We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ropa Vieja, Giant Lobster”

El Bodegon del Gordo
Ranked #23 of 98 Restaurants in Varadero
Cuisines: Cuban
Description: Restaurantes acogedor donde podrá degustar de nuestra reconocida comida cubana y tomar el mejor mojito cubano de Varadero.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurantes acogedor donde podrá degustar de nuestra reconocida comida cubana y tomar el mejor mojito cubano de Varadero.
Reviewed February 22, 2023

I’m shocked to read some of the negative reviews because we went here twice when we were in town last month and had a wonderful experience both times. The first day we went in for an afternoon snack and split a Ropa Vieja and had a couple of beers. The Ropa Vieja was delicious, a true Cuban classic. We enjoyed the company of the staff as well, they were so hospitable. We even learned a few Spanish words from them. The second time we went for dinner. I had the lobster (I recommend sharing this because it’s huge!) and my husband who doesn’t eat seafood had the Ropa Vieja again because it was so good he wanted to have it a second time. Don’t listen to the negative opinions and give this place a try the next time you’re in the neighbourhood. It’s definitely worth it.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank andrealamariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2023

After googling 'best fried fish in varadero' this restaurant popped up with pictures of huge delicous fried fish. I decided i would go and try the snapper.

On arrival there was a group of french people enjoying big lobsters so I had high hopes for my meal. I ordered a beer and snapper with provisions and this is when it all went down hill.

The 'Corona' arrived which was quite expensive at $5 and it was HALF the size of a regular corona. it was the Corona chiquita, the mini one, I couldn't believe it. I asked for a regular sized beer and was told they did not have any. I also asked why this mini beer was not half the price and got a lame excuse about it.

Next came my fish. It was the TINIEST snapper I have ever seen in my life, it looked like a goldfish. They had the cheek to bring it on the biggest fish shaped plate they could find. I felt like it was a joke! I called the waiter and asked why it was so small and was given a lame excuse about it. I was so disappointed.

Next I went to add some salt. The top came off and all the salt fell on my plate covering the worlds tiniest fish!

Next the bill came, they added a ridiculous tax to an already overly expensive meal and in the end i did not even have enough cash to pay for it. I could also hear the french people behind me complaining about their bill and that the price was now different. They had to go to the bank!! A kind man offered to pay the difference for my meal but in the end they accepted the shortfall.

A very disappointing experience to hand over all my money and STILL be hungry at the end.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank soleintent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 5, 2022 via mobile

I went to the restaurant based on the good reviews and was very disappointed. I had a dish recommended to me and of course the owner chose the most expensive on the menu for 1000 pesos. This was typical Cuban and very good, I should definitely try it. Since I was hungry and the portions in Cuba are usually small, I agreed to the recommendation. On the plate was next to the usual canned vegetables on Cuba a lump of rice with beans, a breaded double-layered pork with cheese filling. In my homeland, they would call it cordon bleu. The breading was crispy but the meat was practically raw except around the edges. I could not and would not eat this and had it returned. The kitchen made amends. After that, there was nothing left of the cheese filling and the meat was dry and the breading inedible. Together with a beer, the owner charged 1430 pesos ($14) for the whole thing. The purest usury for this poor quality. Do not go there! Maybe the restaurant was once good, now it is a disaster.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank GoodAdvice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisandra G, Propietario at El Bodegon del Gordo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2022
Google Translation

Buenas tardes lamentamos que halla tenido esa experiencia en nuestro restaurante. Quería comentarle y aclarar que el dueño de nuestro restaurante no es quien recomienda los platos en todo caso lo hace el dependiente. Pues usted vino a nuestro restaurante no le gustó la comida pero si se la comió y no se le cobro por ella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2022 via mobile

Chicken tasted like fish (guess it was baked in the same pan as the fish), mojito tasted like it was stored in a fridge for 4 weeks. Not a good experience.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank erikw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisandra G, Propietario at El Bodegon del Gordo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2022
Google Translation

Hola lamentamos que tenga esa opinión así sobre uno de nuestros platos principales , pues nuestras carnes y mariscos todos son productos frescos y de primera calidad . Pero de igual forma agradecemos su crítica y esperamos poder contar con su visita pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2020

I reviewed this place last year and gave it high marks. We loved it so much we decided to go back. Awful experience. Wife wanted the paella whcih was terrific for me last trip. I ordered their "chicken supreme" for a change of menu. Paella was lacking is most meats and seafood. My special was chicken breast pounded out and tough/dry. Huge dish but who cares at that point. I recommended to friends before, not now.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed El Bodegon del Gordo also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to El Bodegon del Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.