We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and essential starting point for your Cuba travels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Ana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa de Ana
Ranked #9 of 696 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unique and essential starting point for your Cuba travels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We arrived 2 hours later than expected,after an extra-long flight from London,two (older) ladies,pretty well exhausted. I had already had some correspondence with Ana by email -even so, didn't expect to be kissed on both cheeks by Pepe as though I was an old friend arriving. They had waited dinner for us (soup,swordfish,fried banana fritters,salad,ice cream,coffee 12CUC's) and we shared the dinner table with other travellers from Mexico and Sardinia -convivial conversation -then Pepe put the music on and had us all salsa-ing! Suddenly our tiredness was forgotten. Welcome to Cuba!
This is by far the best place to start your journey in Cuba, as Ana & Pepe can advise on everywhere and everything as they've being doing it for a long time. They also have a large network of friends in other towns if you need on-going accomodation. (We had reason to be grateful for this later, when we found ourselves in a "bad" casa, and one of their friends rescued us..) All this without any extra charge.
You'll always find company here too, as it is "Grand Central Station" for other travellers, many of whom are staying at neighbouring places, but come for meals here. Their help and advice is also valuable,especially if you are a first timer to Cuba.
Juri cooks wonderful food and is great fun, there is a safe in your room and a night watchman in the garden all night. The area is safe, with interesting grand old houses in leafy roads, and it's only a 5 CUC taxi ride into Havana Vieja (ask for "Alian"). You can walk to the Western end of the Malecon in 10 mins, which is a nice thing to do on arrival. Unless of course, Pepe has put the music on! Can't wait to return...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoverRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    81
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
107
459
141
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

My Husband and i met Ana and Pepe her husband. What Charming, Friendly, Kind & Gracious hosts. There knowledge of Cuba is HUGE!!!! We got there and they planned our whole trip for us. We Later went to Vinales where Ana organised our accomodation there too and it was wonderful.
We did the walking tour with Pepe and WOW it was fantastic his knowledge is UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!! We never had to wait in a line to get into any place, Pepe knows everyone and they all just waved us in even if others had been waiting to get in. His tour is highly reccommended and reasobly priced too.
They are a wonderful couple and just so interesting to hear all there stories and vast knowledge of Cuba.
I would reccomend anyone to stay with them it is like home away from home.
The neighbourhood is very safe and its only a quick ride in a taxi to old
havana.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinasour_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

This was a return trip for us to Casa de Ana and, once again, we were not dissapointed. Ana & Pepe provide expert advise on the best way to see Havana and this Casa is a delight to visit. Always ready to help us understand the Cuban way of life, Ana is tireless in her efforts to explain what it's like to live in Cuba today. The Casa is clean and simple with private bath, fridge, air conditioning and wall safe in each room. Both times that we have stayed there, we have met guests that were on return trips or had stayed there many times. Their location is a 10 minute taxi ride from Old Havana, or, if you are into hiking, you can walk to the Malicon and follow it all the way into town. If you decide to eat there, the food is plentiful and well prepared - we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourLeaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Could this be the best place in Cuba to stay?
My husband and I had Ana as a contact from a friend. I made contact when i was in Melbourne and set up our stay. Ana is one of the most helpful people i have come across on my travels.
We stayed with Ana's friend Victoria. We had the most amazing experience with this family. The place was clean, friendly and we had great food served up to us.
The location is really safe and we were able to do most of our sight seeing by foot. The house was an easy drive from the main town of Havana and we found living a little out of the city to be much more comfortable.
We took a tour with Ana's husband who has a wealth of knowledge about the city and excellent English.
We cant wait to plan our next trip to Cuba and there is not doubt we will be heading back to Ana's house!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becbec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

There is no doubt that Anna and Pepe will be amongst the nicest cubanis you will meet. Before you know it you will be booked into a friends house in Havana in the sane area, on a Pepe led city tour and with an itinerary if other casas to go to in other areas. All if this is I am sure well intentioned even if the whats in it for Anna and Pepe is never openly discussed. Whilst you pay for the city tour, nothing is ever stated about the arrangements for accommodation, although it is coomon in Cuba for the arranger to get 5CUC from the owner. The accommodation Anna booked for us was variable. No better than we feel we would have found for ourselves. At some locations we were still bumped from one casa to another, so the fact if the reservation through Anna meant little. As for the location if Annas casa, it is very out if the way from most places you might want to visit.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westsidejoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Ana and Pepe are very kind and helpful (they're like a cuban travel agency) and our best experience in Cuba was rent a room in The House of Mary (Ana's sister).
It was our first experience in a casa particular and Tony (Mary's son) and his father was the people we've met in Cuba.
Tony is a cool guy, he's very fun and by him you can have the chance to see the younger side of Cuba speaking in a mixture of english, spanish and italian.
Antonio is better than a history book; he'll help you to find the best way to reach everything you want to see in l'Havana while explaining a lot of things about Cuban history.
Don't miss the occasion to meet this wonderful family

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodama77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

My husband and I had t he pleasure of staying with Ana and Pepe over Xmas holidays. It was the highlight of our tour of Cuba and so glad we started there. The service was terrific - Ana's girls are great. Pepe is a joy to be around, always laughing. Also he offers the best tours of Old Havana. If you want to know ANYTHING, Pepe knows. Ana is also a great trip planner. She can plan and execute your whole Cuba trip if you want. She is extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend La Casa de Ana and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.9 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
3.3 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
1.8 km away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
3.5 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Ana

Property: La Casa de Ana
Address: 17 Street, 1422 - Between 26st And 28st, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 696 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Ana is a B & B in Havana with a family atmosphere located in the central area of El Vedado. Offers two comfortable air-conditioned rooms with private bathroom, minibar, safety boxes. English, French, Spanish and Russian spoken, Cuban food, internet services, and many other facilities. With more than 20 years of experience we are happy to welcome and help you secure your best time on vacation. Ana and Pepe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa De Ana Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing