We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely old building in old havana.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Comendador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Comendador
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“lovely old building in old havana.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

the comendador is part of the hostal valencia..and at times it can be a bit tricky to find your way through the kitchen, (especially after a few mojitos), as they never seem to have the huge main doors open. however once inside you are in a fabulous old cuban building with a central atrium, and blue shuttered rooms all round. the rooms all have window shutters onto the street too, which you can leave open all the time..and ours overlooked the princess diana garden..woopee! there are claw foot baths and tiled floors...but as with many of these old buildings, if you dont get up early enough because of too many cuba libres the night before, you may find the water runs out just as you have put the shampoo on your hair...not to return for many hours. and i dont just mean hot water..i mean any water at all! still you can always raid the mini bar to rinse off! and we had problems with opening our door..as the lock stuck..in typical cuban fashion 5 men came to help at the drop of a hat...and they got it open..but, naturally, this being cuba and all, they didnt fix it...so it happened every time. these things cant bother you if you are in cuba...its part of the experience..if you want faceless hotels where nothing goes wrong with things go to the havana libre or the nacional..but this place has real character, and its right in old havana..just a stumble away from obispo. and the staff were great..even being so grateful when we returned the key, which i found in my pocket 2 days after we moved to a different hotel. bless em!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank lushchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    27
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Loved this hostal. As most places in Cuba, things doesn't allways work as it was supposed to. But without access to spare parts.. -who can blame them?

The hostal is located right in the center of Habana Vieja. The atmosphere is great! Live music, dancing. The food is really good. Try the local paella at Hostal Valencia ;)

By the way, this Hostal is connected to the Valencia. Only the rooms are a little different. (but still very nice!)

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2006

There is little that could be said to fault this hotel, it is more or less a part of the hotel valencia next door and after bad reviews read about Cuban hotels in general I was not expecting much.

However, There really is not much to be said bad about this hotel , in fact , other than the breakfast which gets the same review apparently everywhere in Cuba there is nothing bad to say. Even at that if one got up early enough in the morning there was a selection of breads, cakes, and croissants to eat other than the mixed vegetable, breakfast being served 8-10.

It was a lovely hotel which typified the colonial spanish architecture throughout that area of old havana,. The rooms were cleaned daily, towels were changed daily, the hotel staff were very nice, the night porter staff were very nice also, we arrived home very late some nights after 4.30 and they never once were in anyway put out, very polite and friendly.

The hotel had evening and afternoon music sessions in the main area of the hotel valencia with dancers one evening.

I guess the only thing that I would warn was that if you were particularly tall it might be a bit uncomfortable as the ceilings seemed lower than normal, anyone over 6'4" might have difficulty, other than that book it and stay there.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Nothing Really!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring Stuff With you! , It was impossible to get some basics there, like a Cigarette Lighter!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Craig*Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2006

Having read many poor reviews on the hotel accommodation in Havana we were not expecting much but we where pleasantly surprised!

The hotel itself is in an great central location close to all the sights! The rooms are basic but clean and beautifully decorated!

The service was excellent and all the staff where really helpful and happy!

We will definitely stay again next time we are in Havana!!!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the overall look of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ali21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2002

I have been in Cuba serveral times, and my favorite place among all the beautiful places in Cuba, is Havana Viaja(Old Havana) with is romantic colonial buildings.

El Comendador is one of these buildings. It´s tasteful decorated and is placed in a quiet sidewalk to the more busy, but beautiful Calle Obrapia. There is no noise from the street.

The rooms is very romantic decorated with new but colonial style furnitures. The doors is blue, which make you feel that you are in a greek island - in a positive way. The service is execellent- they will do everything for you and they treat you as you are part of their family. It is one of these places I would prefer if I should be on a honymoon. You are in the middle of Havana, but you feel you are on a island on your own - quiet and peaceful.

At Hotel Valencia where the breakfast is served, you can also get tapas and other Spanish crusines.
The breakfast is not worth mention, and that is a general observation I have made on all hotels around Cuba - spartanious and dull.

But I can strongly recommend this hotel for it´s quietness and beautiful decorated rooms and friendly service and good value for money!

Helpful?
52 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
2092.6 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
113.2 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
1.0 km away
Iberostar Parque Central
1.9 km away
Casaverde
Casaverde
#247 of 690 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Comendador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Comendador

Property: Hotel El Comendador
Address: Calle Obrapia 55, esq a Baratillo, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Comendador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Comendador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Comendador Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing