We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Victor-DER
Toronto, Canada

Varadero & Acuazul are changing

Review of Hotel Varazul
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 21, 2018
my last experience there in sept 2017 was terrible There was a bad hurricane 3 weeks prior to our visit we had to be patient & we were . during second week of stay they decided to paint the pool it took them more than 7 days ..it was not opened yet. Only 2 beach umbrellas were available one of which the workers monopolised even tourists were waiting for it. It was decided to move them it was than in the morning & it took the workers 3 hrs to move them 100 meters. the beach bar was moved again only open 2 days a week . entertainment only on weekends.
The worst incident SECURITY breach .the main security man front door named "Roberto" was bribed & let in a scam artist twice..this flim -flam man walked all over property trying to scam tourists he failed first time . the second time he stole my fanny pack full of important documents 10 CUCs cigar lighter & expensive cutter. This is unacceptable. staff was not very helpful in trying to lactate this thief..I have been at Acuazul 6 times & have erecomended many friends to stay there as a budget & its central location but staff is changing rapidly .some workers are only after a quick buck ..the whole of Varadero is becoming more commercial & overall pleasantness.& quality of service & worker moral is suffering badly.. I also travel to Holguin 2X yr I find it much more safer & friendly people I Will definitely stay away from Acuazul until. mgmt .wakes up making proper improvements Halo Holguin & Guardalavaca .
Date of stay: September 2017
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$86
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Hotel Varazul
C$89
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hotel Varazul
C$65
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Hotel Varazul
C$41
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from Hotel Varazul
Free parking
Beachfront
C$102
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$102
  • Vio.com
3.0 km from Hotel Varazul
Free parking
Beachfront
Breakfast place
C$79
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hotel Varazul
Free parking
Patio trasero de la casa
C$34
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$34
2.0 km from Hotel Varazul
View more hotels in Varadero
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
0
0
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
0
1
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2016

I arrived at the hotel after having already been in Cuba for a week. I was very unwell on arrival, unfortunately I must have eaten something bad. I was told my room was not ready, and it would be ready in 3 hours. I walked away to get some water and use the bathroom, and returned to tell them i could not wait. My room was miraculously ready. I used the lift which was stinking and very dark, which made up my mind that in future i will always use the stairs. The room was basic. It had a Safe, which i was given a key for with my room key. The Air conditioning unit was at the base of my bed and was extremely loud. It was also very cold. If i turned it off it was then too hot. I couldnt win! While lying in bed i noticed that at the base of the balcony door there was an ant infestation. The bathroom was in need of a clean and to be decorated. The toilet had no seat, and the flush was fluctuent. The lights did not work within the bathroom and i had to report this. The shower/bath tap lever fell off after the slightest of touches. The water came out brown and i had to run it for a while to get rid of the sediment. My room was not cleaned for the 4 days i was there. My sheets were straightened and occassionaly i was given a fresh towel.

The bar in the reception was great, and the soft drinks were all bottled. you could get water in a cup however you had to buy water in bottles from the shop at the front of the hotel.

The Snack Bar served ham and cheese baps which were disgusting and undercooked!

The beach was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and i spent most of my time here. There is an area with palm leaf beach umbrellas and sun loungers for hotel patrons, and a duty security guard who enforced this. He also had a set of binoculars and kept an eye on everybody swimming in the sea. There is a bar around 30m from the beach which is part of the hotel and all inclusive.

I decided against going in the swimming pool as it was murky.

The food was left out during the whole buffet time and i was severly put off by eating anything during my stay. I ate at other bars around the area.

There was not very much to do in Varadero, i was most unimpressed and ready to go home!

Room tip: the higher the floor the better i would say.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Bungle6866
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 25, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: no reservar en este hotel.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room tip: en el bloque de aquazul que son habitaciones no apartamentos.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews