We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,687)
Filter reviews
9,687 results
Traveller rating
3,436
2,749
1,814
906
782
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,436
2,749
1,814
906
782
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish main buffet japanese restaurant beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts every other day recommend this resort star friends magic show buffet food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,221 - 2,226 of 9,687 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2015

Food was the biggest disappointment. It ranged from bad to inedible, especially in the "fine dining" restaurants. Cocktails are made with cheap sugary additives, wine is watered down ( I believe ) and of lowest quality.
Even as an independent, top price paying guest I was given a mouldy, dark room. Observing reception, this seems to be the practice so that you have to come back and ask for a better room which is then supposed to be rewarded with a generous tip.
The nightly entertainment is so bad ( mostly) that I walked away angry as I felt insulted yet again!
The side pools and the beach were nice.
If you are not a budget traveler on a cheap package deal, stay away, far away!

Room tip: In the side wings, near the small pools, higher floors only
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Inge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Having just returned I would strongly advise anyone not to go to this hotel? the food is at best atrocious, the hotel it self is clean and some of the staff are friendly but most are very ignorant. The rooms are cleaned daily but the cleaner struggles to crack a smile, the restaurant is infested with flies and they do not use the air conditioning in the restaurant, there is also birds flying about the buffet and picking at the food but nothing is ever done about this or the amount of flies at every table, you will struggle to find a clean plate when there is plates available as we had to wait for plates on more than one occasion.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

We visited this resort with 2 other couples. We initially were put in the 1900 block of rooms and our room was so mold infested and dirty. We asked to be placed into another room but staff would not accommodate us. Day two we asked our sunwing rep and showed him our room and he was very upset over the conditions and moved us immediately to block 1700 and it was much much better. The resort is huge, entertainment was totally awesome. Food was just OK. A la carts were really good, we had the Cuban, Japanese and Romantica and all were nice. The resort seems too big for it's own good though because there is very little staff assistance, long lines to get simple foods such as the pizza and pasta, no coral at the beach which meant no snorkeling :( Lots of seating and shade for the beach and the pools so that was nice. All in all I would say it was a decent resort but quite costly for what it offered. And if we had not been moved from the first room, our trip would have been terrible.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Huanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2015

We just returned from a one week family vacation and loved every minute of the trip! Our room was clean and comfortable and the service was outstanding. So many good shows in the evening and fun by the pool during the day. We got the name and number of a taxi driver and used his services everyday to run into Varadero. My father required a wheelchair and the guest services provided one without charge for the week.
The people of Cuba are lovely and the country is beautiful. My son enjoyed the Spanish lessons and ordering fruit punch at the pool. The entertainment staff was very enthusiastic and made each day fun. Please don't compare Cuba and this resort to the big American ones most people are accustomed to. It is a great hotel and the people, I believe, work very hard to give you the best they can. Come to Cuba with an open mind and enjoy the music, the people and the experience.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 13mgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other IBEROSTAR Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed here as a family end of June I had read the reviews before coming and unfortunately they were all true. I am not a fussy person and have travelled to many countries and backpacked around Australia and Asia I have seen some sites but this hotel more a 3 star not a 4 or 5 star standards are very low.

On arrival they did not offer a drink no air con in main foyer was hot and uncomfortable you could not sit here at night and enjoy a cocktail as too hot.
Reception staff very slow and not helpfull served other guests while checking us in they need more staff on front desk to cope.

Our rooms we could live with but badly needs refurbishment, bathrooms were nice we did have a toilet seat but stains on chairs, mirrors covered in paint, the towels were worse old and had old stains on them and in short supply, my sister had holes in her bed sheets and my mum had ants in her room, aircon is very loud when you complain at this hotel we were all ignored nothing gets done.
The grounds were nice and pool area was good we could have lived with the room but the worst was the food areas flies all over the food no containers to cover the food I ordered a pizza at the pool restaurant there were at least 10 flies sitting on my pizza the cook did nothing to shoo them away they were everywhere also birds in food area we had to eat with our napkin over our food.

Staff were rude and unhelpful we had'nt changed our money when arrived and my friend offered English coins to the man who too her bags and his relpy was rude, but not all staff were rude my maid was very nice but my mum had a bad experience with a maid at the buffet who was extremely rude. They dont have enough plates and cups so go early as they quickly run out.
The Italian is not good either the soup is like water and the pasta awful. I know food in Cuba is not great but the other hotel seemed to do a much better job.

Lucky for us we managed to get moved to a lovely hotel with nice staff, good food and no flies. Our holiday rep was very good and the pool bar guy Kenzie really nice. Our first Iberostar and our last.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank GlasgowMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Director General at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2015

"Dear clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews