We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,187)
Filter reviews
6,187 results
Traveller rating
3,552
1,795
542
206
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,552
1,795
542
206
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la robleza bernard meyer lobby bar il limoncello the general manager ana rosa cascada bar a la carte restaurants buffet restaurant string quartet tee times beautiful beach bungalow suite dupont mansion fish ocean view special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 6,187 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We stayed here for 11 nights following our 3 night stay in Havana. We cannot thank the staff here enough for being part of our special day and honeymoon. They made it perfect in every way.

Firstly we arrived the day before we were due to get married ... the weather was terrible and was forecast to be terrible on our wedding day. However Karina the wedding coordinator had arranged for our wedding to be moved to the day after when it was forecast to be sunny. We can't thank you enough for that because I was absolutely devastated when I learnt it was going to be stormy on our wedding day.

Our wedding day ... just perfect in every way and it was exactly how I imagined it would be. Just myself and my husband ... Karina, the lady taking photos and the gentleman doing the video. We got married in the beautifully dressed gazebo and had our photoshoot around the hotel, on the beach and golf course. We then went for a drive round Varadero in a pink Cadillac. I had my hair and make up done by the lovely lady in the salon at the hotel - thank you! We had bottles of fizz delivered to our room during our stay following our wedding.

The hotel itself is stunning and clean. There are plenty of bars and restaurants to try and we did them all during our stay. Our favourite was the Japanese restaurant.

Our room view was beautiful, looking straight onto the beach.

For anyone considering getting married in Cuba .... We highly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C18AVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear C18AVF,
Thank you very much for choosing our resort as your wedding venue and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Here at Meliá Las Américas we work our hardest to provide our guests with top notch service, so we are pleased to hear that we accomplished this goal during your vacations here. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the facilities & services of the resort, specially the friendliness and professionalism of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back. It will be our pleasure to host you on another Cuban vacation.
Best regards.
General Manager
Hotel Meliá las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel. Stayed 7 nights in a grand sea view suite (to be honest the price difference for a suite vs standard room wasn’t that much which Is why we booked it). Staff were (in the main) lovely, large clean, comfy room, great speciality restaurants. Resort seemed very quiet - no issues getting sunbeds or service any time of day.
Things i’d highlight for people’s awareness:
- the sea view grand suites don’t have balconies (my fault for not checking)
- tried the buffet for breakfast one day - wasn’t overly impressed so stuck to the speciality restaurants after that (if you’re in a suite you can eat in the Mediterranean restaurant for both breakfast and lunch) and concierge will get you evening bookings for the speciality restaurants for dinner
- some food/drink items did run out (e.g. tonic, mint, tacos) and we’re often out of stock for days but we never felt short of options
- furniture in the room was a bit ‘tired’ and could have done with a refresh
- reception staff by far least friendliest. On the opposite side of the spectrum, Rahul who provides beach service to suite level guests, was a star and couldn’t do enough for you

Have I stayed at better resorts, yes - but paid a lot more for them. We had a great time here and wouldn’t hesitate to come again. For the price we paid we thought we got execellent value for money

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Steve J,
Thank you for your nice review about our hotel and for choosing us as your destination. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for highlighting the service provided by our staff. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service and recommend our hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back in the future and providing you with another great holiday experience.
Our Best regards
General Manager
Hotel Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Boys' golf trip in October 2018 with a really good golf course on one side, within walking distance to club house, and the beautiful beach on the other. Beach is interesting with separate rock cliff below Dupont House that makes waves sound like thunder, and sand beaches that are very walkable and water is safe to go in. Beach is cleaned well every day.
Live entertainers are there 6 days a week with a variety of shows in the Theatre and on the front patio. They train very hard and appreciate it when you go to them with compliments. The water show in the pool is especially exciting and innovative. One dancer, Liany, was very open and pleasant, telling us about her colleagues, her life, and past ballet training.
Wait staff in the bars were always courteous and quick (Chavelys was our favourite) even when busy at happy hour, room cleaning staff were very helpful in getting smaller pillows, and separating beds into living room area. Gardeners always waved and said Hola. Doormen very friendly and careful too with luggage carts, luggage storage, and with taxis. Arcada restaurant was our favourite with string quartet and excellent food (wait staff there were okay, could be more friendly).
The buffet had great choice and quality of food, better than another more expensive hotel in Cuba my wife and I went to. Staff were excellent in the buffet, always welcoming you, getting water, beer or wine, and cooking what you want for breakfast even as you approach the stove area.
It always helps to tip as they really appreciate it and don't really expect it when you go to them (I believe it is the tourist's job to tip well, especially where hard work is not paid well, and these people really work long and hard).
Especially helpful in the Level Section were the attendants Paloma, Guelsys, and Lia who worked hard to get us golf vouchers, restaurant times, reservations for an authentic Cuban charcoal grill restaurant in town, and otherwise provided very pleasant conversation about Cuban life in general.

Room tip: Bungalow area is walk-out or one floor up, and has own pool area, and no elevators, less crowded than the main hotel building.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeafordGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear MeafordGuy,
On behalf of the entire Meliá Las Américas Staff, we would like to thank you for your nice review. Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we deeply believe our guests deserve. We sincerely believe that we can only gain the loyalty of our guests by providing a exceptional “value for money”.
We look forward to have the privilege to welcome you back for another vacation.
Best regards from Varadero.
General Manager
Melia Las Americas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2018

It has been our fifth time at this fabulous resort. The first time we reserved a prime room ocean front on the fourth floor - the view was breathtaking. As of our second stay, we adopted the bungalows. It is a nice cozy resort with a fantastic beach, the food is very good and the employees are amazing. They are courteous, friendly and polite. My husband and I have adopted this resort and we have been going every year since 2013. The customer service is outstanding. The General Manager, Monsieur Meyer is present and available. At lunch time and dinner time he makes it a priority to walk the different restaurants to introduce himself and says hi to everyone.

The hotel has bee going through renovations since a couple of years. They have renovated bungalows and other areas. This year they have introduced a new concept ´´The Level'´ it is really worth it. This option provides: private check in and check out in a private salon where you will meet three very charming ladies: Paloma, Lia and Gvelsis - they go out of their way when it comes to customer service. Private beach area with butler (Elvis at your service), breakfast and lunch available at the Il Limoncello at your service the very elegant Marlon who also goes out of his way for customer service - such a gentleman and extremely good server. Thank you Osmani from Customer Service for all that he does. I also like to thank Yanelys Valdes from housekeeping for the work that she does. The beach is crystal clear: a nice turquoise colour. For those who play golf - well the course is walking distance. It is a nice challenging golf course and quite popular during high peak season. I recommend this resort without any hesitation.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compass57051742581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Compass57051742581,
We are so please to know you had a lovely time at Meliá Las Américas. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our resort and for sharing with us and our potential guests your experience. Thank you so much for highlighting our excellent service. Feedbacks like yours motivate us to work harder since we do realize our effort is definitely worth it and translates into guest satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back next year.
Best regards
General Manager
Melia Las Americas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

We had a fantastic time at Melia Las Americas. we specifically went to play in the golf tournament they ran from the oct 17 to oct 20.We have played in a number of tournaments there, but this was by far the best, ending with a banquet on the beach. It was outstanding.The hotel staff were perfect as usual. The food is great, especially Cuban night, my favorite.A big shout out to Reynaldo and his team for a well organized tournament . We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Richard J,
Thank you so much for taking the time to report your impressions about your recent vacation Meliá Las Américas. It is a real pleasure to know that you enjoyed the Melia Cuba Golf Cup, as our team is committed to exceeding the expectations of each and every guest. Thank you for highlighting the professional service of our staff. Feedbacks like yours motivate us to work harder since we do realize our effort is definitely worth it and translates into guest satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back next year.
Best regards from Varadero.
General Manager
Melia las Americas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews