We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”
Review of NAO Bar Paladar

NAO Bar Paladar
Ranked #66 of 790 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice place”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A have a good time there and the environment was acceptable

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    133
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great spot at harbor's edge: amazing food & Service”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

4 of us ventured to the end of Obispo Street to the Nao Bar not knowing what we would find. The best tables are outside in the breezeway, but those were taken. We sat upstairs next to the bar and we were well attended. The appetizers we chose included empanadas and blue cheese croquettes. They were stellar. Two of us had Jerked Beef dish for entree, one had the seafood platter and one a steak. The Jerked Beef was crisp and ample, two of us could have shared. The spicing was lively without being hot. The seafood plate looked incredible and the lobster and shrimp and fish were reportedly incredible. The steak person wanted medium rare and she said it was perfectly done. The Pina Colada's are like whipped nutmeg ambrosia, to be tried. The staff is so friendly and helpful that they gave my friend the box the bill was delivered in as a gift, after she ogled it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzJake001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princess200906, Propietario at NAO Bar Paladar, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
It was a pleasure to have you here as one of our first visitors, as we are a very young restaurant, we appreciate your comments and will be looking forward to have you here as a costumer again. Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the Santa Isabel Hotel which is just next door to privately owned Nao. The meals we had in the hotel restaurant (govt owned) were awful. However, Nao was a wonderful alternative and we ate there twice during our stay. The atmosphere was very nice, great service and the food was the best we had while in Havana. The first night we dined there as a group and the group menu was somewhat limited but still good. The night we dined as individuals we discovered a wide choice of menu items. The roast pork was exceptional. While in Havana one often has to expect much less from a hotel or restaurant than what is expected at home. Nao is an exception to this.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NC_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best small restaurant in Havana”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Small,intimate restaurant, beautiful food with attention to detail. Friendly , caring staff.
Dont miss this experience, I agree with HHunting1260, choice of food was the same as mine, delicious.
Calle del Obispo N E/ San Pedro Y Baratillo,Havana Vieja,Cuba

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
215 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply Grand"”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our first visit was a party of four-appetizers included yucca fritters, malanga and other delights. Dinner included whole grilled red snapper and chicken in a superb sauce. Rice accompanies the meal, along with a tureen of black bean soup and ladle. Desserts are equally scrumptious. The space is lovely, a downstairs bar and upstairs dining room that is warm and inviting, with large windows opening to Calle Obispo. Service is very professional and attentive. If for some reason you have only a single meal in Havana, I would heartily recommend this place.....In addition to it's many other virtues, NAO is also quite reasonably priced: dinner for four, with drinks, appetizers, entrees, dessert and gratuity was 80 CUC, or just around $80. Even for substantially more, this is a delightful dining experience that should not be missed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NAO Bar Paladar also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to NAO Bar Paladar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing