We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveller rating
508
581
203
80
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
581
203
80
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmezzanine barrooftop poolpatio roomjunior suitefree wificapitol buildingold havanaother hotelsbeautiful hotelcigar factoryseparate showerinternational standardsrooms are spaciouscuban hotelsel floriditabreakfast buffetparque central
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

The place is a typical cuban hotel very close to Habana's center.

If you can afford it, it is a great pleace to stay because it keeps its ancient and charming atmosphere while enjoying all the amenities of a modern and comfortable hotel (compared to the recent Manzana Hotel, which does not feel cuban at all).

The swimming pool on the roof top is great.

Your are very well situated: close to Habana Vieja, 2 minutes by foot from Parque Central.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sh4KrA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Public Relations Manager at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Sh4KrA,

Thank you for your nice review about Saratoga hotel on our TripAdvisor page.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time and enjoyed the ambience. The location of the hotel is indeed ideal for our clients who really appreciate being so close to Habana's center. We will share your comments with our teams who will be happy to hear your comment.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. Very well located and pleasant staff. Whilst a bit on the old side the hotel is fairly well maintained with an old world charm about it. The breakfast is adequate. The rooftop pool and bar is a bonus. I would stay here again on a return trip to Cuba.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Argy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear Argy39,

We appreciate so much your review!. Everything you have said is useful and helps us to perfect our services.Thank you for expressing such a positive opinion about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Ok so we arrived just after hurricane Irma so we forgave a lot on first night -however CUstomer service was non existent
Check in the girl was rude -we asked for water were told we had to buy it despite being told and advertised we had complimentary water and cocktail-we never saw that cocktail

Location not nearly as good as iborestar or the amazing Gran Hotel MAnzana which is where we would choose to stay

Rooms stunk of cigarette and cigars _air conditioner really didn't work , pillows were awful bathroom ok

Restaurant service was just awful -pool service the worst ever
Do yourself a favour and check in elsewhere this is not the no 1 hotel as advertised the pictures lie

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank dispeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Public Relations Manager at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear dispeaks,

We appreciate your review, even though it has been mostly negative, as your comment helps us to improve the quality of our customer services. We would like to know more details about your stay to make an analysis more objective of what happened. However, we apologize for the inconvenience and we will effort more to achieve that our image reflects exactly the reality of the service we offer to our guests.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Saratoga with our 1 year old baby for 5 nights last week. We had a great time. Hotel is very charming, quaint and beautifully decorated. Location is perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful and check in was easy. I don't think it's great value for money but Havana is very overpriced anyway. The mezzanine bar was great and the rooftop pool was all we needed after a day out exploring the hot streets of Havana. Breakfast was not included and they charged 24 CUC per person if I'm not mistaken. That was a huge let down. Instead we would have breakfast in one of the many cafes in town and never spent more than 15CUC for both of us. After 5 nights we then left and moved to Varadero where we caught Hurricane Irma which turned everything into chaos. We got our flights back home cancelled for 3 days and we then came back to Havana only to find every single hotel in town fully booked or closed because of damages post-Irma. So, for our surprise Saratoga had a room available and welcomed us very well again one more time. A few days after the hurricane and most parts of Old Havana still suffered without electricity, water or internet but we had no issues whatsoever. So overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly come back in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Public Relations Manager at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Nat G,

We appreciate your opinion about our hotel and our doors will always be open to welcome our guests with hospitality and professionalism. Thank you for choosing us again as your ideal place to stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

I switched my room from the Kempinski to the Saratoga, thinking it would be a little more authentic. Not only was it not, everything else became that much harder, the stay less enjoyable and the value-for-money just poor.

Booking was a total pain and none of the "third-party" links they sent for US payment worked. That means even more US cash at a bad exchange rate. BTW, the people who checked out next to me didn't have enough cash and said they were misinformed by whoever took their reservation. The hotel gave them a hard time but after 20 minutes figured out how to charge their US credit cards.

The junior suite looked great with a balcony facing the Capitol building. Unfortunately, two out of three showers were cold. If the beeping cars and buses throughout the night weren't bad enough, the barking homeless dog right outside the hotel was the icing. You'll wake up at least once an hour with one of these rooms.

As far as location is concerned, the Hotel is on the wrong side of the capitol... add 10 minutes to most restaurants and destinations you want to walk to. The facilities are nice, though the lobby's lack the character and grandness of the larger hotels. Security is a little bit of a concern... when my room card stopped working they made another one without even asking my name. I also left the tip for maid service out on the night table the night before departing because I wanted the currency set aside before leaving in the morning, but it wasn't there when I got back from dinner.

Don;t get me wrong, it's not a terrible hotel but for one of the most expensive in the city they don't provide the requisite level of service. Booking and paying for the Kempinski was easy. The concierge is totally responsive, reservations are made in less than an hour... not a day or two. Walking in (since you have to pass it to get anywhere) and talking to the staff and guests, everything is just easier. Same thing with the Iberostar, which is where all the Europeans go as opposed to all the Americans going to the Saratoga.

Very disappointing... not worth the money or the inconveniences

Room Tip: High floor, not facing street. Take showers early.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Eric W,

We´re sorry because of your stay at the Saratoga has not been the best, since our main interest is that all our guests have a pleasant and unforgettable experience in our hotel. Concerning to the negative points you have referred, we’re analyzing them and will take the corresponding actions to prevent them. Regarding to the security, we usually ask for the name of the guest and his room, but in this case, the Reception staff already knew you and they didn’t want to bother you asking for your name and room number again, because we always try to offer a personalized treatment to our clients.
However, we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your review as an opportunity to improve the quality of our services.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews