We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the atmosphere - not the food”
Review of Plaza Vieja

Plaza Vieja
Ranked #168 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Description: Wonderful place with micro brewery on the old square right in the middle of the historic Havana. beers 2cuc and a lot of food. Live music and tons of atmosphere!
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“go for the atmosphere - not the food”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I can't agree with the whining reviews recently posted. Yes, the food is just-OK and not great value. And the servers are rather brusque -- unlike most other Cuban servers at less prominent places, who seem delighted to see you!

But hey! it's the best known joint on the best known, oldest square in this capital city. What do you expect? Do you get attentive service and great food at discount prices in the famous cafes of Paris and London? I think not...

The beer is quite good. The inside tables are full of locals, which should be a clue to some merit. The brochettes we had were fine -- serviceable, tasty, not as over-priced as some other places. The whole point here is the location -- the chance to people-watch in the square. Go for that reason. Don't expect a culinary experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank museum-a-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    210
    87
    39
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“dreadful tourist trap”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

this looks lovely and thats about it - bad food - exactly the kind that gives cuba a bad name - bad service - lots of smiles but no follow-up ability whatsoever - cheap tasting beer ( i resorted to buying a crystal at the corner shop ) just dont bother - exasperating and completely unnecessary as many places are better - try the wonderful Bacardi Factory (ex) small bar/cafe up the road; the writers cafe on the same lovely square; the flor de loto excellent chinese/cuban in china town - anywhere else really as no where could be quite so bad. if you do find yourself there stuck with a group of friends as i was then do NOT eat the food they offer - the kebab thingy - its tough as old boots. ask for chicken or pork - its breaded and acceptable (just).

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brutal service, bad food, thought I was going to get food poisoning.”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Two hours for lunch, which was grilled meat on a skewer, cooked on a BBQ 15 feet away. They lied to me that I couldn't get a pork skewer, only the more expensive mixed meat skewer platter, which turned out to be four skewers of different types of meat, including one pork. The lobster skewer was half overcooked, and half completely raw. I was seriously afraid I was going to get food poisoning.

On the other hand, if you just want a beer in the cool tall beer tower things, go nuts. Just block out a solid 45 minutes between the first of many times you ask for the bill, and the time you get to leave.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Twinned with Bangkok ?”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very popular place where people, both Cubans and tourists, seem to show their appreciation for the beer by ordering the highest/biggest possible beer tower. Very clever idea which I have only ever seen before at the Bangkok beer festivals, ideal if you're very thirsty, not if you're driving. But seriously, this is a lovely place to relax after visiting Old Havana and to watch the world go by.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pablo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Just pass the time.. (and the beer!!)”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In the older travel guides you'll find this listed as "La taberna de la muralla".. we've been twice and it's one of our favourite watering holes in Havana... great selection of beers, great presentation, we've eaten there twice, tapas style, Ok standard, but a little pricey for what it is... great for just passing a leisurely hour or two in the middle of the busy old town...

ATB,J.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merseygull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plaza Vieja also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Plaza Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing