The location was fantastic and easy to get around, we felt all the time even when walking around at night. Mylena and Otto took the time out to show us a map and help us out with any queries we had, plus their breakfasts were the best we had on our whole trip (Coffee was the BEST). If you want to stay in a hassle free Casa and enjoy your stay in Havana, i would recommend this place! 10/10.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rydog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.0 km away
La Colonial 1861
La Colonial 1861
#16 of 711 in Havana
415 reviews
3.7 km away
Casa Natacha
Casa Natacha
#154 of 711 in Havana
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Casa Familia Martinez Lopez
2.1 km away
CasavanaCuba
CasavanaCuba
#9 of 711 in Havana
715 reviews
3.4 km away
B&B Central Havana
B&B Central Havana
#23 of 711 in Havana
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Private rooms Mylena y Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Private rooms Mylena y Otto

Address: Calle 20 # 257, Apto. 41, e/ 17 y 19, Vedado,, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mylena y Otto Private Rooms! Located in a safe and clean building in a desirable area of Havana Private Rooms Mylena y Otto offers two private rooms with 2 beds each and a shared bathroom (24-hour hot water), living room, dinette and small kitchen. Both rooms are impeccably clean and attractively furnished Tenants are welcome to enjoy our wonderful third-story terrace which offers a magnificent view (sunsets!) of Havana.At Private Rooms Mylena y Otto, we do our best to ensure that your visit to Havana is as wonderful as can be. We offer the following services with the hope that your stay with us won't be the last!Some of the services that we provide include:• Travel advice around the city and to major tourist attractions• A map and guide of Havana• Booking to major tourist destinations around the country• Booking for restaurants and organization of taxi services• Access to an ensuite refrigerator• Local phone calls• Car parkingAlso available upon request:• Breakfast• City tour and taxi service with a fluent English-speaking driver-guide• Laundry service ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing