We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water, water, water....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The check-in process was smooth. The Bellboy assisted us with our luggage. The room was large and clean. The Director of Housekeeping was waiting for us in the room to welcome us. She gave us two bathrobes and asked if we needed anything. We thanked her and she left the room. Nice amenities were placed in the room along with a welcome card. The bathroom was old and outdated, with very weak maintenance issues. The water in the toilet ran all the time and there was no hot water in the shower.

The next day, we woke up to the same issues in the bathroom (running toilets and no hot water). We went for breakfast. The staff was very nice but breakfast was really poor (one coffee, white toast, one mini croissant).

Later on our way back to the hotel, we asked the agent if the hotel had been able to fix the water problem. She was very surprised as she had thought that the problem had already been solved. She offered to move us to a different hotel in the city, which we declined as we were leaving the following day

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

Straight from Europe in winter it's great to have breakfast in the patio with the flowers & parrot. Yes, things take time, but it's a holliday, ok. Not all the bread was fresh and some burned but at least they do make the effort to put it in the oven. A choice of eggs, not always what we thought we asked for, but then we had to ask in Spanish; we liked the tortilla - or was it the omelette which had the onions, peppers and pineapple added?
No problem getting tea or good coffee or a second serving of it.
Staff was friendly, helpfull and efficient with information, arranging taxis, adjusting AC and so on. When we wanted to change money they adviced us to go to the bank or an ATM because the hotel rate was very bad. Isn't that kind? Also the first night we ate the chicken dinner witch was simple and tasty. We had no CUCs and couldn't put it on the room. The waiter/cook said it was no problem to pay him two days later, he would than be in the kitchen again.
We paid extra to have the junior suite which has a small balcony overlooking the nice street (only pedestrians, so not much noice but you can hear the music from the old square or people talking Spanish in the street) and a separate livingroom which we didn't use. The furniture is Spanish and old. All the rooms have nice stone floors and low ceilings and some only have small windows in the double doors whitch open towards the patio on one off the inner balcony's. This is an 18th century mansion in the middle off town, still original so no (large) windows. If you are used to Hilton or Holiday Inn don't book this hotel. If you do love authenticity including some minor handicaps, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bart_Didy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We had spent the first week of our holiday at the all inclusive Blau Costa Verde and had a wonderful time and was looking forward to spending our second week in Cuba at the Beltran "boutique" Hotel. The hotel itself was very pretty and traditional. However, the first day, we had no bath towels, just hand towels. Second day we had to ask for toilet roll, third day we had no bath mat, which made the bathroom floor treacherous, fourth day - no toilet roll again. Safe didn't work and we were told we would have to wait until the next day for the man to come to sort it out, man never appeared, so we resorted to locking our valuables in our suitcase.
What can I say about breakfast??
Day 1 - one glass of fruit juice, four slices of grapefruit, four slices of orange (I can't eat grapefruit because of some medication I am on, so hubby had my grapefruit, I had his orange), choice of boiled or scrambled eggs - I chose boiled, hubby had scrambled, both arrived covered in tomato ketchup. Basket of bread, plate of butter, two small pots of jam. No tea or coffee offered. Husband asked for tea, they unpadlocked the fridge to get a teabag and then repadlocked it. Husband then had to ask for milk to go with his tea, then had to ask for sugar to go with tea and milk!.
Day 2 - one glass of fruit juice, four slices of grapefruit, four slices of orange (same as before, hubby ate grapefruit, I ate orange), choice of boiled eggs or omelette - I chose boiled, hubby had omelette, asked for no ketchup. Basket of bread, plate of butter, two small pots of jam. No tea or coffee offered. Husband asked for tea, they unpadlocked the fridge to get a teabag and then repadlocked it. Husband then had to ask for milk to go with his tea, then had to ask for sugar to go with tea and milk!.
Day 3 - no fruit juice, four slices of grapefruit, four slices of orange (ditto as before), both chose omelette, asked for no ketchup. Basket of bread, plate of butter, two small pots of jam. No tea or coffee offered. Husband asked for tea, they unpadlocked the fridge to get a teabag and then repadlocked it. Husband then had to ask for milk to go with his tea, then had to ask for sugar to go with tea and milk!.
Day 4 - no fruit juice, four slices of grapefruit, four slices of orange (ditto as before), both chose omelette - this time we had one omelette cut in half and shared between us, asked for no ketchup. Basket of bread, plate of butter, two small pots of jam. No tea or coffee offered. Husband asked for tea, they unpadlocked the fridge to get a teabag and then repadlocked it. Husband then had to ask for milk to go with his tea, then had to ask for sugar to go with tea and milk!.
Day 5 - fruit juice was back - but was diluted with fizzy water, four slices of grapefruit, four slices of orange (ditto as before), both chose boiled eggs, asked for no ketchup. Basket of "toast" which looked as if he had been waved in front of the grill - sent it back and asked if it could be toasted a bit more, plate of butter, two small pots of jam. No tea or coffee offered. Husband asked for tea, they unpadlocked the fridge to get a teabag and then repadlocked it. Husband then had to ask for milk to go with his tea, then had to ask for sugar to go with tea and milk!.
Day 6 - icing on the cake - fruit juice was again diluted with fizzy water, four slices of grapefruit, no orange - husband now getting sick of grapefruit - on this occasion he couldn't eat it all as it consisted mainly of rind with very little flesh, managed to eat two slices. Both chose boiled eggs with no ketchup. Waitress asked how long we wanted them cooked for - we said 3 minutes, 20 minutes later they arrived. Basket of "bread" arrived, however this would have failed a trade description - it was crusty bread with no bread - all the middle had fallen out and they just served up the crusts. We sent it back asking for some bread in the crusts. Plate of butter arived - unbelievably drizzled in tomato ketchup, no jam. No tea or coffee offered. Husband asked for tea, they unpadlocked the fridge to get a teabag and then repadlocked it. Husband then had to ask for milk to go with his tea, then had to ask for sugar to go with tea and milk!.
Check Out - we had not heard from our rep regarding pick up time for transfer to airport, so I asked reception if he had left a message, she said no, but offered to phone him to get the time, which she did. We paid to keep our room a bit longer as we were not leaving the hotel until 10pm, left our room at 7pm, handed our key to receptionist who handed it straight to the maid who ran upstairs to check the room and make sure we hadn't taken anything from the minibar! Then the receptionist asked us for one peso for the phone call we had made from the room. I said that we hadn't used the hotel pohone at all, we had our mobiles with us and would have used them if we had needed to call anyone. She then proceeded to reel off the number we had rang and the date and time, it materialised that this was the phone call the receptionist had made to the rep!
We were so disappointed with out stay here, the staff were unfriendly and unattentive, the chef spent most of the time standing in the doorway of the kitchen smoking and talking to the other staff. The staff were also quite keen on watching television, drinking, smoking and shouting at each other into the early hours of the morning - once until 4.45am - they need to find the mute button on the television remote control as a minimum.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickeymoos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked in advance for a dubble room in hotel Betran de Santa Cruz. Paid by creditcard, arrived on time, but never got in... While handing our papers, the man at the receptiondesk told as that due to unforseen circumstances, the room was not avalaible. The airco was broken and they were repairing it.
But no problem: they had an alternative room in another hotel of equal standard: hotel Los Frailes, just around the corner.
So when you book in advance, by internet, paid, keep in mind that probably you'll hear the same: 'I'm sorry to inform you that due to technical problems..'

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank Bucanero_Rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed for just 2 nights before going on to Vinales, so the tour operator just chose this hotel for us as it wasn't the main part of our holiday.
We were extremely happy with the location, and the cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. Our room was amazing overlooking the inner courtyard and was so spacious for just the 2 of us,
Our room safe didn't work which was a shame, but they immediatley offered us another room, even bigger than the first, but not as much ambience, so we just stuck it out with the first and nothing bad happened thankfully.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

The building was beautiful, location perfect. Water did go off once, but it wasn't a major problem. The room was nice too. The staff were lovely when checking in. For 2 people sharing we were quoted 110 CUC/night, but we very easily got them down to 90 CUC/night. Breakfast, as the other reviews say, was unimpressive - no buffet, you get bread basket with a few spreads, and eggs, and one (just one!) glass of some kind of fruit juice. Water costs 3 CUC for 500ml - a complete rip off (you can buy it for a tenth of the price elsewhere in Havana). The staff got a bit rude. After the breakfast they asked us did we want to have dinner there (15 CUC, again, can eat out in nice places more cheaply including the restaurant in the nearest corner of the Plaza Vieja - 30 seconds' walk), and after that breakfast I didn't even bother to look at the menu. Some stuff got a bit rude, especially Osaina (spelling may be wrong) who was so nice before she got our money off us - when we were leaving, and chatting in lobby, she actually, while waving angrily, told us to be quiet (we were talking at a conversational volume) because she was on the phone - no way to treat your customers, whether or not they let you rip them off. If you don't mind any of the above stay there - no seriously - if rude staff don't bother you, it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duineeigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

A group of nine of us travelled to Cuba last January/February 08 and I have to say it was an amazing experience. We travelled from Havana to Las Terrazas, Vinales, Australia, Cienfuegos, Trinidad and back to Havana. The whole experience was easier than I had anticipated, given what I had read on blogs etc., but if you are a traveller that likes luxury, I would say that Cuba is not the place for you. If however, you are a somewhat adventurous traveller with a fairly open mind, go and experience Cuba.. quite a contradiction at times, but fascinating.
Now to the Beltran, where we arrived after realising that we had just been ripped off by the taxi driver (one of the liabilities of travelling in Cuba, which is a shame, because not everyone is like this). The Beltran was the perfect start to our trip. There were three of us, so we had the suite with two rooms, a bathroom and a small balcony that we immediately investigated. We were thrilled to open the doors and let the sights and sounds of Havana in. The sound of Cuban music drifted down the narrow, cobbled street from the square, it was warm and humid, and the people opposite were just going about their daily lives. In the morning we watched the schoolchildren in their uniforms go to school. The Beltran is in the heart of Old Havana and a great place from which to explore and get a sense of life in Havana for Cubans too. The courtyard was a great place to have breakfast every morning. Was the breakfast the best I have ever had? No, but not the worst and again, one should not go to Cuba and expect a gourmet experience. Yes, the water was a little sporadic, but we managed. Again this is something to expect in Cuba if you do any research before you go! Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, I think it just depends who is on.
Overall I would recommend this hotel, but not to someone who is looking for luxury. Book the suite, with the balcony and watch and hear Havana go by!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lthompso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#22 of 80 in Havana
763 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#17 of 80 in Havana
861 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#19 of 80 in Havana
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Los Frailes
Hotel Los Frailes
#25 of 80 in Havana
490 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#46 of 80 in Havana
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz

Address: C/ San Ignacio 411 entre Sol y Muralla, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $243 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Beltran De Santa Cruz Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing