We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Islazul hotel you can find!!!!”
Review of Hotel e Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel e Gran Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed this hotel. Checkin was quick, rooms are very spacious, water pressure was great and the bed was excellent. Breakfast on the 5th floor was excellent.
The pool is a bit small but acceptable, prices in all area f&b outlets in the hotel are excellent. they don't take advantage like other hotels do.

Would definitely return to this hotel when visiting Camaguey, the best hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplycuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hotel e Gran Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2010

My parents (60) and I (23) did a tailor-made tour of Cuba in July/August 2010. We stayed in Camaguey for 1 night, using it primarily as a half-way point between Trinidad and Santiago de Cuba. The Gran Hotel Camaguey was, in my opinion, a good 4* hotel, but the service really let it down, which is why I’ve given it 3. I’ll break my review into sections:

Check-in/front desk staff: we had booked, and paid for, a double room and a single room, but on check-in they tried to place us in a triple room. My mum accepted at first, but I insisted on the rooms we had booked and paid for, and suddenly, it wasn’t an issue. It may have been a genuine error, but my feeling is that they were trying it on; and they nearly got away with it. We were not told what time breakfast was, or given any info on the hotel facilities (eg pool opening hours). There were two porters/bell boys in the lobby, who completely ignored us, leaving us to take our own cases and bags (not great after 5 hours on the road; plus I have back and pelvic pain). I’m sure we could have asked, but really, this service should be offered.

Rooms: we had a single and a double. The double was very compact; the single much more spacious, but with a much more compact bathroom. Rooms were nice and clean with comfy beds; AC (when I got it to work) was very efficient. Satellite TV in all rooms. Decent wardrobe space, plus bedside tables and a dressing table. Bathroom was fully functioning with a good hairdryer and rainforest showerhead. There are no safes in the rooms, which may put some people off; we locked valuables in our case and had no issues. The rooms were not at all soundproofed and I was disturbed by people banging doors, shouting, etc: I would strongly advise bringing earplugs!

Amenities: the hotel offered very good amenities IMO. They have a small pool, which was nicely set out and very clean, with a poolside bar. There is a ‘piano bar’ leading onto a pretty courtyard, which is very pleasant for drinks. There is a roof-top bar with stunning views open late afternoon until late at night, with plenty of seating. There is also an adjoining snack bar, which we thought we be expensive, but was unbelievably cheap (80 cent for a sandwich; 2 CUC for fried chicken and chips).

Breakfast: along with the staff, this also let the hotel down. The selection was poor: eggs cooked to order, very small amount of fruit, a couple of pastries, and a couple of hot items. One type of juice, and tea and coffee. OK, but not as good as other breakfasts we’ve had.

Location: excellent, very central: close to sights, bars, and restaurants.

I really liked this hotel overall; I loved the traditional decor, and thought it offered very good amenities (like the pool and bars) for a city hotel. Were it not for the room issue, the noisy rooms, and the unhelpful staff, I would probably have given this hotel 4/5.

If anyone would like any further info, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Hotel is centrally located within a decent part of the city, however it is not so easy to find. The Lobby is boringly styled, but thats not the problem The problem lay with the staff. The people working there generally did not want to help you with much, and smiling was definitly something that happened rarely for the hotel staff. The room located on the fourth floor was decent. The loud air conditioning unit taking up the only window was not so nice. I didn't realize till later that night that the loudness of the air conditioner was not as bad as the loudness of the street. The bathroom was very acceptable and probably the only redeeming quality. Breakfast in the morning was served upstairs, and had what you would expect from a cuban hotel. The views from that room were nice, but I guess they were only available during the breakfast hour. The Lobby piano bar which I read about in the lonely planet, was lacking a piano. and the adjoining restaurant was frequented too much by locals and like the rest of the hotel Noone smiles. On checkout day the elevator was broken so that meant 4 floors down to lobby with luggage in the narrow stairwell.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chicoutimi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

* In the city centre
* breakfast was served in the top restaurant: juice, cake and rolls > basic, but hygenic and good
* sun comes into the restaurant and you have a view over the city, which is nice
* lobby is nicely decorated
* BAD: the room > tiny little bathroom
* room at street side > no glass in the windows, only wooden blinds + speaker on the outside wall > radio Cuba starts playing in the street at 6.00 am !!! Noise from people on the street only stops at about 2 am!
* 4 hours of sleep while on holiday > no thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

This hotel was recommended by the Lonely Planet so we headed there in our hire car. The many one-way streets of Camaguey made it difficult to find and we were grateful to have the help of a local on a bike to show us the way (for a small gratuity). The hotel itself is on a one-way street and our vehicle had to be parked in a car park some distance away for a daily fee.
The spacious hotel lobby was once splendid and still looks very nice with it's old- fashioned furniture. Lifts were installed and working, and rooms were set around an atrium on various levels. Our room was small but clean and the bathroom was good. There was a beautiful couryard and small outdoor pool which was very popular for swimming and snacks and drinks. There is also a large bar on th ground floor
We did see the rooftop bar but it was not open while we were there - it has a great view of the city. The dining room on the top floor is spacious and dignified with it's good quality furniture and great views of the city. Food was fairly bland as it was in most Cuban hotels! The buffet breakfasts were good with eggs cooked in various ways as well as fruit. We loved the live music in the restaurant, best we had heard in Cuba and bought one of their CD's which we continue to enjoy at home.
A downside of our stay was all the people in the street who wanted money or to sell us something - a tour, a meal, a cigar etc.
Overall, our three days in this once splendid hotel was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bcmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed at the Gran Hotel for 2 nights during our 3 week Cuba road trip. This hotel would have been a much better experience for us if it hadn't been for the ongoing building work taking place on the same floor level as our room. We literally had to hurdle mounds of debris to get to our room at all times of the day. This proved difficult at nightime with the corridors unlit. Buiding work started early (about 7am).
However, the hotel was clean enough and food was decent for cuban standards. The room wasn't cleaned the following day so we had to ask reception. The views of the town from the roof were good. Rooms were basic and quite small.
Also beware of the hustlers on bikes when you first arrive into town. They are a nightmare to shake off. In the end we had to succumb to them as Camaguey is a difficult place to navigate. On the positive side, we met a lovely old man in Camaguey who we chatted to on a park bench during lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0rmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Well located in centre of town.

Room was facing the street and was incredibly noisy - some kind of air-conditioning unit on the building opposite was working very loudly all night. Room and bathroom generally clean though.

Breakfast not very exciting.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gadriye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.3 km away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#7 of 11 in Camaguey
268 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#3 of 11 in Camaguey
99 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel E La Avellaneda
Hotel E La Avellaneda
#5 of 11 in Camaguey
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.7 km away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,489 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Camaguey
47 reviews
266.2 km away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Gran Hotel

Address: Maceo No. 64 e/ General Gomez e Ignacio | Agramonte, Camaguey, Cuba (Formerly Islazul Gran Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range: $103 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel e Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Gran Camaguey
Hotel e Gran Hotel Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing