We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE Renaissance Curaçao!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We visited Curaçao for a week and were very sad to have to leave. Curaçao is beautiful with so much to offer, and our stay at the Renaissance made it ten times better!

First of all, the location is great. It is right in the city of Willemstad for easy access to countless shops, restaurants and bars. It was only a short walk across the bridge to get there. We had a rental car to explore other parts of the island, and the hotel has free parking everyday which was a wonderful surprise!

Second, the infinity beach/pool are great and extremely relaxing. Yes, Curaçao does have amazing beaches around the island, but it was nice to have this as another option (we did want to drive to a beach everyday). This is a man-made beach, but this is a city/port area so that is an added bonus given the great location you are in.

Third, the staff was extremely pleasant, fun and helpful throughout the week. They provided countless recommendations and always followed up about what we did that day. They even took the time to teach me Papiamento (local Curaçao language)! Special shoutout to Girainey, Monique, Ruth, Luis, Angelique & Leo for all their hospitality and lessons! Would highly recommend meeting them for any of your needs during your stay.

I do not agree with many of the negative reviews about this hotel, but I cannot speak to their experiences. If you want to explore the local culture AND relax then I would choose Renaissance. Even local friends of Curaçao agreed with our decision to stay here!

STAY AT THE RENAISSANCE CURAÇAO!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

I stopped by to have a glass of wine and Luis and Ruth took care of me just excellent!!! Great service and had a nice conversation with both of them, the two of them really know how to please guests and they are a good asset to the Blue Bar

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Toy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Toy B,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about Ruth and Luis from our Blue Bar at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino.
While Blue Bar on its own is a special place to be with a very warm ambience, our true secret for its popularity is the employees that wait at the bar. They are all well dedicated and have a passion for service. Thank you very much for singling out Luis and Ruth, they are indeed our super stars. We will ensure that they receive the recognition they deserve.

Come and have a drink or two with us again sometime soon!

Sunny regards,

Chanteau O

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

1--This is NOT a relaxing hotel. The Renaissance Curacao is actually a 'shopping and casino compound.' It is near an old Fort. The old Fort is restaurants. At night, around 6 p.m., up to three different bands set up and start playing over each other. One on the man-made beach, one IN the Fort, one outside of the FORT. It was NOISE POLLUTION. We couldn't even hear ourselves THINK over them trying to play bad cover songs over each other.
2--This property is NOT a luxury property. We were surprised to be upgraded. This was the ONLY nice thing about this hotel. The rooms are run down and in need of renovation. This property is a convention center/casino. There were constant events which made it high-traffic and crowded.
3--Your platinum status is not platinum status here. We DID get a room upgrade, but if you're looking for a smile or a thank you for you 100+ nights, you're not going to get it here. They don't care.
4--Make sure you're 'settled' when you check in--We utilized a discount rate code. They never asked for the proof when we checked in. they then proceeded to basically harass us every single day until we produced our AAA card . We were told that if we couldn't produce it, we would have to revert to a rack rate.
5--No resort fee, but only ONE breakfast if you are platinum. Odd. I typically find that if it's a resort, no breakfast. This was NOT a resort. They offered platinum breakfast to only ONE guest. What?! When we showed up at the hostess stand, I told them I was platinum and it was included. Two adults, one child. The hostess nodding her head and sat us. We then got a bill for $49 for breakfast. "oh.. you only get the COLD buffet.. and you only get ONE cold buffet." After 10 minutes of banter with the manager, they charged us for only our child and said we would be fine the next day. Next day, groundhog day. We ate and got billed $49. We stopped going to breakfast because we were tired of fighting them for it. It wasn't that great anyway.
6--The beach is actually a sand pool. You are not near the beach at all. You will need to drive to a nice, public beach. The beaches are beautiful.
7--You NEED a rental car. The rental car process is also a nightmare. We were, of course, over charged (another story for another review).
8--The over all service was 'not friendly.' Every time we interacted with anyone at the front desk, we felt like we were going into battle. It became exhausting. Our final bill, of course, had rooms service charges that we never made. That was a battle to get removed. Of course.

We liked our large suite. That's about it. We will never stay here again. We felt like we were on a really bad cruise ship. They need to learn about hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank carriej11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Carriej11,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback regarding your most recent stay at our property. We are terribly sorry to read about the inconveniences you experienced.
As a platinum elite member we are honored that you chose our property for your accommodation needs during your much awaited family vacation.

We have shared your feedback with our management team and staff members who join me in offering our sincere apologies for the services and products provided. There are times that not all processes we have in our resort align with the needs of our guests and it is feedback like yours that help us improve.

As you correctly stated, for the past weeks we have been trying out new entertainment options for our guests and I would like to inform you that we have re-evaluated the positioning and timing of our offerings in order for it to better compliment the atmosphere offered in and around our property.

We are also looking into going into the next year with a fresher and more modern property therefore we will be making some essential changes that will definitely give our property new life and look.

As a Platinum Elite Premier member we do our utmost to ensure that you feel appreciated which is one of the main reasons our duty leader was able to deliver on your benefits of an upgrade to our best room in the resort. Also as you correctly stated, as a resort property we do not offer continental breakfast as other non-resort properties do. We do provide one continental breakfast for the platinum card owner in appreciation of your loyalty to our brand. In your particular case the duty leader accommodated one additional continental breakfast which is customary in other properties who do offer continental breakfasts to platinum members. At the restaurant, we do ask for a signature on the breakfast receipt for all guests for administration purposes. I am sorry that the information was not communicated clearly to you at the restaurant.

Furthermore I would like to apologize for the service you received at our front desk. While we do have rules to follow where reservations requirements are concerned if the guest does not provide the supporting documents related to the rate and confirmation received, the front desk should ensure to request the documents upon arrival in order for the guests to be able to completely enjoy their vacation. Additionally service should be exemplary especially when dealing with our Elite members.

We understand that we have failed on various aspects during this stay but we do hope that as a loyal member you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you and deliver the services and products that you deserve and have grown accustomed to from our Marriott brands.

Warmest regards,

Chanteau O
Guest Experience Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Have stayed here several times and its my first choice in Curacao. The Fort next door has several good restaurants and there is a minimart two minutes walk beyond the Fort adjacent to Subway and Pizza Hut. I rarely eat in hotels for dinner but I found the menu here reasonable price and good. The old restaurant menu which is now the room service menu has a much better selection, and unfortunately they would not let me order items off that menu while eating in the restaurant. The breakfast was excellent and fast.

Two serious flaws in the stay. My room had no internet and zero phone service for two days, and the hotel would never give me details on why or when I would get it back. Having no phone service meant I had to continually go to the front desk to beg for service, but it didn't seem to be a priority for them to address. The second is that the front desk could or would not give me change for one $100 bill to pay my taxi. A casino hotel without change for a $100 bill?? Hmmmm....

There is no executive lounge unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water where cruise ships dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagainva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear ontheroadagainva,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your most recent stay at our property.
Firstly one behalf of the Renaissance Curacao Management team and staff I would like to thank you for always choosing our resort for your accommodation needs while in Curacao.
We are all very saddened to read that this stay did not live up to your expectations and that we did not cater to your needs as we normally do.
The inconveniences that you experienced have been shared with the appropriate team leaders to ensure that we understand and better live up to our guests expectations. Small requests such as a special item off a menu or change for a $100 note are easily accommodated and we are sorry that our team members did not deliver on your requests.

We hope to see you again next year in order for us to make it up to you and provide you with the customary outstanding service our hotel is known for and you have grown accustomed to.

Sunny regards,

Chanteau O
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this hotel. The location is ideal for walking to all downtown activities. All of the staff was so helpful, accommodating and friendly. Housekeeping was very reliable in their morning times of freshening up our room. Everything in the hotel is well taken care of and kept spotless. The beach and pool area is large with many lounges and plenty of available towels for use and quite a few palapas for shade. It's fun to watch the barges and freighters pass by just outside the pool area.
Angelique, at the front desk was so helpful in completing our reservation and surprising us with a wonderful upgrade. Alexis always had a warm, welcoming word for us and the Navigators helped with any questions or dinner reservations that we requested.
Willemstadt is "cruise central" and the only slight negative is that those mega ships dock very near the hotel blocking a sunset view. It's surprising how well dispersed those cruise travelers are, either getting on the many busses for tours or walking into town to shop. Although as many as 10,000 day trippers can arrive, it really didn't affect any of our plans. Most ships leave about 5 or 6 pm and if they do stay overnight, most seem to return to their ships for dinner. We printed out a schedule of ship arrivals and departures during our stay and planned accordingly.
Curaçao is a fantastic vacation destination. We hope to return soon and will certainly return to the Renaissance.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Christopher the Bellmen greeted us with cool water and brought our luggage in. He also help us during our stay with other directions and requests.
Next we meet Shannena at the front desk an exceptional employee. Greeted us with friendly smiling Marriott face. We used the mobile checking and everything was ready for us upon arrival.She also helped us in many ways and answered questions we asked. Directed us to the locations.
We then received a bottle of Champagne for our anniversary from Sheika who my husband contacted from the hotel chat line for this special occasion . She informed us how much a cab fare was from airport to hotel and made sure we had a refrig for my husband medical needs and extra’s we requested towels coffee etc.
Then we met Reangelo the Navigator a very charming and professional young man who set up all our extra activities. A private tour of the island, dinner reservation, shopping information. And airport departure transportation. We had a wonderful housekeeper for room 374 but I didn’t get her name they don’t leave name cards like other Marriott’s do. We all had a wonderful young skinny tall waitress at the pool beach area every morning she was delightful brought us our beverages she always checked on us to see if we needed any other request . We didn’t have a chance to meet the GM. But we wanted her to know that her staff was wonderful, very professional and they each should receive a spirit to serve awards, because they all made our vacation wonderful.
Only to problems at hotel the banging noise of the metal pipes going in water for the new dock tie ups and the cruise ship guests staring at you from the ships while you were sun bathing and swimming on Marriott so called private beach and pool.
You feel like your on display or being watched.
Otherwise this hotel is Great...
Thank you for a wonderful time and A job well done.

Randy and Marge.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Well I think this was a not nice place to stay. Their beach is a shame (on the 2nd floor of the hotel). There were two infinity pools (one with sea water, one with pool water). You can see cruise ships passing by. You might find it cool. However the scene/view is not that spectacular because weird construction material is vertically standing in front of you. (In the sea) moreover the sea water is dirty. The beach is not with white sand or something. Plus the hotel looks old and we have been to the casino. People are sooo rude there. My husband was playing blackjack and he was playing high, so they should treat us good right ? No way. They are not nice at all with some weird rules in the casino as well. You cannot play two boxes at the same time on different sides of the table, it should only be next to each other. Etc etc. overall don’t stay here. U can pop in the surrounding area (which is touristic) in a day-trip. You don’t need to stay in the center if you ask me.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 000Happy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCRManager, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear 000Happy000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid views of our resort. We are very sorry to read that our beach and pool did not live up to your expectations. I must clarify that the "construction material" referred to in your review was temporary for 3 days and has since been removed as the government officials in charge of our ports/harbor finalized the necessary repairs and maintenance to our Mega pier cruise port.
Our spectacular Caribbean ocean view has since been restored and we're very disappointed that you did not get the opportunity to enjoy it.
We would also like to apologize for the service you received in our casino. We have taken your feedback seriously and our management team is already looking into additional training for our staff members to improve our services and products. We are proud to announce that soon we will be conducting essential renovations on a few key areas that will definitely give our resort and casino areas a unique and modern look.

We hope to see you again in the near future in order for us to impress you with our amenities and services.

Sunny regards,

Chanteau O

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
4.5 km away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
5 km away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.4 km away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
454 reviews
3.3 km away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
10.5 km away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $242 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing