We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time -- great”
Review of La Casa del Chef

La Casa del Chef
Ranked #19 of 112 Restaurants in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time -- great”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First time to La Casa del Chef was last April. Returned Feb/12 -- Everything was great. Charming place with great food, service and entertainment. Our friends said it was the highlight of their trip.

Returning to Varadero on a girls trip this April -- looking forward once again to sharing the experience of Casa del Chef!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lola017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    96
    28
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lac du Bonnet
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge Lobster”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

FOR the price of 14 CUC,12-14 oz tail,nice salad,soup and dessert. Wine good price also. Daniel mgr quite a character,serving girls friendly,polite.
Recommend this to others when visiting Varadero.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lobster at a great price,, Highly recommend.”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

First off I read about this restaurant on TripAdvisor prior to going to Varadero and put it on a list of 3 restaurants that I wanted to try. I only made it to two out of the three; this one and Kikis.

This restaurant is in a good location and has a really nice atmosphere. I really liked the outside dining option that was well decorated with murals and had other nice touches.

There are two mangers that work here taking turns one night on one night off. The night that we where there we had the pleasure of having Dariel(SP) as our server. He was funny, and really made us feel like we where the only ones there. My family of 5 all thought that he was great.

My wife, daughter(15), son(12) and myself all had the Lobster Special. It consisted of a serving of soup, a salad, the main course being One and a Half Lobster Tails grilled to Perfection with a Tomato type sauce, rice and some sort of fried plantain or something. And then desert. All of this cost only $14 CUC's!!! My son(6) decided to just have fish. He is a fussy eater at the absolute best of times but he even managed to eat most of his meal.

I have had lobster many times, and at another restaurant in Varadero on this particular trip and this was defiantly tops for me. I was disappointed that I decided to try lobster at another restaurant and not come back to Casa Del Chef. I will not make that mistake again.

Go and Enjoy!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank northernontarioDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food poisoning alert!!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I read the reviews here, and we decided to go to this restaurant during our Varadero trip. It was also pretty close to where we stayed. My husband ordered lobster and I ordered fish.
First difficulty for us, to communicate. The staff didn't know English. Although we pointed to the menu items, they still screwed it up.

Second, they were missing half the items in the meals- they just left blank spaces in the plate instead of increasing the other portions.

Third, the lobster meal consisted of a very small lobster tail, a tiny horrendous salad, and about one table spoon of half cooked rice. Doesn't lobster usually come with butter????

Fourth, the fish meal included about three ounces of very blend and funny tasting (like soap. Humm maybe they washed the fish with soap for hygiene issue??) Fish, one table spoon of cold half cooked rice and 3 slices of fried banana (hideous).

Fifth, the fish was rotten, I got food poisoning, I wishes I had died.

Sixth, bill came to 24 CUC, gave them 30 CUC, we waited for 10 minutes for change, no one came back to the table.

Seventh, DID WE MENTION FOOD POISONING????????

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HIRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, B.C.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Close to all”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had the lobster dinner $ 14 for soup, salad, rice, lobster and dessert.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa del Chef also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to La Casa del Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing