We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction, construction, construction.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Well, hello there.
Second time visitors to this hotel July 2012, July 2013. 2012 we loved it and in 2013 not as much. Let me explain why. Let me tell what was improved and what went down.
Down side.
First and most important is the CONSTRUCTION EVERYWHERE. This is the good thing, they have some maintenance, but why on the beginning of the season, and why everywhere.
Main pool area constructions. Tiles, paint, waterfall. Pneumatic slouch hammer work from 9 to 5.
Ocean/pool side buffet under construction and open. They paint sealing with the pneumatic gun, paint everywhere, food, clothes, you. Washroom there is under construction too.
If you take a look at the mail lobby from the pool area, building on the left is under construction too, they do some maintenance inside, but smell of paint is everywhere.
Main buffet. It was really good last year, but now is horrible. We been at Cuba many, many times and know, Cuba not famous on food, but 2013 trip was something. Air conditioner not work properly or they just don't want to turn it on (I don't know) seems to me it used to work some time, but because of the heat, they open all the doors everyday and flies filled up the whole place. In two weeks can't find a clean plate. Many of them still have a food on it. Variety of food is so little compare to last year. And there was a couple of days with beans and rice only, because the rest was not eatable or not fresh at all and when I say "not fresh" I mean rotten. Another disappointed moment is the service in main buffet. I do understand when they are really busy, but when it's almost empty you still can't get the water, it's OK I can survive, but it will be an issue for an old people. Buffet was a big disappointment.
Cleanliness of the rooms was OK, as usual, some time perfect, some time not, but it is usual for Cuba (even with everyday tips). Variety of the good drinks went down, we not picky, but somebody may want to know. I can tell many other small things, but it is not important for good holiday.
Now lets go with the improvements.
Number one is finally a WiFi. Frickin expensive, 8 cuc in hr, but pretty fast for Cuba, get you about 0.5 Mbps but fast enough to serf the net, Facebook, mail and even some youtube video without waiting. Regarding on the look of the equipment they did install 3G WiMAX, (why no 4G? They have a fiber optic from Venesuela now).
Number too is the security. They make tougher on the local guys, and don't let them sell anything on the beech anymore. But it's so weird when you share your umbrellas with the two cops one border guard and two security guards.
Number three. They finally rebuild Varadero beech after hurricane couple of years ago. Sand is a bit rough but not for long.
Special thanks for waitresses and barmens at the main lobby and the beech, they been awesome as usual. No metter how many people, there is almost never a line and they always wear the smile.
And for the end.
Don't get me wrong it was awesome hotel last year and if management will be right, it will be perfect again. It is really good hotel, but they have to do many things before they get on top again. Looks like Iberostar know about all the issues, they change 2 general managers and two local in one year. So hopefully they will fix those issues soon and we will be back in few years, but not yet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjaminovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,013)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 7,013 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I went for the second times at the Iberostar Laguna Azul. This time I was with all me familly. We add a great time. Beautiful beach, great foods for Cuba, rooms were clean but not extraodinary. The only complain that I have is at the ''à la carte'' restaurants they won't try to accomated groups. They don't care if you can't eat together. But for the rest it was an amazing trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine-KIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just got back from a family vacation . There were 22 persons in our group.For a hotel that is only a few years old, it seems to be going downhill.For instance the moldy smell in the rooms may be attributed to the air coming from the air conditioner vents, causing respiratory reactions .
It took 3 reports in 5 days to get the light in the hallway replaced.
A telephone by the bed was never fixed in a room.A leaking toilet was never fixed-never filled up to get even one flush!!!!
The return vents in the a la carte restaurants seems to be never cleaned.
The white plastic grills around the pools were broken and created a safety hazard for anyone treading on them.
Flies!Flies!Flies! They seemed to be everywhere on the food in the buffet.Yuk!!
Overall the staff were friendly.
There is no medical personnel on the premises after 5p.m.
Definitely would seriously reconsider returning there if nothing improves.
The food is o.k. but could use some imagination with more local fresh vegetables.
I would give the hotel a 3 star.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The resort is the one of the newest in Varadero and definitely has a wow-factor when you drive up. Check-in was quick, but they gave us a room with 2 twins, so we had to wait for a while to get that changed. The grounds are immaculate. The food at the buffets offered a lot of variety and was well prepared. The Cuban a la carte restaurant is delicious (try the beef!). The beach is wide and deep. There are broken bits of shells, so be careful. The texture of the sand seems to be the same along the peninsula. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The chamber maid did a good job every day. The nightly entertainment was amazing! The dancers were well trained and they used live music during the performance. Overall, I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Building 20 is quiet and close to the beach and a pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hi there just wanted to say that i just got back from this property and i can tell you one thing that the service i got was excellent 1 peso goes along way super clean resort the food was ok i ate every day you can find something to eat friendly people , the japanese resturant was the best one the stapp was very humble but i can tell you you want SERVICE leave a peso and see what happens these people get paid 26 pesos a month so you decide the maid was excellent the management staff was great great atmosphere yes there are flies but what do you expect youre outside The only complaint i have is the beds are not confortable but i think that could be fixed i would definatley go back you have to visit silvio in the pasta section and mitchell they were great raul server was amazing

Room Tip: i stayed in room 17407 great room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noelBrampton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here as a couple last week (July 6-13) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The resort is very nice, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are decent with a good sized bathroom and one of the comfier beds I’ve slept in while in Cuba.

Good beach area with beach bar (though chairs fill up quickly early in the day), there are many pools to choose from which are less busy than the beach but equally enjoyable.

The buffet has a very good selection of food and desserts. It’s Cuba, so of course the food is not amazing, but there is always something to choose you will like. The buffet itself has a very ‘frantic’ feel to it with guests running around snatching at anything good put out and loud noises so opt to sit outside on the patio area for a more peaceful lunch or dinner.

We tried the Japanese, Italian and Romatico a la carte’s. The Romatico was by far the best with Japanese coming in a close 2nd. Italian was just OK. But the dining experiences at all of them are good. Great service from the staff.

There is WiFi cards available for purchase ($10 CUC for 1hr) and works on your mobile device in the lobby. Not a bad deal! The signal was fine too.

The service everywhere was great with friendly staff with the exception of the Reception area. I’m not sure why the reception staff are so unhappy, unfriendly and painfully SLOW at everything compared to the other staff at the resort. They don’t make check-in or check-out enjoyable.

Otherwise, a great resort! A Cuban 5 star = North American 3.5 to 4 star. A good place to stay if you can get a good deal. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neederz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel! The buffet was excellent lots and lots of choices, the a la cartes were good as well the Japanese was great. Night time entertainment was also very good. Ice Cream Parlour was big hit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSeasonedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director A, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.9 km away
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
6.0 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,574 reviews
3.4 km away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
2.1 km away
Blau Marina Varadero Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul

Address: Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varadero
#7 Family Hotel in Varadero
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#20 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $179 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul 5*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero's Beach. Approximately 160 km from Havana and 20 min. from downtown Varadero. 814 rooms allocated in different buildings, 24 are suites and 8 are for handicapped. Reception 24 hrs. open, currency exchange, internet 24 hrs. Buffet restaurant with show cooking and 4 a la carte restaurants and Ranchón near the beach. Lobby bar, Cigar bar, aqua-bar, and 2 snacks bars at the pool. Conference rooms, SPA, gym, and beauty salon, 2 tennis and paddle court. Ice cream saloon, animation theatre and disco. 5 outdoor swimming pools. Miniclub (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Laguna Azul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing