We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,694)
Filter reviews
9,695 results
Traveller rating
3,437
2,749
1,815
911
783
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,437
2,749
1,815
911
783
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish main buffet japanese restaurant beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts every other day recommend this resort star friends magic show buffet food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,239 - 2,244 of 9,695 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Cuba is great, specially the beach and people. This property was truly disappointing. you would think that in there slow season the service and amenities would be better then expected. There were no clean beach towels for 4 days.There was no paper towel or hand soap in the public washroom all week. From someone that trains food safety in Canada in the food service industry, this place has major Personal Hygiene and food borne Illness written all over it. if they do not have hand soap in the area's when can been seen by the public, just imagine the lack of cross-contamination controls that are in the back of the house when preparing food and washing glasses and dishes.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2015

this hotel was very nice indeed. we went over a Christmas period and it was beautiful

the rooms are comfortable and have everything u need inside them, they are nothing special but they are clean and spacious.

the food was ok, we tried local food and smoked cigars with the locals :)

the beach, weather and ameneties were all good we have no complaints, id definitely go to this hotel again or recommend, they have many activities and spa choices to get involved in, its a very quiet hotel not a nightlife hotel if your a perty animal,.

perfect for a romantic get away of relaxingness.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rachellabella2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks of gourmet hell. Anyone fancy the previous nights carrots,broccoli or potatoes for breakfast..... Me neither.dress code for lunch time was none existent,so if you want to see middle aged men walking around the buffet in budgie smugglers & sweaty tee shirts,this is the place for you. Shortage of plates & glasses.had to use a tea cup for puddings & cereals. The only time you was treated like a guest at a 5 star hotel was when the survey sheet was handed out. Came to this hotel 3 years ago so I don't know what's happened. Won't be returning & won't recommend this hotel. Staff all over the English & Canadian guests because of the out of control tipping culture.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2015

We went in June to visit the resort as Travel agents. Lets just say the welcome was rude, we were not shown any rooms. We were brought to the roof to see the gym and spa with a view on the sea, which is gorgeous, let's give credits to mother-nature. After a 8 minutes tour where we neither saw the beach, the restaurant or A SMILE, we left the premises with our guide expressing how sorry she was that her compatriot should be so unwelcoming. The lady manager even told her really harshly to stay in the lobby when we arrived which I saw as a total rejection of a fellow citizen to be well treated in comparison to the foreigners... Really deceived by this encounter. It is really hard to recommend this resort after my experience of it. Here is what I could honestly say to clients :

Resort layout : in the shape of a U facing the sea with the pools in the middle section (thanks google and the scale model in the lobby)
Rooms : Unknown layout and decors, please let's check google for pictures
Elevators : yes in the main building at least
Number of restaurants : Let me see the brochure description
Internet : excellent question let me refer to the brochure

Sorry Iberostar but that was unacceptable in any measure. When people ask about great resorts in Varadero I will definitely give out a lot of other brands before coming to naming you. The welcome we had at Iberostar Varadero was slightly better since we got to see the rooms and the resort itself.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurieVoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2015

2nd time at Laguna Azul
Huge difference from the first time
No plates on the buffet, no towels for the beach
they re-use the disposable cups
no change what so ever in the food from day to day
rooms are clean, pool is clean
Towels in the room are worn and stained also the bed sheets
best part is the beach and the service in the lobby

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank FedoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews