We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dick K

From Gold To Sewage

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 27, 2024
We just came back from there for the 5th time. It was a very beautiful hotel in the past even last year but this year it was a horrible disappointment. Our Elite room was any thing but. Our room was to have 4 doors but 1 was missing and 2 were broken. Our shower head fell off the wall and the toilet didn't flush good. The stairwell light was either burnt out or broke. All the lights by the sidewalks were also broken. We asked for a 2nd floor room due to my wife's bad knee but were put on the 3rd floor. We had a ocean view room but could not see the ocean unless we stood up and leaned over the railing.(a rip off) The grass wasn't cut by our "Elite room" and looked like a hay field. Our pool was ice cold. The main pool, half was closed up and empty. So the other pool and deck was so crowded it looked like a ant hill, all on top of each other with not enough chairs to go around. The beach was half closed with a payloader and excavator working on it. The first 3 days they had no coffee or pop or drink mixes in the restaurants or bars. Also other days they ran out of eggs for breakfast. If they didn't run out you had to wait in line like your local Cubans. A long line with only one person frying them up probably hoping you wouldn't wait and leave. the scrambled eggs and ommelets were made from powdered eggs and didn't taste good. Also there wasn't much meat. They even ran out of hotdogs for lunch. Also 3 days before we left they had the sewers blow out. There was a regular river of raw sewage going across the main sidewalk and flowing in front of a lot of rooms. They didn't even stop or fix it. Also all the elevators are broken so get ready to climb lots of stairs to the 3rd to 5th floors. The only good part of this resort are the workers who work hard with what little is given them to work with. The bar tenders or waitresses are very friendly and try to please you with their hard work and service. A special thank you to Dayslet and the other waitress by the lobby bar They were great.. The best restaurant is by the quiet pool for lunch. I feel sorry for the workers what they have to put up with. This place is getting to be a dump and I probably won't come back again. I doubt I will go to another Iberostar if they can't look better after this resort with their management.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this review
Responded Mar 1, 2024
Dear Dick,
We are deeply sorry that we have not been able to impress you with the experience you were expecting on this occasion.
As part of the Iberostar family, your feedback is the most valuable reference for our daily work. We will make all the improvements to ensure that similar situations do not recur.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to surprise you with positive changes. Keeping your preferences is very important for the whole Team.
Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
C$62
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
14.9 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Zimmer Nr.1
Expedia.com
C$67
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
18.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
C$89
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
15.2 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
StayForLong
  • Destinia.com
12.0 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
14.6 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
15.7 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$38
  • Vio.com
18.8 km from Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Varadero
Reviews (12,183)
Filter reviews
12,184 results
Traveller rating
5,154
2,945
1,953
1,080
1,052
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,154
2,945
1,953
1,080
1,052
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady gaga sexy nancy pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish japanese restaurant main buffet beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts recommend this resort entertainment staff bring your own
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 12,184 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2024

very disappointed-no pool activities or service,large shortage of beach/pool chairs with many broken,very limited buffet as well as drinks;sheets,towels,glasses never exchanged in rooms for clean,no elevators,staff speak very limited English,very dark in halls and grounds at night,a la cartes good but no coffee served,limited cola or orange juice for drinks-often none;definitley not 5 star or 4 or3...

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank brendagallaugher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2024

Dear Brenda,
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to express how sad we are that we were unable to provide you with a stay that lived up to your expectations.
We have shared each of your remarks with the hotel management and the responsible departments to ensure that all the necessary investigations and changes are made as soon as possible.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to surprise you with our progress in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2024

A memorable week with friends !!!
We had an exceptional week !
The hotel employees were very nice, especially the entertainment team. They found a way to entertain us and make us dance all week long. They made us feel comfortable and took the time to teach us the dances.
We fell in love with the entertainment team !!!
We will definitely go back !
Thank you so much !! :)

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank FrankPoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2024

Dear guest,
Thank you for trusting us these holidays with your friends. We will be honored to have you back.
Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2024

Just returned to Canada from a week at this resort (Feb 17-24). Travelled as a group of 7 (23-25 y/o). Staff at the resort were wonderful, very kind and helpful. Our maid was a sweetheart- although I tipped extremely well ($10 US/day) and DID NOT receive any fresh towels during our stay, we had to use the same 2 all week, despite requesting them numerous times/leaving the dirty ones in the bathtub. But I did receive extra bottles of water everyday which was wonderful. Otherwise you get 1-2 bottles a day in the room- which really is not enough when having full days in the sun.

ROOM- Our room was in poor shape. Upon arrival we were given a dirty room- Pillows covered in makeup and food- I had to go to the front desk to request new pillows at 10pm at night after a full day of travelling, bed was full of sand-sheets had not been changed.
Obvious water damage to the walls along the washroom- whenever we showered, water would leak through the wall onto the floor of our room. Mold around all the vents in the room and I can only imagine what it looked like behind the walls with the active leak. I found 3 cockroaches in our room during our week there. I requested to change to a new room if possible but staff stated that the hotel was overbooked so it was not possible. We made the best of it, but I was extremely disappointed.

FOOD- I have heard many times- you don't go to Cuba for the food- that is an understatement. We filled half a suitcase with snacks and condiments and that made it better. Bring PB, Jam and Ketchup! Food was often cold at the buffet stations, very poor tasting. We lived off of pizza, hot dogs and pasta. Very poor selection of fruits and vegetables. We had coffee, eggs and meat (chicken or fish) daily which was good.
Saw many cockroaches at the buffet- I lifted a plate at the dessert bar and one scurried from under it. Watched cockroaches scurry along the cabinets behind the food service area/grill many days during the stay. I understand it is a tropical climate and they are more prevalent there but around food? If you see them during the day... there are many more and it is a serious health issue that needs to be addressed.
The Japanese A La Carte was the best tasting food, the chefs were awesome! BUT there were roaches everywhere, squashed on the floor, sat down at my spot and there was one on my plate, saw them crawling on the floor and on the underside of the grills at the table. We were the first sitting of the night, and they had preset the tables so 100% the roaches were all over the plates and cutlery all day. Watched the staff flick the lights before opening the restaurant- this is 100% to try and clear the roaches as they don't like light. But despite this I saw >10 cockroaches while there for the a la carte. This restaurant needs to be closed until the roach issue is controlled.

BAR- They are doing their best with what they have/can get in. Pina Colada only available one day of the week we were there. Mojito a few of the days. Majority of the week it was rum and whatever juice they had available. They often had sprite and fanta, cola was hit and miss. If one bar area did not have, likely the buffet or another bar did.

The beach was beautiful, water crystal blue, lots of chairs. But we wore our sandals as there are out of place rocks/some with metal (rusty) at some spots. Saw pushed up piles of sand on the beach-With rusty metal in it.

Pool- the pool with the bar has reopened- bar staff are awesome. Entertainment at the pool is so fun. But- despite just redoing this pool, the bottom is full of sand/pieces of tile and grout- it wasn't cleaned before reopening it/was not vacuumed during our week there. Adjacent pool is now drained and they are beginning its reno.

The entertainment shows at night were well done. We went every night and were always impressed, especially the dancing shows. The magic show was also very good.
The disco was fun.

Overall we made the best of it and had fun as a group. We made some good memories! The resort grounds themselves are gorgeous. The people are wonderful and the beach is beautiful. But the food and the state of our room were disappointing. I felt the experience overall was not worth what we paid to go.

Room tip: Bring snacks and condiments. Bring face cloths. Bring your own beach towels
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2024

Dear Alannah,
We really appreciate the time you take to tell us about your experience, as we know that listening to our guests is the only way we can meet their expectations. We are working systematically and with great determination on the basis of your observations, in order to surprise you with our progress if you give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2024

Disappointed. Don't plan to return to Cuba. The resort is beautiful on the outside as is the lobby but the rooms/hallways need to be updated/painted. Mold in the washroom, saw cockroaches, broken pieces. Safe didn't work. Fridge didn't work and was empty. Had to ask for water. No towels upon arrival. They provided only 2 bath towels daily...no hand/face towels. Lights in the hallway were out and not replaced all week....very dark and had to use flashlight at night. One of the two main pools was empty all week. Construction on the beach. The noise and fumes were unbearable. This work should have been done during off-season. As for food, we were fortunate to have fresh eggs every day but only for fried eggs. For omelettes and other egg dishes, they used powered/dehydrated eggs. No coffee for 2 days. Alcoholic drinks and beer were a hit and miss. Lots of rice & beans but no potatoes. Great choice of bread but no butter. Rarely had dishes with beef and when they did it was more sauce/veggies than meat, including chicken. Snack bar was terrible...very little selection and ran out of food quickly. Service at buffet was incredibly slow. What a shame. Definitely not worth what I paid for.

Room tip: The beach is not very big. If you want to get a chair, make sure you reserve it early, especially on Sundays.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

Dear Maria,
Dear Maria,
On behalf of the whole team we offer you our sincere apologies for not having been able to offer you the holiday you had hoped for.
We are working on the basis of your feedback to implement all the changes we can. We assure you that we will surprise you with a much better stay if you change your mind about visiting us again.
Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2024

Get ready for an unforgettable experience! My Christmas and New Year's at Iberostar Laguna Azul in Varadero were nothing short of spectacular! From the moment I walked in, the explosive warmth of the staff, including the incredible entertainers like Yandy aka Candy Boy, Carlos, Joshua, Lázaro, KingKong, Ernesto, and sexy Alex, just to name a few, created an unforgettable experience. As a solo traveler, I never felt alone, thanks to their engaging activities and welcoming energy. The strong connections I formed with everyone, especially the entertainment team, made this one of the best experiences of my life. The plenty and variety of food, including fish, meat, veggies, desserts, and drinks, were delightful. Daily events kept me busy, and a special shoutout to Marino (entertainment manager) for organizing everything seamlessly.

Moreover, the rooms were always impeccably clean and tidy. Whenever I needed something, the staff attended to it right away, adding an extra layer of comfort to my stay. Laguna Azul is a must-go-to resort that deserves every bit of its 5-star rating. Can't wait for my next visit!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aaliah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2024

Dear Aaliah,
We are delighted to learn that your experience in our hospitality was so special. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews