We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We had a great time - that's what counts most.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Varadero
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“We had a great time - that's what counts most.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our multi-generational family of 12 stayed in 5 rooms in 3 different buildings for one week April 9 - 16. Check-in was a bit chaotic but not surprising with so many people with the same last name arriving at one time. While my husband and I had requested a ground floor room, it was assigned to another couple in our group. We simply swapped the next day, and then told the front desk. No big deal. Everyone enjoyed the views from their 3rd floor rooms.

Many people have complained about the ground floor rooms being damp and moldy - and this is not unusual in the tropics. However, our room in building 15 was great. During the day, when in the room, we opened the patio doors wide. At night we used the AC. We had no problems. We had loads of hot water and the hair dryer worked well. We had a wonderful maid who cleaned thoroughly and created amazing towel art. However, our phone did not work and we gave up complaining after the 2nd day. We never did turn on the TV to try it.

However, in building 17 where our family had 3 rooms, the cleaning was sloppy at best. We stayed in this building our first night on the 3rd floor. The TV console and pictures on the walls were filthy. One of the two provided bathrobes was also dirty and clearly had been previously used. No one bothered complaining and they were rarely in the rooms anyway.

There also seemed to be inconsistency in bed comfort. Some of us actually had reasonably good beds, and others could barely sleep. Our ground floor room had two 3/4 beds, one was just right, and the other sagged in the middle. I agree with another reviewer that the pillows were cracker thin, but extras were provided, making them tolerable.

Hot food was hot, cold food was cold and we heard of no one getting sick. There were a few outstanding menu items (cheese selection and beef stew in the buffet, beef tournadoes in the Romantica restaurant, steak in the Mediterranean restaurant, grilled chicken sandwich at the pool bar). There was always lots of selection, and after a few days of trial and error we were all able to find foods we enjoyed at each meal. I personally really liked the orange yogurt (like a smoothy) at breakfast each day. I only wish whole grain breads were offered.

Staff were were always friendly, and did their best to be helpful. Our gardener loved to chat and gave me flowers several times. We had excellent bar and wait staff - drinks were barely finished before being refilled. We tipped inconsistently - but not once did was a hand held out, or were we made to feel that tips were expected. It would be very easy to spend a week here without spending a penny more than the package price.

The pool and beach were both great. We rarely had problems finding chairs in the sun or shade. We enjoyed the evening entertainment in outdoor plaza by the lobby. However, the one night we considered going to the show - the intro was so loud we had to leave. Other family members attended the magic show, but were not impressed.

Overall, I feel Playa Alameda offers good value and I would recommend it to others - with the understanding that Cuba is Cuba, and standards are not the same as we enjoy at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    1,125
    480
    238
    151
See reviews for
867
1,092
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I love this resort. I cannot understand the negative reviews about Playa Alameda. The food is good, even the pickie eaters can find something they like. The staff are fantastic, always trying to please you and they are all very friendly. The service on the resort is wonderful. The beach is amazing, water is crystal clear and as blue as can be. The staff on the beach are always ready to bring a lounge chair to the location that you pick. The pool is always clean and a shallow end which is great for small children. Washrooms are cleaned regularly with fresh flowers. The gardeners are always busy keeping the landscape well groomed. The animation staff are always keeping everyone entertained from the time you go to the beach to the evening shows. The cleaning ladies do a wonderful job keeping your room clean. Each day we look forward to seeing the towel art creations. The reception staff are very accommodating looking after requests that might arise. I cannot say enough positive about Playa Alameda and the staff. We love them dearly and look forward to seeing all of the staff that we have gotten to know over the years and all the new staff that have come to work at the resort since our last visit. We will return yet another year to Playa Alameda as we have never been disappointed.......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here from april 10th - 17th with some family and friends. It was our second time in Cuba and this trip was much better than our first trip 6 years ago.

The staff at thr IPA were great, the always had a smile on there face and willing to help you out anyway possible which made it a very comfortable resort.

The only downfall I have about the resort is the food, but I think that is probably an issue everywhere you go in Cuba.

The grounds are very well kept and very clean around the resort.

I would recommend this resort to anyone that wanted to go to Cuba to have a relaxing vacation. Don't listen to all the bad reviews because there is nothing bad about this resort.

I would like to thank the IPA for a great week and hope to return to this lovely resort someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunl0ver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Falls, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

this was myself and wife's first trip to cuba and won't be the last,had the best time at the resort the people that work there go out of their way to make you feel at home,from eduardo the omlette guy to my main man tony the waiter,they even left a bottle of champagne in our room for my birthday a very nice touch.The shows at night were really great as well very entertaining,i was even named mr.iberostar the last night we were there was alot of laughs,i highly recomend this resort to anyone wanting to go to cuba

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We went to this hotel as we were overbooked by the Blau.
This hotel has the possibilities of being a 4 star but falls short. If you plan to stay here only accept an upper level. The smell of mold and must in the lower level rooms are awful. I would say unsafe to anyone with breathing problems.
2 other couples travelling with us also had similar problems. The humidity is so thick that our bed sheets were damp. This room was also unacceptable as we had no hot water and our phones did not work.
We tried to work through all this on the first day but could not take the smell any longer. When we approached the front desk to get a room change we were basically humoured with lip service and told they would write it down and look into it. When we spoke with our SunWing rep he recommended we go directly to the help desk in the lobby.
We explained our situation to the help desk officer and he wasn't convinced. He did approach the desk with our problem with some coaxing. He explained that nothing could be done and his hands were tied.
This was unacceptable so we wanted to speak with the manager. We were told we had to wait until she came in between 2 and 5 pm. We did wait and had a meeting with her.
The meeting was not too pleasant and I almost gave up. My next course of action was to ask to speak to her supervisor. When I asked who it was she replied that she did not know and she was it.
I accepted my fate after that and hoped to make the best of it. The next day to our surprise we were contacted by the front desk and arrangements had been made to switch our rooms to an upper level.
What a complete turn around. Our new room had no odours and all the ammenities worked. Later that evening during our a la carte dinner we were approached by another lady. It turns out that she was also a manager at the hotel and wanted to know immediately if we had any more problems and to keep her posted daily.
Digging around I found out later that it is Cuban policy to have 2 managers on site. To all travellers I highly recommend that if you have no success with manager 1 ask to speak with his or her supervisor. I think you will notice a complete 360 on service.
Overall we had a great time at this hotel once we got past the first day and all the issues. The hotel grounds are beautiful as well as the beach. The food is good as well as the overall service. I thought the nightly entertainment was also good. The Michael Jackson show that they put on was fantastic.
To raise the level from 3 to 4 they need to clean the mold and mildew out of those rooms. The beds have to go also as they should be upgraded to queens or a king. The 2 twin beds are just not comfortable.
In closing it wasn't the best start but I would go back to the Playa Alameda again if I had an upper level room only. I commend and applaud the manager for following up on the short falls which pretty well saved our vacation from being a total disappointment.

Room Tip: Only accept an upper level room. The smell in the lower level rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your comments on behalf of the Management and the entire staff of Iberostar Playa Alameda, we regret that you could not enjoyed the first day of your stay with us, each and every one of us is committed to ensure our guests experience the most enjoyable holiday. We are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had and we regret that this situation might have affected your opinion about our hotel and our company.
It will be a pleasure to have you back in our Hotel Playa Alameda or any of the Iberostar Hotels in Cuba or around the World
Sincerely,
Juan Pablo Fortun
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, AB
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Playa Alameda Apr 10 - 15, 2012. It was awesome. Very quiet and relaxing. If you want to party this is not the resort for you! Very family oriented. We went for some much needed rest and couldn't have stayed at a more relaxing resort. Staff were very friendly and always willing to make you feel welcome. Food was good, lots of seafood; shrimp, muscles, clams, escargot, squid, fish, etc. A bonus was food was available 24 hrs a day, we've stayed at other resorts and this is not always the case.

The Guest Services Rep Wendy went above and beyond for us! My boyfriend and I both celebrated our birthdays while we were there. On the day of his birthday we decided to book our reservations for the a la carte restaurants. Wendy made sure that Kelly got champagne and cake even though we were making reservations on such notice. She went above and beyond! (Not to mention her awesome sense of humour!) If you go to this resort, go and say "Hi" to Wendy! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank un_reasonable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My family stayed at this resort in April 2012 for 1 week. We love Cuba but would not return to this hotel. Thank God for the beautiful ocean and kid friendly pool. The food and accomodations were terrible. We didnt even find the people very friendly. Our friends children were sick by day 2. We were happy to leave by day 7 and head to a fabulous 5 star resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherimainella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, on behalf of the Management and the entire staff of Iberostar Playa Alameda, we appreciate you had chosen our Hotel for your holidays; we regret that you have not fully enjoyed our Hotel, each and every one of us is committed to ensure our guests experience the most enjoyable holiday. We are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had and we regret that this situation might have affected your opinion about our hotel and our company.
Sincerely,
Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
7.5 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#9 of 62 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,427 reviews
0.2 km away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
8.2 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 62 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Melia Peninsula Varadero
#30 of 62 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,385 reviews
4.4 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#13 of 62 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,815 reviews
11.1 km away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#34 of 62 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Address: Las Morlas, Km 19 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#6 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing