We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice atmosphere and good food”
Review of Barbacoa

Barbacoa
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Nice place for a romantic dinner, Upscale, and comfortable, very nice decor. lobster and steak was excellent as was the creme caramel(1.50 cuc) Good value i had steak and my parnter had lobster and creme caramel for desert 2 drinks it came to 51 cuc

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank charlie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    150
    44
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is one of the best dinners I have ever had, anywhere. A large group of us went to Barbacoa one evening, we had no reservation, and we had no problems getting a table as soon as we walked in. We ordered a variety of different dishes - grilled chicken for 9CUC, lobster tail dinner for 18CUC (the lobster was big enough for 2 people, I have seriously never seen a lobster tail that big before!), and the Chateaubriand was outstanding. The service here is exceptional. And where else can you get lobster for 2, for 18CUC?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Camping_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This restaurant gets good reviews and was always full when we walked by so decided to try it but were disappointed. We ordered the 2 recommended
entrees, the grilled lobster and chateaubriand. The meal started with crostini like garlic bread. It came cold and tasted like it had been buttered the day before. Both meals came with rice, mixed veggies and boiled potato which were OK. The chateaubriand was tender but didn't have much taste. We come from the Maritimes, so I guess the decision to get a Caribbean lobster wasn't a wise one. We had 2 desserts, a almond cake which wasn't made on the premises and was good and a carmel flan which was made on the premises and was excellent. Had a bottle of wine with the meal. Service was very poor. After pouring the 1st glass of wine, our waiter never came back until our meal was finished to take our dessert orders. I'd never go back here or recommend it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“steaks to die for”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The steak that we had is some of the best we have eaten anywhere in the world. Although the restaurant was full they managed to find us a table and the service was very good

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lulubelleEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“yuummmy!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The service was nice and friendly. I ate lobster tail and it was HUGE! I would go there again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anasztaszia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbacoa also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Barbacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing