We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,755)
Filter reviews
7,755 results
Traveller rating
4,329
2,580
609
152
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,329
2,580
609
152
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar fish international restaurant plenty of sunbeds string quartet pizza ocean view main bar great holiday a la carte restaurants lunch buffet sun loungers towel art per week open top bus thomas cook the grill
Filter
Updating list...
945 - 950 of 7,755 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Booked this holiday at the Blau Varadero to celebrate my husband's birthday. I emailed the hotel a few days before our arrival, requesting a quiet, high floor non-smoking room.

We were given room 532 at the back of the hotel on the 5th floor, and during the daytime of the first week of our stay it was quiet with a sea view of the pool and gardens. The balcony was large and private, and did not get any direct sun - this suited us as it kept the bedroom cool.

The air conditioning was quiet and efficient, The maid was useless - my husband & I are both tidy by nature, so all that she had to do was empty the bins, restock the mini-bar and change the sheets / towels when we requested them.

Unfortunately she was more interested in making shapes out of the towels than cleaning the room properly. Each time we requested a change of bedlinen she put double sized sheets on the superking size bed, took away towels without replacing them and did not restock the mini-bar when it needed to be.

At the start of our 2nd week, we came back to the room in the afternoon to rest, to find building work taking place in a room above us. The noise was horrendous - my husband went to reception to report this (by stairs as one of the lifts was out of order), and suddenly they did not understand English.

My husband then starting climbing the stairs (no lifts), where he discovered on the 7th floor room 732 (2 rooms above us), 2 workmen digging up the patio!

Using sign language and being polite, he managed to explain to them about the noise problem and thankfully they immediately stopped working that day.

However the building work did continue for the rest of our holiday, and could be heard all around the pool area and gardens. It did stop by the late afternoon though, so did not disturb us again when we went back to our room.The maid did not sweep the patio clean at all, as the debris from the building work above us was still there on the day that we left.

The atrium of the hotel acts as a funnel for noise, so if your room overlooks it (ours overlooked the bar area), you will hear everything below (including the night-time entertainment).

The hotel gardens are beautiful and well maintained, but some guests leave their rubbish strewn everywhere, even though there are bins every few metres. The smokers stub their cigarettes out on the grass instead of using ashtrays.

Don't bother eating at the so-called A La Carte restaurant - we booked a table on the day of my husbands birthday and ended up walking out!

The seafood bisque soup was bisque without the seafood, the chickpea soup with chicken breast was without the chicken. My pork dish was stone cold, and my husband's seafood platter was so overcooked that he could not get the meat out of the lobster tail at all!

The waiting staff look down their noses at you, and when we complained about the food quality they referred us to the menu printed in German!

On our way out we were told that we could not leave as they had made a cake for my husbands birthday (I kid you not).

The food in the main buffet area was plentiful and varied - we had no complaints at all. Previous guests have commented about the birds flying around in the restaurant - we saw guests (including British people) feeding them scraps at their tables. No wonder there is bird poo everywhere including the chandeliers!

The beach has white sand and turquoise sea, but the sea currents on a windy day are ferocious - even though the water is shallow a long way out, the force of the waves can literally knock you off your feet. Please take extra care if you have small children with you.

The lifeguards stand about 100 feet from the sand smoking their big Cuban cigars (really?) flirting and chatting up women, but not looking out for the people in the sea.

Most of the Cubans that we met were happy to see us take our holiday in their country, the exception being the miserable and unhelpful hotel reception staff and the waiting staff in the A La Carte restaurant.

Date of stay: March 2017
5  Thank LynnR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear LynnR60,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you very much for your very constructive comments. We are constantly working to enhance our guests' experiences and feed backs like yours help us to get better.

We would like to invite you to a next stay where we surely will exceed your expectations.

Best regards from Cuba,
David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2017

This resort hotel was one of the best I have stayed in. It was spacious, clean, comfortable, excellent food and all inclusive drinks, friendly staff and great facilities and nice location. I am planning to go back there already.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 824ericaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear 824ericaj,

We are very grateful for your comments on the hotel but more so for your comments on the staff and service, I’ll make sure they receive them. We want to thank you as well for recommending us with other travelers.

We also appreciate your constructive opinion about some of our services.
We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Just returned from here after a wonderful stay. Staff very friendly and just wanted to make you happy!! The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The food was excellent as was the choice at each meal. Internet access isn't great, so if you go on holiday to be stuck to an electronic device it might not be for you, personally we went there to relax, which is exactly what we did !! We will definitely be going back, to experience the coco taxis, the rides in the old American cars and the wonderful. Untrue. If you do go then do the trip on a catamaran to cayo blanco, then do it! It was a day of paradise

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear Debi H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We aim to provide our guests with the most memorable holiday experience ever and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the Blau Varadero Hotel.

We feel delighted to read you had a good time while hosting in our hotel. We hope to see you back soon and to be able to keep your trust. Thank you also for such a high score given to us.

Best regards

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in February, the hotel is lovely inside and very clean. The bottom level rooms are outdated but I guess they will get to those eventually.
We had a room in the ground floor which was handy as the lifts get busy.
Food is ok but the hubby hates peppers and they put peppers In everything so at times he struggled for choice of what to eat.
There is very little seafood choice which was disappointing .
The beach is idyllic , breathtaking, powder soft sand and the sea is amazing.
The entertainment is average.
Good choice of drinks and the staff are attentive.
Very little to do if it rains other than getting drunk in the bar !
Very expensive for things like proper Coke or chocolate or anything in the on site shop.
Wifi is frustrating very hit and miss so don't go to Cuba if you need constant access to internet you'll be disappointed. That's Cuba though you have to remember where you are.
Pool was ok quite cold though, plenty of beds around
Overall a lovely place to chill out and relax , slow paced and laid back.
Very helpful staff and they make it a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Midgetmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear Midgetmous,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your visit.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal of our Hotel Blau Varadero.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards from Varadero

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights on our honeymoon after 3 days in Havana and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a glass of fizz on arrival we had a great time. All the staff were so friendly and attententive. Our room (408) was comfortable and well equipped and a good size balcony. The facilities are great a well equipped gym, jacuzzi and sauna are all available, as is a well stocked pharmacy and a doctor on site.

The 4 bars (main bar, pool bar, beach bar and piano bar) are all well stocked the main bar having a good variety of international branded spirits.

The restaurant was good with a decent variety over the course of our stay with three theme nights (Asian / Italian on alternate Tuesdays and Cuban night on Fridays). All guests are also entitled to eat once in each of the alacarte restaurants, The Palma Real is to be particularly recommended. The here also snacks available 24/7 in the beach bar and between BBQ between 12-5 at the pool bar.

There is a variety of entertainment. Of an evening with some great shows including circus night which was good. During the days theres plenty of activities including archery, riffle shooting, Zumba, water aerobics, pool completions and bingo. There also a tennis court.

On the beach there a variety of water sports available for surcharge (the snorkeling is to be recommended at 20cucs per person) as well as pedalos which are free of charge.

There is plenty to keep guests entertained here although a trip into Varadero is not to be missed (4cucs pp return on the tourist train that stops outside the hotel or 15cucs each way in a taxi) and the taxis are amazing :-)

The only thing that could be improved would be to use bigger plastics glasses in pool bar and beach bar as the small glasses they use means having to order 2/3 drinks at a time to get the equivalent of a pint of lager (which was always cold)

The house keeping service was great room was cleaned everyday and the minibar restocked with bottle water, local beers and soft drinks and our maid several times left towel art in the room.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank bluenose1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N, Director General at Blau Varadero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear bluenose1981,

We are very grateful for your comments on the hotel but more so for your comments on the staff and service, I’ll make sure they receive them. We want to thank you as well for recommending us with other travelers.

We also appreciate your constructive opinion about some of our services.
We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

David Nuñez Alvarez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews