We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, Great Views”
Review of Xanadu

Xanadu
Ranked #11 of 117 Restaurants in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Prestigious Restaurant specializing in French and international cuisine, located in the emblematic Xanadu Mansion, declared a National Monument since 2013,also Club House of Varadero Golf Club. In addition to the exquisite food, you can appreciate one of the best views of the beach and the golf course of the tourist destination. It is characterized by a personalized quality service.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

We had dinner at the Xanadu and were very happy with the dinner, service, and quality. The Mansion is very unique and charming, rich with history and elegance. The Lobster DuPont was awesome (although very rich) and the "Filet Chateaubriand" was well prepared but neither Filet, nor Chateaubriand cut. That said, it was so delicious. Overall a great meal, very pricy (as others have mentioned) but a very cool experience with lots of interest and history. The bar upstairs was awesome, and the views of the Ocean were wonderful. We timed our visit with sunset, and it was quite nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Inaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comercial12017, Director of Sales at Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding the Mansion, the history, the the dinner, service, and quality! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 480 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2018

We stopped in here for a tour and a drink of good rum. Well worth the 2 peso charge per to see the place.

Thank Annonyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comercial12017, Director of Sales at Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding tour and a drink of good rum!
There is also a good restaurant on the main floor.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Dupont House a must see learning the interesting historical fact's about Cuba ! Learning about how Varadero was both past & present day ! Such an amazing view from the upper floors of such a beautiful well constructed building ! Beautiful golf clubhouse to accent the Dupont house on the hill ! Unbelievable 360 view of Varadero & the ocean & sea !

1  Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comercial12017, Director of Sales at Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding the historical Xanadu Mansion with its amazing view from the upper floors of such a beautiful well constructed building! There is also a good restaurant on the main floor.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018

We started with drinks on the rooftop terrace which were good. Then went down to the restaurant and had a beautiful table overlooking the sea - stunning view. We actually ended up going twice in 3 days and had the set menu both times (bread, starter, soup, and main for 35 pesos which was very good value for where you are). The soups are irrelevant, too salty and don't add anything to the meal). The starters were all good - our favourite was the salmon carpaccio. The mains - we had both the lobster and the steak and the lobster was the better of the two, but both were good, It is worth going to as it is the best place we found in Varadero.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgieScarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comercial12017, Director of Sales at Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding the good drinks on the rooftop terrace, the beautiful table overlooking the sea with stunning view, the good starters, specially the salmon carpaccio, the good steak and even better lobster. We are going to keep in mind your comment regarding the soups in order to improve them. Thank you very much for your opinion regarding it is the best place you found in Varadero!
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

This is the only golf course in Cuba and it is a fun course to play.Not a lot of elevation changes but enough to make it fun.

Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comercial12017, Director of Sales at Xanadu, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Golfer,
Thank you very much for your comments about the fun course!
This is the only 18 holes 72 par golf course in Cuba, but there is another 9 holes golf course in Havana.
We are looking forward to your next round!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xanadu also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;