We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mojitos in Havana!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Armadores de Santander Hotel
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

At 3.50CUC this place not only has the best value mojitos but also the best tasting mojitos in all of Havana. We went there every day for 4 days and had two or more each. Well recommended. The WiFi is good too, but you have to pay for access from Etecsa.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We spent 4 wonderful days at Armadores de Santander Hotel. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was large, exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were minutes away from the Plaza Vieja and our hotel looked out onto the port. The market is a five minute walk.
The food was lovely with a lovely selection on their menu. Definitely try their omelettes!!
If we return to Havana in the future, we will most certainly be staying in this hotel.
Thanks for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Best views face the pier/port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed here in our last night in Cuba, it was the best hotel we stayed in. The room was huge, very clean, beds were comfortable and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You have to visit their terrace. The view is great, especially at night. The food was delicious and reasonable priced. The location is also very good and you get very easy to locations worth visiting. As we had to leave early in the morning, before the breakfast was served, they prepared for us a sandwich and a freshly pressed orange juice so that we do not leave without having eaten something, which it think was a very nice gesture from them.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OPR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This is a grand-dame hotel, located in Old Havana, just a brief walk from the Plaza Vieja. You will like the marble staircases, metal accents, and the high ceilinged rooms. My room (#310) had a back door that opened into a rooftop terrace shared with other rooms on the third floor, which was a nice touch. The A/C thankfully worked pretty well - the air got warmer for a few hours at night, but then bounced back. Breakfast was good - the chicken croquettes were great, and you could order anything from the menu despite the fact that we had a package deal that included breakfast. The drinks were good - they make a very refreshing frozen daiquiri. Bathrooms were fairly modern with plenty of hot water and updated fixtures .

With all this said, keep in mind that this hotel - along with all other hotels in Cuba - are not up to developed world standards, and you may sacrifice some comfort and convenience for the sake of charm, authenticity, and adventure. For example, the beds are comfortable, but not plush. Some of the furniture may be worn. You need to drink and brush your teeth with bottled water,

The staff was accommodating and responded quickly to requests, but they may not be as pro-active as you see in hotels in the developed world. Keep in mind that all the staff in this hotel are government employees earning about $50 / month and have never been outside Cuba or stayed in a nice hotel and really have no point of reference.

As long as you keep this in mind, and don't expect the same experience as you would in Monte Carlo, Paris, or New York, you'll enjoy your stay. There's enough charm, friendliness, adventure, and authenticity to make up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RalfG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Havana. We chose this hotel as it had some good reviews and was close to the old town area Ana also by the water.

The hotel is a $40 taxi ride from the airport. Our room wasn't ready so we took a drink in the bar. We had booked a junior suite but were allocated the main suite which is huge and comfortable. The room was clean and well furnished with a good bathroom, separate shower, double sink and as a bonus, a sunken bath in the middle of the raised floor. The four poster bed is comfortable and the room was well cleaned through our stay

Now the problems. This is an old and historic building. Our room had three sets of huge old wooden doors that lead out on to the narrow balcony. These look great and may be original but they were ill fitting so all the noise from the very busy road could easily be heard. This is a noisy room. Also, because the does don't fit, the warm air from outside came into the room. There is air conditioning but this is a double height room and with the warm air coming in, the ac can't cope to keep the room cool. In addition, there is a build up of humidity leading to condensation which drips on to the bed particularly at night which is not good

The next issue was water. After 2 days the water went off. We saw water escaping from a chamber in the road about 100 yards from the hotel and guessed this was the problem. The first outage lasted for about 24 hours which was not good. This was not the hotels problem but they had no contingency plan and we know some guests left because of this. I mentioned this to reception and the did offer to move us but the water did come on again. There were other outages but after the first one, the shower didn't work at all for the rest of our visit, not good at all

The hotel is in a good location close to historic areas and some superb squares with great restaurants. The hotel offers a reasonable breakfast which was inclusive for us. The bar is well run but expensive and only has a limited wine selection which is strange because there is a whole wine store on the ground floor but I understand that this was not run by the hotel and has failed so was closed up. There is a huge and excellent art market within walking distance which is highly recommended. Overall the staff are helpful and professional.

This hotel has the potential to be great but needs to address the windows in the suite to make the noise lower and the ac better

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisintheBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The Hotel i located Close to the center of Havana Vieja. A nice old building. We got a very big room, with no windows but two bathrooms. It was probobly once two roms.
The room was Clean, with an AC. The prices in the bar is slighty high - but most of the personel is very nice. But be sure too book the rooms in advance, the prices they show in the lobby is for some reason almost dubble to what they are on-line.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritaBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Location wise this is a good hotel, a short walk to the main square in Havana passing by a few other smaller squares on the way - Francisco and la Plaza Vieja for example. The building itself is a wonderful piece of architecture, but as a hotel it is really lacking even by Havana standards. We visited many other Havana hotels during our stay and quickly realised that we had make a mistake - really do wish I had stretched the budget just that little bit further and stayed at the Raquel now, hindsight is a wonderful thing.

We had just come off a cruise a little after 10am, and thought we would approach the hotel to ask the question as to whether we could check-in (we had left the luggage at the port anyway) the answer was no not until 4pm (as expected), but they would take the luggage, we decided to leave the luggage where it was, went out and had a great day in Havana, collected the luggage from the port just after 5pm, walked it round to the hotel (literally just around the corner from the cruise terminal) and checked in. The young man on reception was pleasant enough with good English (better than my Spanish for sure). We were checked in to room 117 (was hoping for a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the harbour, which I did request at the time of booking, but this was not to be).

Room 117 is itself a large spacious room with small hallway / dressing area with separate bathroom and bedroom leading off it. The furniture was dated, but in keeping with the colonial feel of the hotel and the twin beds were comfy (did not ask for twin, but then did not make any preference at time of booking either) and the gap between them was only a few inches anyway. The ceilings were very high, at least 6m and one of the walls in the bedroom was bare red brick, which added to the overall ambience of the room itself. There is a double window/balcony door leading onto a long shared balcony (standing only) that runs along the front of the building. The room was generally clean as was the bathroom, but if you wanted to get really picky about things you could, but this "es cuba no?" The one thing that I did take notice of was the floors were very dusty, so you got dirty bare feet very quickly, glad I took my slippers now lol.

The weather was very hot and humid and the air conditioning worked very well and kept the room nice and cool, which meant we had a comfortable nights sleep. The only drawback being the main road directly outside the front of the hotel, which we were overlooking, is very busy and noisy. We are used to noise as we live in the centre of town, but if you are not used to road and town noise then this could be a problem for you. We were generally awakened between 7-8am each day with the rising noise of the day-to-day life in the local area.

We only have the one experience of eating in this hotel and to be honest, that was enough. On our first night having checked in, unpacked, showered and rested for a short while, we approached the bar at around 9pm, the barman was ok, but not exactly welcoming. We were given a bar menu, which after a while we realised was just a guide after being told no we don't have that for many of the items we tried to order lol. We eventually settled on croquettes and a cheese roll and a chicken roll. The croquettes were ok, but had been fried so were slightly burnt on the outside and barely warm in the middle. The rolls were awful, the baguette bread was rock hard, the chicken was dry and the cheese was processed cheese slices, they were served with a small amount of shredded lettuce on the side of the plate. This together with 6/7 bottles of Cristal beer and 2 mojitos came to 57 cuc!!!!! We were a little shocked, but let it go, we were tired and having had a fantastic week cruising, being well fed and plenty to drink, we decided to let it slide. During our first evening there were several short interval power cuts.

When we awoke the next morning we found there was no running water (having already flushed the toilet once before realising this). We made some enquiries, but were left none the wiser, the reception staff just shrugging their shoulders blaming the government advising they did not know how long it would be. We left it at that and made use of what little water that still remained in the pipes, leaving us with barely half a sink full to wash in and a toilet that could not be flushed. Undeterred we went out as planned once again making enquiries at reception as to what could be expected, the young girl just shrugged her shoulders and said "there is

Location wise this is a good hotel, a short walk to the main square in Havana passing by a few other smaller squares on the way - Francisco and la Plaza Vieja for example. The building itself is a wonderful piece of architecture, but as a hotel it is really lacking even by Havana standards. We visited many other Havana hotels during our stay and quickly realised that we had make a mistake - really do wish I had stretched the budget just that little bit further and stayed at the Raquel now, hindsight is a wonderful thing.

We had just come off a cruise a little after 10am, and thought we would approach the hotel to ask the question as to whether we could check-in (we had left the luggage at the port anyway) the answer was no not until 4pm (as expected), but they would take the luggage, we decided to leave the luggage where it was, went out and had a great day in Havana, collected the luggage from the port just after 5pm, walked it round to the hotel (literally just around the corner from the cruise terminal) and checked in. The young man on reception was pleasant enough with good English (better than my Spanish for sure). We were checked in to room 117 (was hoping for a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the harbour, which I did request at the time of booking, but this was not to be).

Room 117 is itself a large spacious room with small hallway / dressing area with separate bathroom and bedroom leading off it. The furniture was dated, but in keeping with the colonial feel of the hotel and the twin beds were comfy (did not ask for twin, but then did not make any preference at time of booking either) and the gap between them was only a few inches anyway. The ceilings were very high, at least 6m and one of the walls in the bedroom was bare red brick, which added to the overall ambience of the room itself. There is a double window/balcony door leading onto a long shared balcony (standing only) that runs along the front of the building. The room was generally clean as was the bathroom, but if you wanted to get really picky about things you could, but this "es cuba no?" The one thing that I did take notice of was the floors were very dusty, so you got dirty bare feet very quickly, glad I took my slippers now lol.

The weather was very hot and humid and the air conditioning worked very well and kept the room nice and cool, which meant we had a comfortable nights sleep. The only drawback being the main road directly outside the front of the hotel, which we were overlooking, is very busy and noisy. We are used to noise as we live in the centre of town, but if you are not used to road and town noise then this could be a problem for you. We were generally awakened between 7-8am each day with the rising noise of the day-to-day life in the local area.

We only have the one experience of eating in this hotel and to be honest, that was enough. On our first night having checked in, unpacked, showered and rested for a short while, we approached the bar at around 9pm, the barman was ok, but not exactly welcoming. We were given a bar menu, which after a while we realised was just a guide after being told no we don't have that for many of the items we tried to order lol. We eventually settled on croquettes and a cheese roll and a chicken roll. The croquettes were ok, but had been fried so were slightly burnt on the outside and barely warm in the middle. The rolls were awful, the baguette bread was rock hard, the chicken was dry and the cheese was processed cheese slices, they were served with a small amount of shredded lettuce on the side of the plate. This together with 6/7 bottles of Cristal beer and 2 mojitos came to 57 cuc!!!!! We were a little shocked, but let it go, we were tired and having had a fantastic week cruising, being well fed and plenty to drink, we decided to let it slide. During our first evening there were several short interval power cuts.

When we awoke the next morning we found there was no running water (having already flushed the toilet once before realising this). We made some enquiries, but were left none the wiser, the reception staff just shrugging their shoulders blaming the government advising they did not know how long it would be. We left it at that and made use of what little water that still remained in the pipes, leaving us with barely half a sink full to wash in and a toilet that could not be flushed. Undeterred we went out as planned once again making enquiries at reception as to what could be expected, the young girl just shrugged her shoulders and said "there is no water who knows, it's the whole city!" We stopped off at la Plaza Vieja for coffee and breakfast (decided not to bother with breakfast at the hotel based on the previous nights experience) and found that most establishments there had running water and flushing toilets, we stopped off at the Florida hotel again running water and flushing toilets, same at the Telegrapho and Park Central. We assumed the problem had been quickly resolved and continued to enjoy our day. We were out all day and finished off a great days sightseeing with a fantastic meal at la Vitrola returning to the hotel at 7pm - only to find out STILL NO WATER!!! I have to admit we did get a little excited at this point, the receptionist assured us that they now had water but the pump had broken they hoped it would be fixed by 9pm. We expressed our extreme concern at the lack of hygiene and he assured us it was being dealt with as we walked away he quickly got on the phone to someone. Over the next hour there was a lot of drilling noise going on outside and sure enough just after 9pm the water was back on. The taps had to be run through for quite a while until the water ran clear. During the whole of our stay there was never any hot water, luke warm at best was all that could be achieved but to honest with the weather being so hot it was needed anyway. On the last night we were once again without any water coming out of the hot tap, cold was ok.

In general I was left feeling very disappointed with the hotel, I tried not to expect too much but they still left me feeling completely underwhelmed and I did regret booking it in the end.

I absolutely loved my trip to Havana, but I would not book this hotel again or recommend it to anyone thinking of booking it. Please do carefully consider your options before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: As far away from the main road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
3.6 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.2 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,808 reviews
5.7 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,757 reviews
10.2 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadores de Santander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadores de Santander Hotel

Address: Calle Luz 4 | Esq San Pedro, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $296 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armadores de Santander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Armadores De Santander Havana
Armadores De Santander Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing