We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MelDeCoteau
Toronto

Very Humble, 60's well maintained boutique ranch style villa/ Excellent-Quality/Price

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 25, 2015
Not for the everyone. True. and if not for you better know the truth. Please check yourself and your attitude out. This properties grounds are well maintained. See we pay so little that it barely leaves profit for them to eat. We have to fairly recognise that the are isolated and doing as best with what is available. I always complement my trips to Islazul with a Bubba ( refillable non bacterial stainless steel mug ) , a flashlight, a summer sleeping bag with my fav. pillow in my suitcase. It fits and it's worth it. Skin so soft and a bottle of Raid. That all - the rest is PERFECT :) what do you expect? They do their best with what they have, enjoy it for what it is and be kind. Very Humble, 60's well maintained boutique ranch style villa. Loved it.
Date of stay: August 2015
Room Tip: Bring your duvet, sleeping gears, pillow and you are set, it's Varadero! not the room...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$81
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
C$102
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$102
  • Vio.com
3.1 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
Free parking
Beachfront
C$39
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
Free parking
Beachfront
Terraza ideal para la lectura, el café en la mañana y el disfrute de las bellezas naturales locales.
C$78
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
Free parking
Beachfront
Breakfast place
C$78
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
Free parking
C$110
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
C$78
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Islazul Villa Sotavento
View more hotels in Varadero
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
2
4
9
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
4
9
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed at Villa Sotavento Jan 29- Feb 6.The villa was at the end of 13th street there were three rooms on the main floor and two on the second floor. There was a full kitchen , and living room area with couches and dinette set and tv. The beach bar was right beside my Villa ,the Awesome 5star beach was 50ft from me. The room was simple 2 brand new beds , TV, air conditioner that worked well. There are no telephones or fridges in the room , but the same goes for the main hotel Acuazul. The buffet is smaller but is the same at any resort in Cuba. The front desk staff were great and the maid did an excellent job (leave a tip and you get the excellent service.) The Villas are being painted and repaired but in Cuba things move on 'Cuban Time" This is my 5th visit to Varadero and my 7th visit to Cuba. For the price this resort was fine. Cuba is Cuba any one who has been down more than once knows what to expect. The people are awesome and the beach is a 5 star.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
37  Thank BrandonJames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2015

This is the worst vacation I've had in Cuba. The flight was delayed by four hours. Instead of arriving around 7 pm, we arrived at the hotel past midnight. There was no food available, just drinks at the 24 hour lobby bar. The front-desk clerk was pleasant and helped me promptly and gave me room 5 in house number 428 Camino del Mar.
The house is freshly painted. Room 5 is up two flights of stairs.

The meals are taken at the main Hotel Acuazul about a 5 minute walk from the house. Any business concerning accomodations are taken care of at Hotel Acuazul front-desk

Here is a description:
THE BAD
1. The door was jammed tight on the door frame so I had to bump it hard to open it.
2. There was no night-table lamp and a light was out in the room.
3. The safe had no lock. Useless!
4. There was no telephone in the room.
5. The television cable was disconnected, and even after I connected it myself (because after reporting it broken no one came to fix it), the reception was poor, the image had a lot of interference, ie; snow, and poor audio.
6. The toilet had no toilet seat and didn't flush. I had to flush by using a small garbage can as a bucket and dumping buckets full of water in the toilet bowl.
7. There was no shower curtain. After showering the bathroom floor was all wet.
8. For towels, I had four hand towels that were not replaced for the whole stay.
9. In the dinning room the tablecloths were filthy.
10. Out of four times I attempted to exchange money I was successful once.
11. Rum based drinks were served with inferior brands rums.

THE GOOD
1. The air conditioner worked well.
2. The room was freshly painted.
3. The pillow cases and sheets were fairly new and clean.
4.The mattress was comfortable.
5. The tap water was drinkable
6. The staff was friendly.
7. The food was ok. Different kinds of meats, fish, beef, chicken. Limited choice of salads, cheeses, fruits, fruit juices. Coffee at the dining room was from a vending machine.
8. There was nightly entertainment. A pool table and a ping-pong table.
9. There weren't many mosquitoes.
10. Lots of police presence day and night, It is very safe!

Room tip: If you get a bad room like I did. Ask to have a look at other rooms before you haul all your stuff to the next room!!
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Alfredo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 28, 2019
Google Translation

Room tip: no puedo recomendar
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 23, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews