We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
keith h
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Take your own food

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 6, 2015via mobile
Just returned from 2 weeks of gourmet hell. Anyone fancy the previous nights carrots,broccoli or potatoes for breakfast..... Me neither.dress code for lunch time was none existent,so if you want to see middle aged men walking around the buffet in budgie smugglers & sweaty tee shirts,this is the place for you. Shortage of plates & glasses.had to use a tea cup for puddings & cereals. The only time you was treated like a guest at a 5 star hotel was when the survey sheet was handed out. Came to this hotel 3 years ago so I don't know what's happened. Won't be returning & won't recommend this hotel. Staff all over the English & Canadian guests because of the out of control tipping culture.
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this review
Responded Jul 13, 2015
"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$82
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
14.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
C$39
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
17.4 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Beachfront
C$110
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
15.2 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
  • Trip.com
12.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
18.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$102
  • Vio.com
18.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
15.7 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Beachfront
Zimmer Nr.1
  • Expedia.com
18.1 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Varadero
Reviews (12,191)
Filter reviews
12,191 results
Traveller rating
5,156
2,946
1,953
1,083
1,053
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,156
2,946
1,953
1,083
1,053
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady gaga sexy nancy pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish japanese restaurant main buffet beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts recommend this resort entertainment staff bring your own
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,187 - 3,192 of 12,191 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2015

We went in June to visit the resort as Travel agents. Lets just say the welcome was rude, we were not shown any rooms. We were brought to the roof to see the gym and spa with a view on the sea, which is gorgeous, let's give credits to mother-nature. After a 8 minutes tour where we neither saw the beach, the restaurant or A SMILE, we left the premises with our guide expressing how sorry she was that her compatriot should be so unwelcoming. The lady manager even told her really harshly to stay in the lobby when we arrived which I saw as a total rejection of a fellow citizen to be well treated in comparison to the foreigners... Really deceived by this encounter. It is really hard to recommend this resort after my experience of it. Here is what I could honestly say to clients :

Resort layout : in the shape of a U facing the sea with the pools in the middle section (thanks google and the scale model in the lobby)
Rooms : Unknown layout and decors, please let's check google for pictures
Elevators : yes in the main building at least
Number of restaurants : Let me see the brochure description
Internet : excellent question let me refer to the brochure

Sorry Iberostar but that was unacceptable in any measure. When people ask about great resorts in Varadero I will definitely give out a lot of other brands before coming to naming you. The welcome we had at Iberostar Varadero was slightly better since we got to see the rooms and the resort itself.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurieVoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2015

2nd time at Laguna Azul
Huge difference from the first time
No plates on the buffet, no towels for the beach
they re-use the disposable cups
no change what so ever in the food from day to day
rooms are clean, pool is clean
Towels in the room are worn and stained also the bed sheets
best part is the beach and the service in the lobby

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank BFady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this resort in mid June and it is nice.
Check I was as quick as they could be considering we had a full bus of guests staying here.
If you like to be in the heart of everything, I would suggest getting a room in the middle section of the resort that is central to the main pool, lobby and restaurants. Otherwise, the other sections are nice if you want to be in a quieter area. We found the staff to be friendly and very helpful at all times. The room was nice, but was a little musty and warm as the staff turn off the ac in between bookings. Like other reviewers have said, you might want to bring your own towel if you are squeamish about stains on the towels. However, we found that after we had given our house cleaner a little care package, the towels and service got better as the days went by.
Now as for the a la carte restaurants, I'm not sure why other people gave the Japanese restaurant such raving reviews. It was the worst one of the choices. The chef was really good in entertainment value for the teppenyaki style cooking and the waitress did her best to accommodate us as we had a couple of people with food allergies. We found the food to be much too salty b/c the chef poured way too much soy sauce on the vegetables. I recommend that you choose the ice cream for the dessert as well since the cheesecake was none like I have ever had before. We all went to the buffet after to eat again.
The Cuban restaurant was a little better, but I made the mistake of ordering the chicken as it was a little overcooked and dry. I would have been better off ordering the beef. Services was ok, although I had to go up to the bar to get refills for our drinks. We went to the buffet again after this meal to eat again. The next restaurant that we tried was the Romantica. This time we were very pleased with the service and happy with the food. I would recommend ordering the lamb stew for your main entree and getting the chocolate dessert. The Italian estuarine from what I was told by other guests was not that great as the pasta they has was overcooked.
You do not have to worry about the food being really bland anymore as they had spices readily available at the buffet at the end of the tables. Breakfast was always enjoyable b/c we always had omelettes made for us by the same cook. He was a taller gentleman with a shaved head. If you watch wrestling, he looks exactly like Dave Batista. He was always friendly and said hi to us every time we came in. The food at the buffet is ok. There is some variety, but not if you like salad. We had to be careful like you would at any buffet if you have food allergies dues to people cross contaminating the tongs with various foods. So our friends just skipped these areas of the buffet to be safe. The pool was nice but if you don't like loud music, you will want to get a lounger at one of the other pools. The beach was a short walk with lots of loungers available. At night we enjoyed watching the shows. You just have to make sure you use bug spray b/c the mosquitoes come out at night. There plenty of bars I the resort if you need a drink.
Overall, we did enjoy our stay made the best with what we have available to us. Best recommendation that I have is to bring a large insulated cup with you so that you don't have to go back to the bars to get drinks all the time. They give you small plastic cups to avoid any breakage near the pools and beach. Bring lots of sunscreen as it was very hot and humid.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank racerboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Oh my god, this is such an aweful resort. Very unsanitary place, non friendly staff, the buffet was always missing plates and utensils all te time, they never had any beach towels.

My wife and I booked a 2 week vacation to this resort. On the 3rd day, we had enough of the aweful things we saw. We asked our rep. to transfer us. She was not surprised at all, in fact we were the 2nd family that same day. We were willing to give this place the benefit of the doubt, until, the incident that made us decide to leave happened; which was this: We were at the buffet at breakfast our 3rd day there, there were no glasses. I asked for a glass of water for my daughter. The waitress took a glass from a table that had just been used, rinsed it, and filled it with water, right in front of our faces.

We got transferred to the Melia Marina. What an amazing resort. We had such a great time. We got back from there this evening.

A comment to the director who will most likely reply to my review; your hotel and staff suck hard, which means you are most likely not a good director. Ask the general manager of the Melia Marina to teach you how to manage your hotel.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2015

good time had by all,traveled with 19 and 23 year olds. having seen TripAdvisor reviews recently was a bit nervous but from the welcome at reception to restaurant staff all was good. the room we had was adjoining,as requested, and had recently been decorated.the toilet functioned fine and although not a power shower the shower worked fine.the beds were comfortable and our maids excellent,no we didn't run out of toilet paper.beach was beautiful.yes there are some changes needed such as cushions for beach sun loungers and occasionally minor things ran out, however i felt the management were in the throws of dealing with this.the food was ok even though we had vegetarians and the birds at the beach buffet only descended on abandoned plates (as they did in Barbados and Mexico).having spent a brilliant four days exploring Havana i felt a little tolerance for small issues was the least we could do. special mention for Mercia in customer services who was outstanding and thoroughly professional.Smile at people 99% smile back.

Room tip: block 1700 quiet
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianh162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews