We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,687)
Filter reviews
9,687 results
Traveller rating
3,436
2,749
1,814
906
782
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,436
2,749
1,814
906
782
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish main buffet japanese restaurant beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts every other day recommend this resort star friends magic show buffet food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,228 - 2,233 of 9,687 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Great room with free mini bar. Lots of places to get away from the crowd if you want to. All inclusive food was excellent, especially the a-la-carte restaurants! Staff were very attentive and pleasant. Good quality drinks (beefeater Gin and Schwepps tonic). Entertainment was brilliant. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank paulcarleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015

First impression was very good. Drinks on arrival, smooth check in and very friendly staff. When we got to the room it was outdated and not very clean. The buffet restaurant was disappointing in terms of quality. Lots of quantity and staff running around helping guests. We went to Mexico a couple of years ago and this resort was a bit a disappointment. The lobby was nice and the lobby bar was actually quite good. The beach was outstanding and beautiful. The pool area was not bad and the evening entertainment was good. Not sure if we would go again here because of the food.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ManjaitD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for a family wedding. We were extremely disappointed with this hotel, in no way close to a 5*.
- no a/c throughout the resort
- restaurants would run out of cutlery, plates and glasses etc.
- food wasn't good and meat had to be cut up and inspected to make sure it was cooked
- there were tons of flies throughout the resort
- washrooms throughout the resort didn't have hand soap, paper towels, toilet paper and some even had toilet seats missing
- towels in the rooms smelled, had stains and holes in them
- the staff in the restaurants was not good and you had to wait a very long time to get drinks or service
- musty smell in rooms
- bugs in the washroom
This was a very disappointing experience and I do not plan to visit this resort again.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Bakkerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015

The location and the beach are great. I visited the same place last summer and during that stay, I had a great experience. This time, however, it was different, as if the hotel went at least two stars down in the meantime. In the room we got, nothing functioned properly: the safe did nit function; the bathroom door would let you in but you couldn't get out; the balcony door could not lock; the tv remote did not work; the closet doors, all three of them were hardly movable left and right; the furniture was so old and full of stains that we couldn't use for the fear of getting infected with something; all cabinet drawers worked with difficulty; the toilet did not flush properly... After our complain, they managed to repair the safe, and they put squashed paper into the bathroom door lock so we wouldn't found ourselves locked in again. That was it. We remained in that room for two weeks.

The room service, the human aspect was okay, but the towels were old and although washed had a heavy tobaco stench. The quantity of shampoos was on the verge of not enough.

Yet, I believe the biggest shock to us was catching workers stealing. The woman (named Silvia) who worked as the hotel cashier selling internet cards and changing money into cuban convertible pesos pretended that for internet cards cost 20 cuc (one costs 4,5 cuc), and refused to return the change. Upon asking her she flatly said that they cost 5 cuc each, and finally upon insisting, she apologized for her 'mistake' and returned 2 cuc back.

It is even worse in the hotel store. As we'we been there last year, I remember the coffee prices. This time the coffee prices were doubled! (Last year: 3.25 cuc for 250 g, 6.5 cuc for 500 g, 12 - 13 cuc for 1 kg) This year: 6.5 cuc for 250 g and 13 cuc for 500 g! I did not buy but instead went to a neigbouring store in Grand Memories. Inside their store, the prices were as I remembered them from last year. And I shopped there. It was easy to realize what was actually going on in the Laguna Azul store. They ran out or took away the 1 kg pkgs. They removed the price for 250 g packages. They put smaller coffee packages under bigger prices. Pepole who did not know, paid. They hardly ever give you the receipt and upon asking you receive just a block with numbers, without stating the products. In the same store I randomly asked for the price of one shirt. I got the answer: 75 cuc. Really? In Cuba? $100 for a shirt? Somebody inthere is stealing big time.
I could go on...

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank donna234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2015

Let me start with saying that I knew going to Cuba not to expect a lot. I never read reviews or put much into it as often I don't care about the things other people do. That being said, this hotel was TERRIBLE! I am okay with the food being plain. I brought my own condiments and seasoning. However, a lot of the food was very undercooked. We cooked our own hot dogs every day, just so we knew they were cooked!

I hear the a la cartes were good, if you could get in them. Every day we tried to get in (even booking a couple days in advance) it was always full and they had no room.

Cleanliness was the worst. I am pretty sure my bed sheets were not even clean when I got there. Everything smelled very mouldy and musty. It took us 5 days of asking repeatedly to get clean beach towels. Towels in our room - we left in the bathtub so we could get fresh ones. They just hung them up to dry.
One day we watched one of the ladies wipe down a couter with a cloth that was so dirty it was black. She immidiately put down some fresh pizza's for people to eat! So gross!

Bars were okay. If you could get something to drink. It depended on who was working, for what they had available. Some nights all they would serve is beer. Other nights you could get any of their selections. Not that there was a lot to chose from. They didn't have blenders, so don't expect a lot on the fruity drink side.

The beach was nice. The water was fantastic. They always had music playing which was fantastic. That was definitely the highlight of this resort.

Utimately if you are going to Veradero, I would advise you to look into other options. This hotel is not worth the money they charge to stay with them!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corrine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews