We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Melia Cohiba Havana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Smither
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Melia Cohiba Havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Melia Cohiba April 1-3rd 2013
We were in Room 1506
the room was very clean, we only had one meal at the hotel and it was dinner at the pool.
Which was very nice. Money exchange at the desk was very handy, the front desk staff was great and charged our cell phones, and camera batteries which was great and helpful.
This hotel is a great home base, remember your in Havana to go experience Havana .... leave the hotel and go experience it, and come back for a good sleep for your next days adventures.
I would recomend this hotel in a minute, and we plan on coming back next year.
Go to Dos Hermanos for a Mojito you won't forget.Tell Damien Debi and Darren from Canada say hi !

Room Tip: Choose up high to take advantage of the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mrs. Debi F,

It is very important for our daily performance to receive your valuable opinion about our service, thank you very much for letting us know.

We are pleased to know we have covered your expectations concerning the rooms, the service and the Hotel in general. Our staff will receive for sure your comments.

It will be a pleasure to receive you again in Meliá Cohiba, so we will really appreciate you could let us know about a future visit to Havana when we are sure you will receive the excellent service that has always distinguished us.

My best regards,

Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    1,262
    459
    94
    80
See reviews for
582
1,366
199
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We spent 3 nights here and found the hotel to be a reasonably well placed one to see Havana.
The lobby has two bars and lots of seating and was always spotless and not too clinical like many modern new hotels.
The rooms were a good size and all have views, ours faced the sea, and the angle of the way the rooms are built within the tower means you will probably get a good view of something from all of them.
The hotel complex offers a few restaurants and an excellent outside poole with an attached bar and restaurent which was of good standard.
Bar prices could of been cheaper, being similar to UK hotels, and we know a big bottle of quality Havana Club Cuban rum is only about £4, so paying nearly £3 per shot is high...however they dont use measures!
Overall the hotel offers good service and is friendly, and has taxis outside for convenience.
You can walk to old Havana from here, its not close but easy to reach and you get to see more of some of the fabulous buildings, but you WILL get hassled constantly yet politely with friendly locals that will always turn the subject back to them being poor and can you help them.
This isnt a reflection on the hotel, but needs pointing out if you like walking.
I have to say though that the breakfast buffet is excellent and put on in a lovely airy restaurant within the hotel.

Room Tip: I would say hotel front so you see the sea, but if you are on a high floor maybe take one at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigblueboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mr. Bigblueboat,

It is a pleasure to read your opinion about your stay in our Hotel. I would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience among us about the service, the rooms and our facilities in general. Surely, our staff will be informed.

Regarding the position of the Hotel, let me inform you, we have a free service of a Shuttle available for our clients with different frequencies in the morning and in the afternoon. You can request to our Concierge Department, which with much pleasure will perform you the necessary coordination.

Once again, thank you very much and I would really appreciate if you could keep us inform of your next visit to Havana. It will be a pleasure receives you again.

My best regards,

Juan Tuñón
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in April through a tour group , on the 15th floor. Room was very clean, breakfast was amazing, staff is lovely, and pool is great. You must remember that you are in Cuba to see the country, not to hang out in the hotel.
I will say that we did try to check out the night before we left and pay the mini bar bill. We were not allowed to do so. This is a very minor thing in the grand scheme of things.
We would absolutely stay again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FROMOMAHANEBRASKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Mr. FROMOMAHANEBRASKA,

We really appreciated that you let us know your opinion about your stay in our Hotel.

We are pleased to know we have covered your expectations concerning the rooms and the service. Our staff will receive for sure your comments. Let us inform you that the payment from the minibar is done just to the time of your departure, however, we will check in order to on your next visit do it in the most convenient way for you.

We hope to see you in your next visit to Havana, it will be a pleasure to receive again with the elegance and excellence you deserve.

My Best Regards,

Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Big hotel and greeted by friendly staff who took our luggage in. Took a while at reception. Rooms perfectly adequate – ours was a bit dated. Probably 5* by Cuban standards. A lot of choice at breakfast but bacon etc. was cold.

Pool area is really nice and relaxing along with the pool restaurant/bar – BUT, always took a long time to get a drink and the staff were not very attentive and a tad on the grumpy side. However, we ate here the most due to the outdoor atmosphere. Italian indoor restaurant good – but hot, crowded and people smoke at the tables…. (Something quite alien now!)

Lifts are a pain: they are not synched and do not ‘speak’ to each other. Hence you press the button on one side (to call one of the 3 elevators) and then on the other side, wait an age and eventually a lift arrives; then another lift arrives on the other side 2 seconds after. So really the hotel is only working on 3 lifts instead of 6.

Location not great for us as it was a good 10mins taxi drive into Havana – sights are not within walking distance. We would normally always stay in the centre for a city break’, but this time we were on a tour. However, had I realised we had a private car and driver I would have changed this hotel to an older, more central one in Havana.

And as this is Cuba – tipping one peso (70p) here and there can ensure some great service. Exchange rate was the same in the hotel as it was at the airport, although the hotels tend to keep a few pesos as commission. Be sure to ask for a lot of coins and one peso notes. Carry loo paper in your bag at all times; you can still tip 10c to the loo ladies!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Mr. TravellerOxford,

Thank you very much for having used your valuable time to let us know your opinion about our Hotel.

We are sorry that we weren’t able to cover your expectations concerning our rooms and service in general. We have taken note what you said in your review and we assure you we will take appropriate measures so that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

Regarding the position of the Hotel, as you said we have a free service of a Shuttle available for our clients, and has different frequencies in the morning and in the afternoon. As to the attitude of our waiters we are going to check very carefully, because this kind of situation is not usual in our daily performance, we would like you to accept our apologies for this inconvenience. On the other hand we are in process of changing our elevators, where 3 have been changed, the other 3 will be replaced, so we are in the final stage, where they are not synchronized but they are operating.

Sorry again, and please keep us inform of a future visit to Havana, we are sure that we can receive you with the professionalism you deserve.

My best regards,

Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in Mach 2013 and had an enjoyable stay.
There is a very large spacious reception area and about 5 different bars/eateries in the hotel. The pool and pool side were clean, nicely furnished and welcoming.
Staff were very attentive overall and were happy to please.
We paid extra for 'Royal Service' so our room was on the 20th floor with a special breakfast restaurant for that standard and we were not disappointed.
Breakfast had everything you could wish for including champagne and the whole experience for enjoyable and relaxing.
The hotel was only a short trip to Havana City by taxi or hop-on hop-off bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Mrs. LouiseOttawa,

Thank you very much for using your valuable time to let us know your opinion about our Hotel.

We are glad to know you had a good stay with us and that we were able to cover your expectations about the service, the rooms and the restaurants. We will let our staff know about your opinion and this will help for sure that our daily performance continues being the one that will make you come back.

Let us inform you that we have a free shuttle service available at various frequencies in the morning and evening, for which you must coordinate with our Concierge Department who will gladly make coordination.

Thank you again, and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Best regards,

Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of a tour. It is a big hotel, with many facilities. We had a large spacious room with a sea view but it was spolit by the damp musty smell. The beds were 2 doubles and were comfy. There was a chair and table seating area. The minibar/safe/coffee maker were all extra charge! There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby - and it is expensive in Cuba - 14cuc's (£10) for 2hrs - and slow!
The hotel has several restaurants, we ate in the buffet restaurant as this was the one included in our half board plan. The choice of food was amazing. Big salad bar, seafood, pizzas, pork, chicken and beef dishes, vegetables, potatoes etc. etc. Some dishes were cooked to order too. There was anything you could want! The choice for breakfast was just as extensive. We ate lunch in the bar - they do a nice toasted sandwich!
There was a nice large pool area for sunbathing plus shops and a nightly show. There is a little shop opposite the hotel where you can buy water, cans of beer etc.
Overall, the hotel was fine and we had a pleasant stay, but I think I just expected something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Mr. Little_Blondie

We really appreciated that you let us know your opinion about your stay in our Hotel.

We are very sorry not covering your expectations; in spite of send us positive comments about our rooms and service in general.

With regard to musty smell in the room, let us tell you that the rooms are aired, due to security concerns, about 2 times a month. In this case we ask that the next time you visit us, let us know and we will give to the room timely treatment to avoid incidents like this.

We ask you a confidence vote and in spite all grace us with your presence at your next visit to Havana. It will be a pleasure to receive you again with the elegance and excellence you deserve.

My best regards,

Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We arrived at lunchtime. Room not ready and we were offered a free cup of coffee.

Told room was "very nice". It wasn't. It was superb. Upgraded to a suite on the 4th floor looking over the front and side of hotel. Two plates of fresh fruit and a bottle of sparkling wine on ice to say "hello".

Re below. CUC, Cuban Convertible Peso, is the tourist currency. You can only buy it when you arrive in Cuba and are can't take it out of the country. Exchange rates are almost the same whether you exchange at a bank or in the hotel. We were told that there are about 20 local peso's to the CUC. We found local pricing to be meaningless and the advice from the hotel receptionist - that traders would charge what they think you can afford - is about right. However, we never felt ripped off and bought bottled water for 1 CUC (£0.67) and a decent burger and salad was 3 CUCS (£2).

Had lunch in hotel. 25 CUCS (£17) each but a great choice of really tasty food.

Coffee in the lobby bar is delish - 3.5 CUCS a cup (£2.30) and a beer is 3CUCS (£2)

Hotel is 5k from the centre of Havana and a taxi was 7 CUCS (£4.50) each way.

We liked the situation of the hotel as it was on the seafront and away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Jazz Cafe opposite is worth a try. Decent food and drink and not too expensive.

There is also a supermarket and service station opposite. You can't take bags into the supermarket and have to leave them outside for safe keeping. Basic stuff available. Don't expect Sainsbury's.

Souvenir shopping in Havana is a bit limited and items are generally unpriced - see above. Made us smile to see all the well heeled western capitalists buying goods emblazened with Che, Fidel and co.

Overall. We liked the Melia Cohiba. Clean, comfortable and very friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OwdMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Mr OwdMiner ,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time in letting us know your opinion about your stay in our Hotel.

It is always pleasant to receive comments like this one, it helps us to keep working with quality and efficiency and also makes that faithful clients like you chose Meliá Cohiba as your home in Havana for your next visits to the city.

It will be a pleasure receives you again.

My best regards,

Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
2098.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2124.4 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
118.7 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Property: Melia Cohiba
Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing