We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pete&Sherle
Paris, Canada

Laguna DUMP!!!!! Azul

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 7, 2015
This resort was a dump!!!!!!!!! The food was gross, they never had clean plates or cups, the cups where reused without being cleaned, just wiped and put on other tables. The rooms smelled!!!! The towels where stained and had been changed twice in 7 days, the bed sheets and the pillows smelled of old body sweat. None of the restaurants had air conditioning so the doors where open letting flies and birds in to devour the food at the buffet. I saw really bad food cross contamination!!! the BBQ worker took the tongues and picked up RAW chicken and put it on the BBQ and then took the same tongues and put them back into the cooked hamburger container for the guests to use to grab a burger. My daughter got so ill from the food handling she was up one night vomiting and severe diarrhea, I went to customer service and they said it's the heat, ya OK!!! Most of the staff wouldn't lift a hand to help at all and only a couple had a smile on there faces, I had to get my own place mats cutlery and wine and water. Read the negative TripAdvisor reviews over the last month because they are the truth!! This was our third visit to Cuba and it was by far the worst.

This resort should have a 2 star rating NOT 5!!!

On the second to last day I asked to speak to the manager, but only got a runaround, I wanted to speak to him/her face to face instead of going this route to complain!!

I could go on and on but this and the other reviews speak for themselves
Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this review
Responded Jul 13, 2015
"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
C$81
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
14.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Expedia.com
C$87
Get rewarded with One Key
    12.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Expedia.com
    C$62
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    14.9 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Expedia.com
    C$89
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    15.2 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Expedia.com
    C$67
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    18.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    C$101
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      C$101
    • Vio.com
    18.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Vio.com
    C$58
    C$53
    Fully refundable
    • Trip.com
      C$58
    • StayForLong
    • Lol.travel
    12.8 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Expedia.com
    C$38
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      C$38
    • Vio.com
    18.8 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Varadero
    Reviews (12,183)
    Filter reviews
    12,184 results
    Traveller rating
    5,154
    2,945
    1,953
    1,080
    1,052
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    5,154
    2,945
    1,953
    1,080
    1,052
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lady gaga sexy nancy pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish japanese restaurant main buffet beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts recommend this resort entertainment staff bring your own
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3,182 - 3,187 of 12,184 reviews
    Reviewed July 6, 2015

    Cuba is great, specially the beach and people. This property was truly disappointing. you would think that in there slow season the service and amenities would be better then expected. There were no clean beach towels for 4 days.There was no paper towel or hand soap in the public washroom all week. From someone that trains food safety in Canada in the food service industry, this place has major Personal Hygiene and food borne Illness written all over it. if they do not have hand soap in the area's when can been seen by the public, just imagine the lack of cross-contamination controls that are in the back of the house when preparing food and washing glasses and dishes.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
    5  Thank Paul L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 6, 2015

    this hotel was very nice indeed. we went over a Christmas period and it was beautiful

    the rooms are comfortable and have everything u need inside them, they are nothing special but they are clean and spacious.

    the food was ok, we tried local food and smoked cigars with the locals :)

    the beach, weather and ameneties were all good we have no complaints, id definitely go to this hotel again or recommend, they have many activities and spa choices to get involved in, its a very quiet hotel not a nightlife hotel if your a perty animal,.

    perfect for a romantic get away of relaxingness.

    Date of stay: March 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank rachellabella2015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

    Just returned from 2 weeks of gourmet hell. Anyone fancy the previous nights carrots,broccoli or potatoes for breakfast..... Me neither.dress code for lunch time was none existent,so if you want to see middle aged men walking around the buffet in budgie smugglers & sweaty tee shirts,this is the place for you. Shortage of plates & glasses.had to use a tea cup for puddings & cereals. The only time you was treated like a guest at a 5 star hotel was when the survey sheet was handed out. Came to this hotel 3 years ago so I don't know what's happened. Won't be returning & won't recommend this hotel. Staff all over the English & Canadian guests because of the out of control tipping culture.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank keith h
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Kind Regards,
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 6, 2015

    We went in June to visit the resort as Travel agents. Lets just say the welcome was rude, we were not shown any rooms. We were brought to the roof to see the gym and spa with a view on the sea, which is gorgeous, let's give credits to mother-nature. After a 8 minutes tour where we neither saw the beach, the restaurant or A SMILE, we left the premises with our guide expressing how sorry she was that her compatriot should be so unwelcoming. The lady manager even told her really harshly to stay in the lobby when we arrived which I saw as a total rejection of a fellow citizen to be well treated in comparison to the foreigners... Really deceived by this encounter. It is really hard to recommend this resort after my experience of it. Here is what I could honestly say to clients :

    Resort layout : in the shape of a U facing the sea with the pools in the middle section (thanks google and the scale model in the lobby)
    Rooms : Unknown layout and decors, please let's check google for pictures
    Elevators : yes in the main building at least
    Number of restaurants : Let me see the brochure description
    Internet : excellent question let me refer to the brochure

    Sorry Iberostar but that was unacceptable in any measure. When people ask about great resorts in Varadero I will definitely give out a lot of other brands before coming to naming you. The welcome we had at Iberostar Varadero was slightly better since we got to see the rooms and the resort itself.

    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank LaurieVoyer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, Director General at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

    Wish you all the best

    Kind Regards
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 5, 2015

    2nd time at Laguna Azul
    Huge difference from the first time
    No plates on the buffet, no towels for the beach
    they re-use the disposable cups
    no change what so ever in the food from day to day
    rooms are clean, pool is clean
    Towels in the room are worn and stained also the bed sheets
    best part is the beach and the service in the lobby

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
    Thank BFady
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Director D, General Manager at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

    "Dear clients,

    On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

    Wish you all the best

    Kind Regards
    Online Reputation Manager"

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews