We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not cheap, but very nice”
Review of Hotel Los Frailes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Los Frailes
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 12 September 2011

it was our last night in havana and they had a room available on short notice. the staff was very friendly and the water pressure in the shower was great (for cuba). unfortunately they only had two separate beds (i guess more suitable for an old monastery). the cleanliness was ok, but could have been better. our room had no window and some of the light bulbs didn't work so it was quite dark.
the hotel itself is well situated as you can just start to explore the old town....
all in all very nice, but a bit expensive - like everything else for the tourists in havana.

Room Tip: spend a bit more for the suites with balcony and windows ;o)
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ausseertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrailesC0mercial, Gerente at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Hello dear friend!!

I m so happy to hear about your commentsand that you like our Hotel !! We make all our best to please our guests, so we are taking since now your comments and working to get better on that.

You have to know that you are always welcome here !!!!!!

We hope to see you soon again!

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

I just recently stayed here with my husband and parents and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location of this hotel is excellent - in Havana Vieja with several attractions and restaurants close by. This was one of the less expensive hotels in Havana but still of a very high quality. The rooms can be a little bit on the dark side as some don't have windows, but they are very clean. The breakfast here is not great so you may want to find another option. You cannot pay with credit card but there is a bank machine located not too far from the hotel. I would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bermytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrailesC0mercial, Gerente at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear friend!!

Thanks a lot for your opinion, we are very happy that you like our hotel and of course that you recommend us ! You' ll be always welcome in our hotel as a family.
About breakfast we are trying to get better and that 's why we are making studies now with surveys and we hope that soon we were much better than now, because to please our custumers is always a goal for us.
Warmest Regards from Los Frailes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

From the moment my daughter and I stepped into this cozy hotel we felt most welcome and it all confirmed during our stay there. Each and every staff member went out of their way to help us. It would be nicer if all the rooms had windows, but it wasn't a real problem since we spent little time inside the room. If you find it difficult to sleep because of noise I strongly recommend you try to book a room far from the reception desk as there might be some noise till late. Although it is not easy for Cubans to afford plenty of food tourists are served lavishly.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the suites far from the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

On our return to Havana we decided for this monastery reconstructed into a small interesting hotel. It has excellent location, very good service and very antique feeling. I liked the normal rooms but I think its worth to spend an extra money for the suites... bigger, nicer, romantic with a balcony, huge windows (the other rooms don't have any) and a nice view.

Room Tip: Go for the suites, the only rooms with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed in Los Frailes in December 2010 and found the saff extremely welcoming and friendly nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they also stay up as long as you want for later night/ear;y morning mojitos! Rooms are very nice and clean although we didn't have a window however it was very cool in our room which was lovely. Breakfast was taken over the road in a cafe and we liked it very simple but freshly cooked and no scary buffet! This cafe also sells very nice sugar cane mojitos in the evening which I highly recommend! It is very central for old Havanna which you must try even just to walk down the streets and soak up the atmosphere. Enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrailesC0mercial, Gerente at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear HappyGils...

We are very happy to hear about your opinion of our Hotel, we are always doing our best to please our guests, thanks a lot for ypur comments, we are hoping to see you sonn again, and since now we consider you part of our family!!!!

Warmest regards from Los Frailes

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I had initially booked to stay for the first two nights in Los Frailes, but due to an elecrical problem was transferred to another hotel in Havana Vieja. This was a little disappointing as I had chosen Los Frailes specifically for it's character and charm. Eventually I decided to return at the end of my vacation and can say that the hotel was everything I expected it to be.
The room was large and extremely well air conditioned, which was wonderful, with a beautiful bathroom and dressing area. There was no window and initially there was a slight stale smell, but nothing to complain about.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and although the mojitos a little on the expensive side, they were delicious.

I would highly recommend this lovely central hotel...one tip though, I actually booked the room using their internet in the lounge for half the price of walking in off the street and reserving directly at reception!! Worth remembering for any hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A1fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrailesC0mercial, Gerente at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Dear A1fletch....

We are very sorry that you had to wait some nights, to rest in our Hotel, but we are very happy about your comments, and we´d like to thank you about your opinion. We want you to know that you are welcome anytime you want!!!!!!!!!!!

Best regards from Los Frailes !

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have very mixed feelings about this place. On the positive side the location is central and the decor very pleasant. (NB. It is NOT an old monastery, just themed that way for the tourists.) Staff were unwelcoming (just doing their government job, nothing more), the cleaning staff were slack and appeared unsupervised (we were there for 10 days and our drinking glasses were not washed once), and the internet was always going to be working 'manana' but never was. The plumbing had seen better days and the shower only dribbled. We had opted for one of the 4 'Junior Suites' in order to have a window which proved to be incredibly noisy, and foolishly expensive for what we got. I am sure you can do a lot better for $175 a night! Paying that sort of money did not guarantee a decent breakfast or good service at the breakfast room across the calle either. You had a choice of eggs fried, scrambled, or plain omlette or a sandwich every morning - with no vegetables or fruit available, and no variations. Other hotels provide breakfast buffets with lots of healthy choices, not here. Also outside the hotel in this area of Havana is tout central where you will be pestered every time you walk around. Skip this place and look around elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IsabellaHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#19 of 81 in Havana
726 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#42 of 81 in Havana
321 reviews
0.3 km away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
0.4 km away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#18 of 81 in Havana
851 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#23 of 81 in Havana
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Frailes

Address: Teniente Rey No 8 | Between Oficios y Mercaderes, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $123 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Frailes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As if it was a space for contemplation, the Hotel Los Frailes translates the visitor to the ambience of an abbey of the medieval era. Monks represented in copper sculptures, religious altarpieces, as well as other details, comprise the decoration of this site convenient for resting. A lobby bar with art-works and stained-glass windows and a peaceful inner patio with a fountain and a well, turns the hotel into one of the most beautiful of the Centro Histórico. The hotel employees, dressed in customs inspired in the clothes of the Franciscan monks, invite the guests to a singular ceremony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Frailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Frailes Havana
Hostal Los Frailes Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing