We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Opinion”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The hotel was located in the old part of Havana which was good for walking along the old streets. However, it was expensive, and many things in the room did not work. No light bulbs in the bedside lamps, no windows either so very dark, bidet in bathroom not connected and the lights on mirror in bathroom didn't work.
However, the terrace/eating area was fine as was the breakfast. We got a good exchange rate at the desk because the nearest ATM wouldn't take either credit or debit cards.
Overall opinion of Havana...interesting to visit once, BUT expensive, shabby, noisy, food indifferent, money not going towards upkeep of hotels, so lots of things just don't work.

Room Tip: Get one of second floor in case lifts stop working. Also many do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClancyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017

The courtyard where breakfast is served is beautiful, but yes we were put in a horrible windowless room too. It was pleasant enough but just a horrible feeling so we asked to move and they did move us the following day to a room with a very small window with bars on it but at least it was better than no window. At the time we travelled, Havana was very expensive so our choice was a little limited. Unfortunately the room they moved us to was on the 3rd floor and between moving there and checking out the lift broke and didnt work again - the only stairs were a dangerous fire exit (i say dangerous as they genuinely were a trip hazard)we had to carry big heavy suitcases down. Food isnt great in Cuba generally so dont expect much. the positive was undoubtedly the beautiful courtyard. If its an expensive time then this hotel isnt too bad would be my overall assessment.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

For her 70th Birthday celebration treat, my sister chose Cuba as we Americans are now allowed to travel to Cuba. Through Trio Advisor I chose this hotel. This site sent to Hotelsclick I booked 5 days for S1085.00 paid & was confirmed.On our arrival the front desk would not make eye contact gave us a letter telling us we had been directed to another hotel. This did not provide transport and we ended staying getting downgraded to Park View Hotel. My sister dealt with the disappointment and proceeded. I wrote on this hotel's question time line informing them of this important event. They had my contact information & I was not informed of the change. Here is the confirmation:
Service: H2017-1464
Supplier: JUMBO TOURS
Supplier reference: 7823603836/7115625
Hotel name: PALACIO O'FARRILL
Address: Calle Cuba 102 - 108 Entre Chacón Y Tejadillo, 10100
City: HAVANA
Arrival: 02/06/2017
Departure: 02/11/2017
Booking status:Confirmed
Creation date: 01/04/2017 16:43:39
Last modified: 01/04/2017 16:57:37
Cancellation deadline: 01/12/2017 18:00
Total: 1.085,00 USD

Stayed: February 2017
3  Thank 630rolanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Trip Advisor & their site directed me to Hotelclicks.com.
I booked it for a special reason my sister turned 70 & she choose this hotel because she wanted the old Cuba style.
Hotelclicks.com was the booking agent & they processed the reservation & accepted the payment of $1085.00 then sent me the confirmation ema. I provided all my contact information. The booking on the confirmation voucher is done by Jumbo Tours.
We got to the hotel at 5:00pm the reservation clerk refuse to look us in the eye then sheepishly gave us an envelope that said we were not at this hotel instead they downgraded us to Park View they did not provide us with a taxi & the letter explained nothing .
We had no choice but get & pay for a taxi to take us to Park View Hotel.
This spoilt the Birthday celebration for my sister as no one informed us before our arrival. I think Trip Advisor is responsible for ruling my sisters 70th Birthday in Cuba. Has any one else had this experience & how have they handled it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The building entrance is very nice, but looking a little faded. I had a room on the 1st floor, it was a decent size, but had lots of minor, but annoying maintenance issues.
The door stuck wen you tried to open and close it. The walls were crumbling (to the point the plaster powder fell off if you touched it). The shower worked but was a major hit/miss in terms of temperature. Oh, and don't be first down for breakfast, you might end up wth the left overs from the day before!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The structure of the building is nice but very old and so are the rooms. Low lights, dirty towels and bathrooms, unprofessional service. In the evening water was turned down and we could not shower, they said it was going to be restored in the early morning. The day after there was only cold water and the pressure was still very low. Breakfast is just acceptable, the selection is wide but most dishes look bad. Fruit is tasteless, glasses and cutlery are dirty and the buffet is surrounded by flies. We changed few rooms (307, 304, 109, 201, 204) and none of them was acceptable, some have missing light bulbs that were not replaced when asked. Rooms on the second floor are larger and have higher ceiling colored with mould (the picture is from room 201) which makes air conditioning very smelly. I did not expect European standards in Cuba but this is unacceptable. Do not trust the travel agency if they sponsor this hotel, we did the same and it was a mistake.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CoolerThanBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialOFarrill, Director Comercial at Hotel Palacio O'Farrill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear guest, we really appreciate your comments about your experience in our hotel, which undoubtedly we will take into consideration for improving the accommodation services we offer. This puts us in the commitment to improve every day for you, our dear customers.
Undoubtedly we will do our best to achieve this, while we invite you to join us at the next opportunity to change your perception.

Thank you for choosing us.

We are looking forward to your return soon to change your perception.

Best regards on behalf of the entire team,

Commercial Manager
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Great architecture and location but not worth the price. No top in the bathroom so no possibility to take a bath, All tabs leaking, impossible to turn off the light in the bathroom, lift not working when we were on third floor (79 steps), telephone of the whole hotel not working, no wi-fi, limited poor breakfast, in a noisy surrounding. Staff ok. Worth max 50CUC per night.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank voyageurStCyrSurMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialOFarrill, Director Comercial at Hotel Palacio O'Farrill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear guest, we really appreciate your comments about your experience in our hotel, which undoubtedly we will take into consideration for improving the accommodation services we offer. This puts us in the commitment to improve every day for you, our dear customers.
Undoubtedly we will do our best to achieve this, while we invite you to join us at the next opportunity to change your perception.

Thank you for choosing us.

We are looking forward to your return soon to change your perception.

Best regards on behalf of the entire team,

Lidelay Cobas Guillén
Commercial Manager
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#14 of 80 in Havana
1,638 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.3 km away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#20 of 80 in Havana
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
0.9 km away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,363 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio O'Farrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio O'Farrill

Address: Calle Cuba 102 - 108 entre Chacon y Tejadillo, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $242 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio O'Farrill 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Palacio o`Farrill Hotel Havana
Palacio o Farrill Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing