We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rain161
Miami, Florida

The WORST food in whole earth planet!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 1, 2015
Nice people, Wonderful Beaches, Nice pools, NO AIR CONDITIONING, they change me 5 times for a room that had air conditioning at least there was one room but with little bit better!!
The towels smell HORRIBLE!!
WORST FOOD EVER!!!, NO enough plates in the restaurant!, few glasses in bar.
They NEVER will see me again.
Date of stay: June 2015
Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this review
Responded Jul 4, 2015
"Estimados clientes,

En nombre del personal y de la Dirección de IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul nos gustaría agradecerle sus comentarios. Sin embargo, nosotros nos sentimos afligidos que nuestro hotel no haya cumplido con sus expectativas. Nosotros le aseguramos que la mejora en todos nuestros servicios es un proceso continuado y nuestra prioridad es la satisfacción del cliente. Nosotros esperamos, tener otra oportunidad en el futuro cercano para hacer sus vacaciones inolvidables. Si usted decide darnos otra oportunidad, por favor no dude avisarnos.

Les deseo lo mejor.

Con atentos saludos,
Online Reputation Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$81
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
14.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
C$89
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$89
  • Vio.com
12.7 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Beachfront
C$101
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$101
  • Skyscanner.com
18.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Beachfront
C$39
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
17.4 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Beachfront
C$111
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
15.2 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • Destinia.com
12.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
    C$95
  • ZenHotels.com
12.1 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
15.7 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Beachfront
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
18.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Pool
Zimmer Nr.1
  • Expedia.com
18.1 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Varadero
Reviews (12,212)
Filter reviews
12,213 results
Traveller rating
5,169
2,948
1,953
1,084
1,059
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,169
2,948
1,953
1,084
1,059
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady gaga sexy nancy pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish japanese restaurant main buffet beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts recommend this resort entertainment staff bring your own
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,195 - 3,200 of 12,213 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2015

We were in Cuba for our 40th anniversary, so we wanted our hotel experience to be outstanding! After the initial check in and room mix up, the experience was exactly that. This is a very busy resort, the wait staff in the bars/lobby are very good at their jobs and if you see Felix, in the lounge just by the check in desk, say hi to him from Canada. Super nice fellow who not only makes the best drinks, but in the morning, the BEST coffee! (The stuff in the cafeteria is like ditchwater)

Room tip: Ask for a room at the back... not facing the pools. Much quieter!
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Leona602
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Havana for 3 nights before staying in Veradero for a further 4 nights and we were really disappointed with the hotel in Veradero but thought the iberostar park central in Havana was excellent.

This hotel is large with some really nice swimming pools, lovely well kept grounds and direct access to an exclusive part of the beach.

On arrival it seemed to take reception a long time to check in two people and no apologies for the delay.

The room stinks and had the most uncomfortable bed which wouldn't be out of place in a £5 a night hostel.

The television looks like it's out of the 80's with a rubbish selection of TV channels. Our room looked onto the pool and sea in the distance which was pleasant.

Bathroom dated, needs an upgrade urgently.

A major lack of entertainment before the evening show at 9:30 pm, how much would it cost for a small Cuban band to play throughout the day instead of just pool side games.

The evening show was pleasantly entertaining and the late night disco was a good touch.

Drinks are poor, they even ran out of mint for mojito on our first night.

Food was ok although I question the bug control in the Buffett. The international restaurants are terrible to western standards but the Japanese restaurant was fun and this is a running theme in Cuba.

Overall we had a good time but I would highly recommend you go for a Veradero hotel in the top 3 since some of the hotels are run badly and this is certainly one of them.

The hotel could be nice but needs new management and some renovation.

The hotel just seems so under staffed!

Date of stay: June 2015
7  Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Stayed here recently after touring Cuba. First room not very clean hair everywhere. Stains on towels and bed sheets etc. Dead mosquitos on the walls including over the bed. Bed uncomfortable with springs gone in the middle and everytime i closed my eyes i thought i was going to fall in the hole. So didn't sleep properly.
Next day morning cockroach on the toilet seat rang housekeeping 4 time to come and clean and remove but no one came. Last call they said they can send an engineer, what would he do? Complained to the guest relation and showed her the photos and she apologised (to keep me happy). Got room changed after waisting more than half a day waiting around. The day after sink got blocked reported they fixed it but found the shower tap water running and couldn't turn it off and no hot water. No bath towel instead hand towels.
The food, the resturants what can i say. I am vegetarian and couldn't eat anything from the buffet resturant because all the vegetable dishes were kept between meat and not enough spoons so people were using same spoons for meat and vegetables. They didn't have enough cutleries and when trying to ask for some the waiters would just look at you. Fancy having a cereal in a small coffee cup. (This is probably to stop people eating too much?) They serve the tea/coffee on the table but then you have to get up walk around with hot cup looking for milk if you can find any oh and spoon. Complained about this but nothing. The fancy resturants that you can book to go and eat was a joke but at least i had one hot dinner in the Japaness resturant out of 5 nights we stayed. In the Italian resturant they gave really nice mouth watering menu only to be told they only had pasta and when it arrived it was horrible. Lot more I can say but don't want to waste my time and energy thinking about it. I will take it up with Virign Holidays. I was made to feel I was a begger in the resturant even though i paid full price for 5 star stay all inclusive. This is not a 5 star resort and would not be recommending to anyone. Even the rep didn't do anything just made notes.

Room tip: do not recommed any as rooms looked run down
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2015

We just came back from our 6th trip to Cuba in the beautiful region of Varadero. We stayed at the Iberostar Laguna Azul which was suggested to us by our travel agent and friends.

The weather was just perfect during our stay. The resort was very clean and the staff very friendly (thanks to my friend Kensi who worked around the pool to make our experience so appreciable). The beach and pools were just soooo beautiful. The main pool was actually the nicest one we've seen from our last trips.

Our room was located on the 2nd floor in the main building in section 16 which was very convenient being close to the main pool and lobby area. It was very clean, cold beverages stacked daily, hot water in the shower and cold refreshing air conditioning.

We ate at the buffet for breakfast and supper which food was well prepared and tasteful. The quality of the food was comparable to the other resorts we have visited in Cuba. The beach grill for lunch was just perfect being in between the main pool area and the beach. They served chicken, fish, hamburgers, hotdogs daily and homemade oven pizzas served with french fries ... Yummy! We booked 3 a la carte restaurants which we chose the Japanese twice and the International. Both specialities were very much appreciated, great service and food quality. A must to try!

We have booked a Jeep Safari excursion with our travel representative which we will always remember. Try typing the "Jeep Safari Yumuri in Varadero" in the search engine for more details on this wonderful experience. A must to do during your stay!

Here are a few suggestions I would like to bring to the manager of the hotel:

1) We found food lacked a bit of variety at the buffet such as missing pancake and smoothie stations for breakfast, very little mangos all week. No banana flambe station for supper and we haven't had the chance to try any langouste all week;

2) Our room needed some renovations mostly in the bathroom area. We found mold on the ceiling of the bathroom due to missing ventilation;

3) A few extra palapas would be greatly appreciated around the main pool area;

4) Service at the buffet for breakfast was very poor either outside on the patio or inside. Service for supper was much better :)

5) The surrounding gardens were not lush as the previous resorts were have visited. They were very well maintained though :)

Overall, we really appreciated our stay at the Iberostar Laguna Azul and we would consider this resort on our next stay in Varadero Cuba.

Thank you!!!

Room tip: We stayed in section 16 on the second floor which was perfect for our needs. Close to the lobby and main pool areas.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricky49281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

This is not a 5 star resort!! I went with iberostar as I heard it was best.... Quite possibly THE worst resort I have ever stayed at. The rooms are filthy and Moldy and everything feels damp. Beds are small and very old. Sheets and pillows are stained and dirty. It appears that they don't even wash them. Towels are all stained as well. I did not come across one towel that was not stained. Whoever does their laundry should be fired!! The food is horrendous. Birds fly in and eat off the Buffet and they don't keep things like cheese and salads cold, they sit there sweating on the buffet with flies circling and landing on all the food. The meat handling is atrocious. They use the same tongs to pick up raw meat and then pick up your bread and serve you your cooked food with it. Meat patties and raw meat sit outside in the sun waiting to grill with dozens of flies all over them. It's disgusting. They run out of everything like limes, lemons ect... How can you run out of limes and lemons in a tropical resort?? Don't even bother with the "fancy" a la carte restaurants.... They are just the same mass produced disgusting slop that you get in the buffet just fancied up a bit. The pool is filthy, stuff floating in it nobody maintains it. Just like any third world country the staff are all looking for a handout. They are not very shy with mentioning it either. Everyone is very disorganized always answering "yes yes ok" or "come back tomorrow" I would Never visit Cuba or this resort again. The only redeeming features is the beach is nice and the service was decent. If you are looking to get a tan on a nice beach but starve and sleep in a filthy disgusting place then this should be your resort

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
12  Thank mimi8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews