We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal at El Bodegon del Gordo”

El Bodegon del Gordo
Ranked #23 of 98 Restaurants in Varadero
Cuisines: Cuban
Description: Restaurantes acogedor donde podrá degustar de nuestra reconocida comida cubana y tomar el mejor mojito cubano de Varadero.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurantes acogedor donde podrá degustar de nuestra reconocida comida cubana y tomar el mejor mojito cubano de Varadero.
Reviewed November 25, 2019

We really enjoyed our meal at El Bodegon del Gordo. It was during the first week of November, 2019, and we went for supper. It's in the bottom part of a house, located down a side street at Calle 48 or 49. We did not notice it was there until a man who was on the main street was drawing attention to the restaurant to people walking, he showed us a menu and walked us to the front door. There are a few tables outside where the bar is, or you can sit inside where it is air conditioned, we sat inside. Nice comfortable little restaurant, the service was great, drinks were cold and good. We had the paella, and garlic shrimp, the food was delicious. We plan to go there again on our next visit to Varadero.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GH816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2019

Great service and good food.
12 CUC for lobster or 15 CUC for 2 smaller ones
Can't beat the price :)
full bar and with indoor a/c dining area
even i'm the only person, they just turn the a/c on for me

Thanks!!!!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Angela_Fok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

A family owned business. Great food and good service located on 49th St. in Varadero village. Ismel or his co-worker will meet you at the corner and walk you to the restaurant a few yards down on 49th. They have served tourists all over the world for years. Eleaney may be making pina colata's on the way. Go my friend - you will enjoy. Phil P.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

My family's first visit to Cuba, and our first meal off of our resort turned out to be a very nice experience. Our waiter Peter made us feel welcome and took great care of all of us. Lobster was the best we had all week, and I highly recommend the pasta. Please don't miss your opportunity to dine with Peter - you won't be disappointed as the food was flavourable and fairly priced.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

Best food in Cuba. Reasonably priced. Red snappers were so delicious, we went back to the restaurant 3 different days . Lobsters were also the best out of 4 different restaurants we went to in varedero. We recommended it to everyone in the resort and will definitely goto next time we are back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Drifter420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed El Bodegon del Gordo also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to El Bodegon del Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.