We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best holiday ever ! !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best holiday ever ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Blau, what can we say. Brilliant, friendly staff who really know how to look after you. The hotel is of a very high standard, clean & modern & the gardens are delightful with a large, clean pool with lots of sunbeds as the centrepiece. Then there's the beach. . . . paradise ! ! ! Pale golden sand & beautiful turquoise sea, what more could you want. This holiday was all that we asked for and so much more. Definately returning next year. THANKS BLAU, THANKS CUBA

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lawrence c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,189
    1,878
    476
    124
    64
See reviews for
1,505
2,838
152
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have just returned from The Blau after a 2 week stay. Had no idea what to expect as first time to Cuba. Had read reviews on here which helped me make my decision to stay here and I wasn't disappointed overall. The hotel is smaller than ones I have stayed at before on Caribbean islands but it certainly didn't suffer for it. The standards are great. The rooms were large, clean and spacious with TV and hairdryer. You also got a bottle of water and 2 beers and 2 cokes in the fridge. They were replenished daily as used. The maid did towel art as well which was a nice touch,

I found the food to be good. We didn't even bother going to the speciality restaurants as the food in the buffet was more than adequate. There was something for everyone including burgers, hotdogs, chips, pasta, pizza etc. There is also a beach bar that serves snacks 24 hours including cheese toasties, hotdogs and burgers. The cockails were great as to be expected really

The beach was one of the best I have seen with white sands and turquoise sea. The sea was lovely and not cold at all, there were always plenty of sunbeds both on the beach and by the pool. There was never a problem getting a sunbed by the pool and you didn't have to get up early to reserve one.

The staff were fantastic and friendly. They always had a smile on their faces and I feel they didn't expect tips. The service they provided was as good with or without tips. I think they are a credit to the Blau.

We went out a few times to Varadero.there is a train that comes to the hotel and takes you to varadero and back which cost 4 pesos per person (about £3) it was just an experience to ride it. there were a few gift shops and bars in town, also it is very safe again never got any hassle like I have in other Caribbean countries and Europe.

The only criticisms I have about this hotel was that the lifts were pretty slow. We were on the 9th floor and sometimes we could be waiting 10 minutes for them to come..also I feel the dress code for the buffet restaurant in the evening and the main bar could have been a little more smart. There were people allowed in the restaurant in the evening still in swimwear and in the bar anything went really. The entertainment wasn't that great in the evenings but to be honest it wasn't a problem. We met some friends and just chilled in the main orchidea bar or piano bar most nights with plenty of great cocktails.

All in all a great, relaxed holiday. If you want a nice hotel and to relax on a fantastic beach with some great cocktails then this is the place to come. Would I come back? Absolutely....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank scoobydoo271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

we have just returned from holidaying the blau it was fantastic cannot think of anything bad to say staff were great all very friendly, rooms were clean and spacious food was fantastic dont know how anyone could complain train into valadaro was a great experience plenty of sunbeds no need to get up early at all most of the shows were great, water ballet super,we took our own insulated beakers as did others bar staff filled them no problem,i would definitely recommend this hotel .well done to all

Room Tip: we were on 7 no problems at all at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caroleworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We were there in March 2012 for our honeymoon.
Got free upgrade to a sea view and a bottle of champagne with fruits waiting in the room upon arrival.
Amazing animations team.food was great as well.:0

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyraPeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall PEI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Best resort in cuba, we enjoyed everything and the food was great, I am a retired navy chef so I have some expertise! Wonderful trip and met good new friends 30 mar -06 april 2012. Sunwing from Charlottetown pei just great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed at the Blau 30th March to 13th April if you are going here you have nothing to worry about.I was looking at reviews for this Hotel for weeks seeing if anybody was going to say something bad about it.We never had any problems or faults while we were there the rooms were clean as was the whole Hotel.The food was good plenty of choice for everyone the only problem with it was i ate to much of it,was nicely presented and it was cooked right in front of you.I was a bit worried that it would be really busy ,when we stayed the Hotel was fully booked yet it never felt crowded .The beach really is beautiful i have never seen the sea that colour before plenty of sun beds plenty of space. It is the first time we have been to Cuba and i never go back to the same country twice i like to try something different but we would go back there tomorrow the people are so friendly and it feels really safe if your going enjoy yourself its a great place to chill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L a Scie ,NL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just got back from Cuba and stayed at the Blau...I was very very pleased with everything and the service was EXCELLENT from everyone who work there. I would recommend this resort to anyone of any age.I will defintaly go back. It's beautiful,clean , and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
0.0 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 km away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba

Property: Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Address: Carretera de Las Morlas | KM 15, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#2 Family Hotel in Varadero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just on the shore of the magnificent and famous Varadero beach, the Hotel consist of a 13 floor modern building, completely new.Ideal for those who want to enjoy the beauty and the atmosphere of the most well known beach of Cuba, with the best facilities and a wide list of activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blau Hotel Varadero
Blau Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing