We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Rooms but pretty cool rooftop pool”
Review of Saratoga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Hotel
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Rooms are comparable to a 3 star hotel in the states, however hotel does have a pretty cool rooftop pool which has a nice view of Havana.
Notwithstanding, not really many alternatives, and hotel even comes with wifi.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Galen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Galen F,

We're very pleased to hear your opinion about our hotel and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Once again, thank you so much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

The place is a typical cuban hotel very close to Habana's center.

If you can afford it, it is a great pleace to stay because it keeps its ancient and charming atmosphere while enjoying all the amenities of a modern and comfortable hotel (compared to the recent Manzana Hotel, which does not feel cuban at all).

The swimming pool on the roof top is great.

Your are very well situated: close to Habana Vieja, 2 minutes by foot from Parque Central.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sh4KrA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Public Relations Manager at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Sh4KrA,

Thank you for your nice review about Saratoga hotel on our TripAdvisor page.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time and enjoyed the ambience. The location of the hotel is indeed ideal for our clients who really appreciate being so close to Habana's center. We will share your comments with our teams who will be happy to hear your comment.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. Very well located and pleasant staff. Whilst a bit on the old side the hotel is fairly well maintained with an old world charm about it. The breakfast is adequate. The rooftop pool and bar is a bonus. I would stay here again on a return trip to Cuba.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Argy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Argy39,

We appreciate so much your review!. Everything you have said is useful and helps us to perfect our services.Thank you for expressing such a positive opinion about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Ok so we arrived just after hurricane Irma so we forgave a lot on first night -however CUstomer service was non existent
Check in the girl was rude -we asked for water were told we had to buy it despite being told and advertised we had complimentary water and cocktail-we never saw that cocktail

Location not nearly as good as iborestar or the amazing Gran Hotel MAnzana which is where we would choose to stay

Rooms stunk of cigarette and cigars _air conditioner really didn't work , pillows were awful bathroom ok

Restaurant service was just awful -pool service the worst ever
Do yourself a favour and check in elsewhere this is not the no 1 hotel as advertised the pictures lie

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank dispeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Public Relations Manager at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear dispeaks,

We appreciate your review, even though it has been mostly negative, as your comment helps us to improve the quality of our customer services. We would like to know more details about your stay to make an analysis more objective of what happened. However, we apologize for the inconvenience and we will effort more to achieve that our image reflects exactly the reality of the service we offer to our guests.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Saratoga with our 1 year old baby for 5 nights last week. We had a great time. Hotel is very charming, quaint and beautifully decorated. Location is perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful and check in was easy. I don't think it's great value for money but Havana is very overpriced anyway. The mezzanine bar was great and the rooftop pool was all we needed after a day out exploring the hot streets of Havana. Breakfast was not included and they charged 24 CUC per person if I'm not mistaken. That was a huge let down. Instead we would have breakfast in one of the many cafes in town and never spent more than 15CUC for both of us. After 5 nights we then left and moved to Varadero where we caught Hurricane Irma which turned everything into chaos. We got our flights back home cancelled for 3 days and we then came back to Havana only to find every single hotel in town fully booked or closed because of damages post-Irma. So, for our surprise Saratoga had a room available and welcomed us very well again one more time. A few days after the hurricane and most parts of Old Havana still suffered without electricity, water or internet but we had no issues whatsoever. So overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly come back in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Public Relations Manager at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Nat G,

We appreciate your opinion about our hotel and our doors will always be open to welcome our guests with hospitality and professionalism. Thank you for choosing us again as your ideal place to stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I switched my room from the Kempinski to the Saratoga, thinking it would be a little more authentic. Not only was it not, everything else became that much harder, the stay less enjoyable and the value-for-money just poor.

Booking was a total pain and none of the "third-party" links they sent for US payment worked. That means even more US cash at a bad exchange rate. BTW, the people who checked out next to me didn't have enough cash and said they were misinformed by whoever took their reservation. The hotel gave them a hard time but after 20 minutes figured out how to charge their US credit cards.

The junior suite looked great with a balcony facing the Capitol building. Unfortunately, two out of three showers were cold. If the beeping cars and buses throughout the night weren't bad enough, the barking homeless dog right outside the hotel was the icing. You'll wake up at least once an hour with one of these rooms.

As far as location is concerned, the Hotel is on the wrong side of the capitol... add 10 minutes to most restaurants and destinations you want to walk to. The facilities are nice, though the lobby's lack the character and grandness of the larger hotels. Security is a little bit of a concern... when my room card stopped working they made another one without even asking my name. I also left the tip for maid service out on the night table the night before departing because I wanted the currency set aside before leaving in the morning, but it wasn't there when I got back from dinner.

Don;t get me wrong, it's not a terrible hotel but for one of the most expensive in the city they don't provide the requisite level of service. Booking and paying for the Kempinski was easy. The concierge is totally responsive, reservations are made in less than an hour... not a day or two. Walking in (since you have to pass it to get anywhere) and talking to the staff and guests, everything is just easier. Same thing with the Iberostar, which is where all the Europeans go as opposed to all the Americans going to the Saratoga.

Very disappointing... not worth the money or the inconveniences

Room Tip: High floor, not facing street. Take showers early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Eric W,

We´re sorry because of your stay at the Saratoga has not been the best, since our main interest is that all our guests have a pleasant and unforgettable experience in our hotel. Concerning to the negative points you have referred, we’re analyzing them and will take the corresponding actions to prevent them. Regarding to the security, we usually ask for the name of the guest and his room, but in this case, the Reception staff already knew you and they didn’t want to bother you asking for your name and room number again, because we always try to offer a personalized treatment to our clients.
However, we apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your review as an opportunity to improve the quality of our services.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. There is a great bar. I would avoid the hotel restaurant which was quite more expensive than the wonderful restaurants that Havana can offer. If your room rate does not include breakfast buffet, the room service breakfast menu is surprisingly good value.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUBL.REL.MANAGER, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Saratoga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Ben H,

We thank you for your comment about our hotel and hope to see you soon again. Have a good day,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
2.6 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
4.6 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.7 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,879 reviews
9.1 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Hotel

Address: | Paseo del Prado 603 esquina Dragones, La Habana Vieja, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#9 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: C$414 - C$811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saratoga Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saratoga best pool rooftop view in Havana, 5 star Luxury, 96 rooms and WIFI free. Other services Cradles Direct phone line Satellite TV FREE WIFI Air conditioning Safe in-room Minibar Room service Laundry and ironing 3 Bars 2 Restaurants Dinners and feasts service Buffet and A la Carte Breakfast Parking lot Luggage room 24 hours Reception Service Concierge Tour desk Car rental Business center Spa (Jacuzzi, masaje and steam bath) 2 Meeting rooms Baby sitter service Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Saratoga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing