We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll need good luck finding this hotel”
Review of San Basilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Basilio Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

A lovely boutique hotel (only 8 rooms) all recentlyrenovated with beautiful mosaic tiling & bathrooms. Very difficult hotel to locate if driving - parking (supervised at night only) in the narrow street . Rooms airconditioned but no pool ( a drawback in the intense heat and humidty of Santiago de Cuba in June/July), fridge in room, luxurious toiletries supplied, breakfast in tiny but pleasant dining room. Easy walk to most attractions (rum museum just down the street) and main shopping street. Staff helpful and nice. Avoid noisy room 2 which is adjacent to reception where the TV is on all night and staff & guests are constantly coming & going. Be sure to have a good map and lots of patience when trying to find this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaigeySouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for San Basilio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

Charming little place on a Santiago back street just a couple of blocks from the beaten path. The hotel has 8 rooms currently all priced 60 cuc year round whether double or single. The rooms are decorated in blue fashion and well furnished with good sized private bathrooms. There is a petit dining room to have your free breakfast and an equally small waiting area for guests when they arrive.

The hotel is situated well with everything you need close by. Plazas Delores, Marti, and Parque Céspedes are all within 10 minutes walking distance. Many drink spots and restaurants are in the area to choose from. A few museums, banks, and the post office are in the vicinity.

Nothing much on the negative side to say about hotel San Basilio. I did find the the mini bar selection in the room to be ridiculously priced and opted to buy my refrescos somewhere else at a much cheaper price. With the a/c on at night there was no noise problem.

A quaint and relaxing hideaway.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank CubanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our room was large and clean with a large clean bathroom.. The Hotel is near all attractions. The family who run it and the staff were great. They don't serve dinner but there are lots of eating places nearby. We parked our car on the street outside the hotel with no problems. They have a night security person who keeps an eye on the cars. There is a man (nothing to do with the hotel) who will "wash" your car with a dirty cloth and little or no water; tell him not to do it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RetiredWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

stayed two nights.staff helpful and pleasant but several problems with the hotel.
1.lack of water in the shower
2.noise of bar/dance venue in the street behind the hotel and early morning noise in the hotel from 6am led to lack of sleep
3.breakfast poor
4.found feral cat in my bedroom when going to bed
5.lack of comfy seating area in courtyard

location great

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank zandie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We stayed in the San Basilio (The faulty towers reference was more than we could resist!) and loved every minute of it. It is tucked a few (2-3) minutes walk from the main square and was in the middle of what seemed to be a residential street in Santiago. It had just been refurbished and we must have been one of the first visitors to the Hotel (BTW, they call it a hostel?) .

We were told that it used to be the house of a wealthy merchant, and the size of the rooms, would seem to back that up, nice little courtyard, and THE most charming group of ladies that ran it with a huge amount of pride and professionalism. I didn't get to see all the rooms, but I would guess there are no more than 10? It has oodles of charm, really comfortable and clean and the style is modern Spanish chic. The best bit is walking around the street outside, real Cuban life is amazing and almost cliched, the area between the San Basilio and the main square is full on and whilst it felt safe, it also felt like a real Cuban experience.

We booked the San Basilio as part of a holiday with an outfit called Captivating Cuba ( www.captivatingcuba.com) I haven't seen the hotel on any other sites, but it may be worth searching. I spoke to a lady called Yasna who was really helpful.

Thoroughly recommended - Cuba is a fantastic place and we are definitely going back

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theclockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Cuba hotels
1.9 km away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,311 reviews
0.6 km away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#10 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
62 reviews
2.6 km away
Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba
Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#7 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
130 reviews
0.4 km away
Gran Hotel Encanto
Gran Hotel Encanto
#6 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
23 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Basilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Basilio Hotel

Address: Calle San Basilio No 403 e/ Ca, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Basilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Basilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Basilio Hotel Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing