We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
US$127
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$142
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$272
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$243
US$235
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
B&B Central Havana(Havana)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Dayami de Cervantes(Havana)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
CasavanaCuba(Havana)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
US$248
US$111
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$462
US$282
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
63
164
96
39
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
164
96
39
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain suitesunken bathfour poster bedold havanagreat place to watchgreat location and staffshort walkwithout windowshotel overlookingnice roof terraceheat and humidityhuge balconyplaza viejamain roadtop floorincluded breakfastold cars
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 392 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We spent 4 wonderful days at Armadores de Santander Hotel. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was large, exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were minutes away from the Plaza Vieja and our hotel looked out onto the port. The market is a five minute walk.
The food was lovely with a lovely selection on their menu. Definitely try their omelettes!!
If we return to Havana in the future, we will most certainly be staying in this hotel.
Thanks for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Best views face the pier/port
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank CarolineMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

We stayed here in our last night in Cuba, it was the best hotel we stayed in. The room was huge, very clean, beds were comfortable and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You have to visit their terrace. The view is great, especially at night. The food was delicious and reasonable priced. The location is also very good and you get very easy to locations worth visiting. As we had to leave early in the morning, before the breakfast was served, they prepared for us a sandwich and a freshly pressed orange juice so that we do not leave without having eaten something, which it think was a very nice gesture from them.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OPR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017

This is a grand-dame hotel, located in Old Havana, just a brief walk from the Plaza Vieja. You will like the marble staircases, metal accents, and the high ceilinged rooms. My room (#310) had a back door that opened into a rooftop terrace shared with other rooms on the third floor, which was a nice touch. The A/C thankfully worked pretty well - the air got warmer for a few hours at night, but then bounced back. Breakfast was good - the chicken croquettes were great, and you could order anything from the menu despite the fact that we had a package deal that included breakfast. The drinks were good - they make a very refreshing frozen daiquiri. Bathrooms were fairly modern with plenty of hot water and updated fixtures .

With all this said, keep in mind that this hotel - along with all other hotels in Cuba - are not up to developed world standards, and you may sacrifice some comfort and convenience for the sake of charm, authenticity, and adventure. For example, the beds are comfortable, but not plush. Some of the furniture may be worn. You need to drink and brush your teeth with bottled water,

The staff was accommodating and responded quickly to requests, but they may not be as pro-active as you see in hotels in the developed world. Keep in mind that all the staff in this hotel are government employees earning about $50 / month and have never been outside Cuba or stayed in a nice hotel and really have no point of reference.

As long as you keep this in mind, and don't expect the same experience as you would in Monte Carlo, Paris, or New York, you'll enjoy your stay. There's enough charm, friendliness, adventure, and authenticity to make up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank RalfG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Havana. We chose this hotel as it had some good reviews and was close to the old town area Ana also by the water.

The hotel is a $40 taxi ride from the airport. Our room wasn't ready so we took a drink in the bar. We had booked a junior suite but were allocated the main suite which is huge and comfortable. The room was clean and well furnished with a good bathroom, separate shower, double sink and as a bonus, a sunken bath in the middle of the raised floor. The four poster bed is comfortable and the room was well cleaned through our stay

Now the problems. This is an old and historic building. Our room had three sets of huge old wooden doors that lead out on to the narrow balcony. These look great and may be original but they were ill fitting so all the noise from the very busy road could easily be heard. This is a noisy room. Also, because the does don't fit, the warm air from outside came into the room. There is air conditioning but this is a double height room and with the warm air coming in, the ac can't cope to keep the room cool. In addition, there is a build up of humidity leading to condensation which drips on to the bed particularly at night which is not good

The next issue was water. After 2 days the water went off. We saw water escaping from a chamber in the road about 100 yards from the hotel and guessed this was the problem. The first outage lasted for about 24 hours which was not good. This was not the hotels problem but they had no contingency plan and we know some guests left because of this. I mentioned this to reception and the did offer to move us but the water did come on again. There were other outages but after the first one, the shower didn't work at all for the rest of our visit, not good at all

The hotel is in a good location close to historic areas and some superb squares with great restaurants. The hotel offers a reasonable breakfast which was inclusive for us. The bar is well run but expensive and only has a limited wine selection which is strange because there is a whole wine store on the ground floor but I understand that this was not run by the hotel and has failed so was closed up. There is a huge and excellent art market within walking distance which is highly recommended. Overall the staff are helpful and professional.

This hotel has the potential to be great but needs to address the windows in the suite to make the noise lower and the ac better

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisintheBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

The Hotel i located Close to the center of Havana Vieja. A nice old building. We got a very big room, with no windows but two bathrooms. It was probobly once two roms.
The room was Clean, with an AC. The prices in the bar is slighty high - but most of the personel is very nice. But be sure too book the rooms in advance, the prices they show in the lobby is for some reason almost dubble to what they are on-line.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritaBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews