We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BFady
Pickering, Ontario

Going Down

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 5, 2015
2nd time at Laguna Azul
Huge difference from the first time
No plates on the buffet, no towels for the beach
they re-use the disposable cups
no change what so ever in the food from day to day
rooms are clean, pool is clean
Towels in the room are worn and stained also the bed sheets
best part is the beach and the service in the lobby
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this review
Responded Jul 6, 2015
"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Trip.com
12.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
14.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
exelente patiecito para descansar y merendar
Get rewarded with One Key
    13.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    15.7 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Beachfront
    Zimmer Nr.1
    • Expedia.com
    18.1 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Skyscanner.com
    • Expedia.com
      C$101
    • Vio.com
    18.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    C$110
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    15.2 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    View more hotels in Varadero
    Reviews (12,198)
    Filter reviews
    12,199 results
    Traveller rating
    5,162
    2,946
    1,953
    1,085
    1,053
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    5,162
    2,946
    1,953
    1,085
    1,053
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lady gaga sexy nancy pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish japanese restaurant main buffet beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts recommend this resort entertainment staff bring your own
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3,189 - 3,194 of 12,199 reviews
    Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

    We stayed at this resort in mid June and it is nice.
    Check I was as quick as they could be considering we had a full bus of guests staying here.
    If you like to be in the heart of everything, I would suggest getting a room in the middle section of the resort that is central to the main pool, lobby and restaurants. Otherwise, the other sections are nice if you want to be in a quieter area. We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful at all times. The room was nice, but was a little musty and warm as the staff turn off the ac in between bookings. Like other reviewers have said, you might want to bring your own towel if you are squeamish about stains on the towels. However, we found that after we had given our house cleaner a little care package, the towels and service got better as the days went by.
    Now as for the a la carte restaurants, I'm not sure why other people gave the Japanese restaurant such raving reviews. It was the worst one of the choices. The chef was really good in entertainment value for the teppenyaki style cooking and the waitress did her best to accommodate us as we had a couple of people with food allergies. We found the food to be much too salty b/c the chef poured way too much soy sauce on the vegetables. I recommend that you choose the ice cream for the dessert as well since the cheesecake was none like I have ever had before. We all went to the buffet after to eat again.
    The Cuban restaurant was a little better, but I made the mistake of ordering the chicken as it was a little overcooked and dry. I would have been better off ordering the beef. Services was ok, although I had to go up to the bar to get refills for our drinks. We went to the buffet again after this meal to eat again. The next restaurant that we tried was the Romantica. This time we were very pleased with the service and happy with the food. I would recommend ordering the lamb stew for your main entree and getting the chocolate dessert. The Italian estuarine from what I was told by other guests was not that great as the pasta they has was overcooked.
    You do not have to worry about the food being really bland anymore as they had spices readily available at the buffet at the end of the tables. Breakfast was always enjoyable b/c we always had omelettes made for us by the same cook. He was a taller gentleman with a shaved head. If you watch wrestling, he looks exactly like Dave Batista. He was always friendly and said hi to us every time we came in. The food at the buffet is ok. There is some variety, but not if you like salad. We had to be careful like you would at any buffet if you have food allergies dues to people cross contaminating the tongs with various foods. So our friends just skipped these areas of the buffet to be safe. The pool was nice but if you don't like loud music, you will want to get a lounger at one of the other pools. The beach was a short walk with lots of loungers available. At night we enjoyed watching the shows. You just have to make sure you use bug spray b/c the mosquitoes come out at night. There plenty of bars I the resort if you need a drink.
    Overall, we did enjoy our stay made the best with what we have available to us. Best recommendation that I have is to bring a large insulated cup with you so that you don't have to go back to the bars to get drinks all the time. They give you small plastic cups to avoid any breakage near the pools and beach. Bring lots of sunscreen as it was very hot and humid.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank racerboy88
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 4, 2015

    Oh my god, this is such an aweful resort. Very unsanitary place, non friendly staff, the buffet was always missing plates and utensils all te time, they never had any beach towels.

    My wife and I booked a 2 week vacation to this resort. On the 3rd day, we had enough of the aweful things we saw. We asked our rep. to transfer us. She was not surprised at all, in fact we were the 2nd family that same day. We were willing to give this place the benefit of the doubt, until, the incident that made us decide to leave happened; which was this: We were at the buffet at breakfast our 3rd day there, there were no glasses. I asked for a glass of water for my daughter. The waitress took a glass from a table that had just been used, rinsed it, and filled it with water, right in front of our faces.

    We got transferred to the Melia Marina. What an amazing resort. We had such a great time. We got back from there this evening.

    A comment to the director who will most likely reply to my review; your hotel and staff suck hard, which means you are most likely not a good director. Ask the general manager of the Melia Marina to teach you how to manage your hotel.

    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    5  Thank Tony L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 3, 2015

    good time had by all,traveled with 19 and 23 year olds. having seen TripAdvisor reviews recently was a bit nervous but from the welcome at reception to restaurant staff all was good. the room we had was adjoining,as requested, and had recently been decorated.the toilet functioned fine and although not a power shower the shower worked fine.the beds were comfortable and our maids excellent,no we didn't run out of toilet paper.beach was beautiful.yes there are some changes needed such as cushions for beach sun loungers and occasionally minor things ran out, however i felt the management were in the throws of dealing with this.the food was ok even though we had vegetarians and the birds at the beach buffet only descended on abandoned plates (as they did in Barbados and Mexico).having spent a brilliant four days exploring Havana i felt a little tolerance for small issues was the least we could do. special mention for Mercia in customer services who was outstanding and thoroughly professional.Smile at people 99% smile back.

    Room tip: block 1700 quiet
    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank ianh162
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 2, 2015

    My friends and I went to this hotel June 27-July 1 in hope to have the same experience that we had 2 years ago. Unfortunately, that was not the case. The room was substandard, however as a couple, it would have been nice to have one queen or king bed, instead there were two twin beds that could not be put together. The mattresses were not comfortable at all and every morning we woke up tired and experienced back pain. On top of that, the A/C didn't work very well so it was pretty hot most of the time. The phone didn’t work in our room. And there was no remote for our TV...
    Most of the staff at the resort were not friendly, didn't acknowledge us, and very slow service. The worst thing that we saw (and we've never seen this anywhere else) was an experience at the buffet. We finished our lunch, just finished drinking our drinks (cola, juices, water)...The waiter came to our table, took our glasses, shook out the remaining liquids in the glasses… but get this! They wiped the top of the glasses with a tissue and poured new drinks for another table.... We couldn't believe our eyes!
    The entertainment on the resort was lacking... The disco has so much potential, however every night was the same CD playing, no variety of music, no entertainers..... During the day, there were barely any entertainers walking around offering to play games, etc.... definitely not like it used to be...
    In all my experiences in going to all-inclusive resorts (appx. 10 times), this by far has been my worst venture ever!

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ianat_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 1, 2015

    Nice people, Wonderful Beaches, Nice pools, NO AIR CONDITIONING, they change me 5 times for a room that had air conditioning at least there was one room but with little bit better!!
    The towels smell HORRIBLE!!
    WORST FOOD EVER!!!, NO enough plates in the restaurant!, few glasses in bar.
    They NEVER will see me again.

    Room tip: Go to another hotel.
    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    4  Thank rain161
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015
    Google Translation

    "Estimados clientes,

    En nombre del personal y de la Dirección de IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul nos gustaría agradecerle sus comentarios. Sin embargo, nosotros nos sentimos afligidos que nuestro hotel no haya cumplido con sus expectativas. Nosotros le aseguramos que la mejora en todos nuestros servicios es un proceso continuado y nuestra prioridad es la satisfacción del cliente. Nosotros esperamos, tener otra oportunidad en el futuro cercano para hacer sus vacaciones inolvidables. Si usted decide darnos otra oportunidad, por favor no dude avisarnos.

    Les deseo lo mejor.

    Con atentos saludos,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews