We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real five stars in Cuba”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a real five stars in Cuba”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great beach. The main pool was closed but there three other pools. Standard room was a large suite. Beautiful landscape. Excellent ``a la carte``restaurants. Buffet restaurant was one of the best we have eaten to. No problems to find chairs under a pallappa. Beautiful golf course included. Live music in the lobby after dinner. Staff very helpful and always smiling. We will go back!

Room Tip: chose a room in the bungalos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, its restaurants and the golf course neraby to the hotel

Concerning the pool, last summer, 2012 we renovated the main pool and nowadays it looks fantastic

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,096
    1,527
    443
    166
    71
See reviews for
640
2,917
345
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My aunt and I visited MLA April 27 to May 4 and it was just as we remembered if not better. This is the place i will be visiting for years to come. The staff are always so friendly and so helpful I couldn't imagine finding a better place to stay then here. Thank you to our friends at the lobby bar who always kept a smile on my face and a drink in my hand Annie, Yusie, Leslie, and Emilio.

Last year we did the a La Carte Restuarants but this year we decided that the buffet had everything we wanted. Thank you to Enrique, Cecilio, Valdin, Rosa, Aldo and a special thank you to Juan Calos and Charlie. I must recommend at the buffet that if they are cooking the fried bananas to try them they are delicious (thank you to the nice woman that cooked me one unfortunatly I never got her name). Thank you to everyone we had an amazing trip again and can not wait to go back next year or earlier!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Day101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent 2 weeks there in April 2012. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the beach and pools equally great. We had an oceanview room and loved it. Some of the a la cartes were great, but the food at the seafood place was largely inedible. The buffet was not good overall. The resort's proximity to the Varadero Golf Club was wonderful and what a great course and clubhouse. Service was pretty much awful. The front desk didn't care about us or our stay; the bartenders were often rude (one of the mocked me in Spanish because I wanted less sugar in my Mohito), although the wait staff in the restaurants were better. This was our first time in Cuba and our first time in an adults only resort, and we were very uncomfortable by the sex tourism. It's unfortunate that a 5 star hotel would allow, even endorse such behavior. The number of old European men with young Cuban women was bad enough, but when a group of 7 old Germans checked in with 3 15-16 year-olds, I felt like checking out.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the problems you experienced and the deficiencies in the quality of our services.

In our regular Quality and Guest Service Meetings we analysed carefully all remarks received from the guest questionnaires, emails and the TripAdvisor. Your comments have been of great value and we have taken the necessary measures to avoid the occurrence of similar situations in the future.

Regarding your comments about our personnel, we analysed it with their Heads of Department and corrective actions have been taken to guarantee that the quality of their service excels the first-rated one provided by our Hotel chain.

We are really surprised by your comments regarding the persons you mentioned stayed in our hotel, We guarantee you that as our hotel is adult only( 18 years an over). for this reason, we do not have any client staying with us under 18 years old, in other hand we do not have any report of any bad behaviour of any of our clients during the month you stayed with us, if that had happened, We would applied the permission of admission´s principle.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Melia Las Americas in the future when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have a very enjoyable stay.

Regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Melia Las Americas
Varadero, Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Once again we visited Melia Las Americas and it never fails to impress us. This was our 16th visit and I would return tomorrow if possible. If they had a red carpet I'm sure they would roll it out for us. This hotel strives to give its guests the best possible vacation. Front Desk Staff are amazing and amusing, dining room staff welcomes you with open arms - they never forget you and we have not been able to visit since last April! The pianists in the bar are amazing and always appreciate a bit of applause.

Zahily has our suite arranged and the Bell Captain simply delivers our luggage without even being asked. I get concerned when I read reviews that don't appreciate the culture of the Cuban lifestyle. A smile goes a long way to getting great service - you give the smile to get one back no matter where you are.

The beach staff keeps things hopping with very amusing games and contests and Julio (no matter what costume he's wearing) will make even the sternest visitor smile. I am a health nut and enjoy exercising. Ludmilla and Lazaro are great - I got my two hours of exercise in every morning. Nancy at the breakfast buffet made sure I had my proper amount of fruit each morning. Thank you, Nancy - you made every morning great.

I truly cannot give enough praise to Melia Las Americas for its class and old world charm. As my previous reviews have indicated, we have travelled extensively over the years and stayed in some amazing places, but I would board the next flight to Varadero and Melia Las Americas in the blink of an eye - and wipe away the tears when we would have to leave again.

May I suggest to readers that Cuba is not Canada or USA or Europe - it's Cuba with all it wonders and music and happiness. If you don't enjoy yourself - maybe you should look inward - the Cuban people are wonderful and the service you receive will be equal to the effort you put in to having the most wonderful vacation in the most wonderful hotel in a fantastic spot.

You meet the nicest people at the Melia Las Americas - I hope we're two of them.

Room Tip: We don't spend enough time in our room to give a helpful tip - but we enjoy whatever room we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

We are very happy that you enjoyed your second home in your 16th time specially because the friendness of our staff as Zahily( Our Quality Manager), Julio( Our Show Man), Ludmilla and Lazaro ( Our thai Shi and Yoga traineers), Nancy at the breakfast who made every morning great for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in April 2012. The hotel is very clean and the staff all friendly. Our room was spacious, we paid a small amount when booking to upgrade to an ocean view which was well worth the money. The buffet restaurant was very good, they always had a very large choice and the service was fine. The food was not as hot as we would have liked on a few occasions but that was my only gripe. The beach is lovely with more than enough sunbeds and sun shades.
The lobby bar was always popular and the girls work very hard to keep everyone happy.
Overall this is a very nice hotel, we would certainly go back so don't worry about the negatives you read in other reviews some people are too picky.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view, it is not expensive and well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westiebigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, because our friendly staff , our spacious rooms

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. It will be my pleasure to greet you once again

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have been reading the reviews for Melia Las Americas and had to comment. We were there July, 2011, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We were very disappointed that the main pool was under repair but we did make the best of a bad situation. The ocean is right there, no long walk just to get there. We are pool people so we did stay by the pool close to the closed pool and we could still see the ocean and watch all the activities. The food was great in the buffet restaurant and also in the a la carte restaurants we visited. The entertainment was amazing as were all the staff. Our room was in the main building on the grould floor and was fantastic. We met truly amazing people here and can't wait to get back. We will be there again in July of this year. Looking forward to it!

Room Tip: We only saw our room and thought it was great. We stayed in the suite deluxe romance room, had a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent our honeymoon there in April.
Reception, check-in and check-out: very low standards. The people at reception are unfriendly, uninterested and you can't get a tiny smile out of any of them, not to mention if you need any information. This applies to the managers as well there(well, if they were managers), as unfortunately we had to deal with them. We had an accident in our room, and I won't go into details, but the "help" from the reception and later from customer service was awful. The customer service is okay, if you only use them for general enquires, but if you have a complain, it is better you do not even bother to go there. Having said that, this is the only part of the hotel which needs improvement.
The hotel in general: clean, tidy, every part is always checked, the waiters are checking tables etc. non stop. The building itself is beautiful and grand-certainly better than anything else in Cuba.
Food, restaurants: very good. I have read a lot of comments about the Japanese, Seafood and Italian restaurants portions(taster menu). Well, the portion sizes are small indeed, but there is a lot of them, and we were satisfied. Also they are very tasty. We absolutely LOVED the International restaurant(we went back there twice), they call it international, but it really is posh british, with the same service from the waiters(and same language knowledge)what you would get in a five star restaurant in London. Also they have live band playing there(classicals). The buffet was more than ok, loads of food.
Rooms: we stayed in one of the simplier bungallows, it really worth it if you want to upgrade it, you have a living area and a private balcony. Rooms are very clean and our maid Daimy was soooo good.
Beach: perfect. You step out from the hotel lobby, walk down the stairs and step onto the beach. Quiet, long beach. It is true, that certain people love to reserve their sunbeds with leaving a book there overnight, but it is really just sad. Any time we went down to the beach, we found a bed, so no problem. Every day different activities(suba diving, archery, etc)
Entertainment:brilliant. Every day, and literally all day. Through the day the entertainment is located at the beach with live music and games. At night at the theatre some show. We have not been on these shows as I have to say, they are targeting the older generation. But still it was okay. We loved the Jazz bar, where there was a girl singing every night, beautiful voice.
Bars and tipping: I have read about tipping in so many comments, saying you must tip. Well I disagree with that. We hardly gave any tips(and we noticed that anyone else around us always did)and we never experience any problem. We received our drinks ok, on time. I really do not know where this must tipping comes from. Yes, probably the staff did not greet us with a hug and a kiss(yes, it is usual there with generous tippers)but really, who needs it?
Coffee:just to mention if you love coffee, DO NOT DRINK IT FROM THE BUFFET! It is almost undrinkeable. All of the bars serve real coffees, which are amazing, but the buffet one is poison.
Overall very happy with our honeymoon there, if only the reception area and customer service could improve.

Room Tip: Bungallows are very good and quiet, worth for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.6 km away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
8.4 km away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.0 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,218 reviews
5.5 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Property: Melia Las Americas
Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing